We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience to say the least”
Review of Long Lee Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long Lee Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The travel review sites, booking sites, etc, just do not do this place justice ! This is one of those places that just has to be experienced, to fully appreciate what it has to offer. Long Lee Manor, was simply stunning in its beauty and history. I can go on and on about the high level of comfort we experienced, but I must say it was the staff that makes this Manor what it is. A throw back from the British times, this Manor show its splendor when you fully take in its beauty and allow the Manor to engulf you in its charm. Comfortable and relaxing rooms will help you to unwind after a full schedule on the game drive and the excitement of seeing the Big 5. Not only would I highly recommend Long Lee Manor, but I would say it is a "must experience" location. I also strongly recommend the spa ! you will love the pampering and relaxation.

Room Tip: wifi only available in the bar or dinning area, no in room wifi, all rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Good_time_Ahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We were there for only one night and with only two game drives we almost got to see the Big Five. The Ranger, Tiem, was the best. He really knew the place and took us to great views. He was actually really good spotting animals, even hidden ones, so with his help we got to see rhinos, hippos, lions, giraffes, zebras and all sort of antelopes. The crew at the Lodge was also great. Really a great experience!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Facundo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

THIS was a amazing trip and would recommend this !! long lee manor was just beautiful rooms and a beautiful place. food excellent too were very nice and clean. the rangers were just great and very helpful .

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TILLYY482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

As you may see in my other reviews, they are all dependent to my expectations. These were indeed extremely high for Shamwari. I can say, they still managed to exceed.. Thank you for this wonderful stay.

Everything is truly perfect here. The service is splendid, the location and the premises are most lovely, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the food is very nice and the best of it all are obviously the game drives and our ranger Steff:

although she is pretty new in Shamwari she managed to give us a great experience in just one day. We ve seen all the exciting animals like lions, cheetahs, elephants, rhinos, hippos, giraffes, and also many antelopes and birds. She did a very good job explaining everything we wanted to know.

Thank you again for this perfect stay. This was the best Christmas present we could imagine!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Long Lee Manor provides a first class safari experience! We stayed for 3 nights and loved every minute of our stay. The accommodation was really spacious, modern and extremely comfortable and Monde and all the staff were exceptionally helpful and obliging. The safaris themselves were great. Our ranger, Alex, was perfect - really knowledgable, calm and super-competent! We saw a huge variety of wildlife including lions, cheetahs, elephants, hippos, black & white rhinos, giraffes etc and we were also fortunate to see various forms of animal behaviour - hippos tussling in the water, elephants playing, giraffes fighting etc .There are 2 outdoor pools where you can relax between safari drives with great views over the plains, although the spare time went really quickly and we always seemed to be sitting down for meals somewhere! All in all, a very special and enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1982LondonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
20,8 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
373 reviews
1,8 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 154 reviews
23,6 km away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10,6 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
401 reviews
14,5 km away
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
#1 of 83 in Port Elizabeth
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Lee Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Lee Manor

Address: R342 Toward Paterson, 7 Kms From Turn, Shamwari Game Reserve 6130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range: R 6 992 - R 14 571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Lee Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing