We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 413)
Filter reviews
1 413 results
Traveller rating
1 294
81
24
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 294
81
24
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagles crag plunge pool game reserve his knowledge outdoor shower long lee manor our honeymoon whole experience stayed for nights cape town ranger mino wonderful experience watering hole once in a lifetime safari experience south africa black rhino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1 413 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2020

The Malaria-free Shamwari Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape has all the 'bells and whistles' of a 5-Star Reserve; but what really sets them apart is their 6-Star Service! I was fortunate to have visited Shamwari last week with my entire family of 15 where every need from the youngest (5-year-old) to the oldest (76-year-old) were perfectly met. Their "Kids on Safari" concept was brilliant. The Game Rangers, Mino and Abel were top class and their knowledge entertained young and old. We saw incredible wildlife. The chefs went the extra mile to meet our specific dietary needs. Long-Lee Manor where we stayed, was excellent! The entire experience was life-changing!

Room tip: Choose the Garden Rooms
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Excursion21521016022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2020

During my trip to South Africa we stayed at Shamwari for 3 nights and I wish it was so much longer !!

We stayed at Riverdene Lodge which was beautiful the pool area looked out over the Savannah and plains were you could see the animals, if you didn't want to squint your eyes in the sunlight you could walk to the end of the cottages and on the right had side about 200m away over the perimeter fence there was a watering hole which was a must see every morning with new visitors each day.

Every game drive we saw something new which was great for the little checklist that you got in the room - i think i managed to get to see all the mammals except the elusive brown hyena and maybe a few hares or so but everything else was AMAZING !!

I am a massive fan of nature programmes and a big supporter of conservation and seeing the animals was heaven on earth for me ! i could not have asked for a better experience.

One evening we went out to see the lions and their cubs and on route back down our guide Karien who was fabulous ! A testement to the lodge ! said lets go look for the elephants which were very far in the distance we caught up with them and as the passed by us we decided to drive round the bushes to where they were heading... what a treat over 20 elephants of all ages were there we sat for about 30 minutes while the sun disappeared and it was the most humbling experience ever !

The rooms were large and spacious, the food was fabulous and the staff were excellent.

I would also highly recommend a visit to the born free centre

This is a place i will never forget and definitely will be back.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevjc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Radloff, Other at Shamwari Private Game Reserve Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Dear Kevjc90,

Thank you for your review.

We’re thrilled to hear that you had an amazing stay at Riverdene and that you had such a memorable experience from the management team to the game viewing.

We sincerely hope to see you return to Shamwari Private Game Reserve in future!

Best Regards,

The Shamwari Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2020

I travelled here with my mother. This place is heaven. We stayed in the Sarilli lodge and from the minute we arrived and were greeted we felt at home. Nothing was too much for the staff, especially the manager (I embarrassingly cant remember her name). The rooms are modern and ooze luxury. The view from our sliding doors and balcony were out of this world! Looking over the whole of the game reserve was just incredible. The food was lovely, freshly cooked and ample of it. The customer service was amazing, they met us with hot drinks and flannels after the game drives and asked when we wanted dinner.
Our game driver Cabous was very knowledgeable and very entertaining! He made every drive an adventure and even in some of the worst weather conditions! We saw 4 of the Big 5 multiple times.
We were so sad leaving here, I just cannot wait to go back when my children are older to experience this once (or hopefully) twice in a lifetime opportunity. Can’t wait to see you again Sarilli Lodge!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MrandMrsM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Radloff, Other at Shamwari Private Game Reserve Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2020

Dear MrandMrsM2010,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are exceptionally proud of the conservation and hospitality achievements since welcoming our first guests in 1992.

We’re absolutely thrilled to hear that you had an amazing stay at Sarli.

Thank you for your kind words. We sincerely hope to see you return to Shamwari Private Game Reserve in future too.

Best Regards,
The Shamwari Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2020

My wife and I stayed at Sarili Lodge in March 2020 and it was absolutely brilliant, the highlight of our holiday in South Africa. The lodge itself is luxurious, over looking a river (dried up when we were there) and a very large grassy plain. There are only 5 rooms so you get to know the other guests too. The staff are wonderful, and the food is excellent and plentiful. But the best part are the game drives, this was the first time we'd been on safari so we weren't sure what we'd see or how close we'd get but this exceeded all our expectations. We saw elephants, giraffes, lions, zebra, rhino, hippos, buffalos, springboks, monkeys, baboons and so much more. Many of them had their babies too, which was great. We got suprisingly close to a lot of them too, but always at a safe enough distance of course. Well worth waking up at 5am for. Our ranger was Barrie, and he was fantastic, very knowlegable and nothing was too much bother. We were there for 2 nights, but would love to go back for longer.

Room tip: River view rooms are the best in my opinion
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjl192018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Radloff, Other at Shamwari Private Game Reserve Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2020

Dear mjl192018,

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

We’re delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay at Sarili Lodge and that you had such a memorable experience from the management team to the game viewing.

We sincerely hope to see you return to Shamwari Private Game Reserve in future!

Best Regards,
The Shamwari Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

We visited 2 years ago and loved Shamwari, so wanted to return with our son and daughter, this time to sarilli lodge, requesting if it was possible for our first ranger Mino to guide us and show his passion and knowledge to all the family. We were not disappointed, thank to all, Mino, the lodge and the animals. Amazing food and service too and a great family experience from which we have learnt so much and appreciate the conservation that is going on especially with the Born Free Trust and rehabilitation centre.
We now cannot wait to return.
Thank you again Mino

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JaneEth124
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Radloff, Other at Shamwari Private Game Reserve Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Dear JaneEth124,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We’re thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay at Sarili and that you had such a memorable experience from the management team to the game viewing with Ranger Mino.

We sincerely hope to see you return to Shamwari Private Game Reserve in future!

Best Regards,

The Shamwari Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews