We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 237)
Filter reviews
1 237 results
Traveller rating
1 122
78
24
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 122
78
24
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagles crag plunge pool game reserve outdoor shower long lee manor his knowledge sarili lodge whole experience the main lodge amazing experience cape town our honeymoon wild animals watering hole hot chocolate thatched roof ranger mino
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1 237 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Lots of new memories made in this outstanding game reserve. The knowledge and experience of our Ranger Mino, was fascinating! He made the game drive fun, serious and exciting. The Lodge and it’s staff were super. Felt totally spoilt from arriving to leaving! In fact, we didn’t want to leave. Will be back in December with my family to make even more memories!

Room tip: All the lodges are luxurious!
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Baroness_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Our first Safari and the experience was awsome. Shamwari is an excellent place. Very organized, all safety measures are highly respected, place is amazing, landscapes and views are beautiful, a wide variety of animals including the big five, rangers highly skilled and motivated. We stayed at eagle crag, amazing place fantastic room. Food was more than great. Service was excellent. All people working there are very nice. Erin has been a wonderfull host and she contributed a great deal in making our stay very enjoyable.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MichelH1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We had a truly wonderful four night stay at Shamwari and came away with memories that will last for the rest of our lives. Other reviews spell it out; unrivalled game drives, great staff, lovely buildings, reasonable wine prices, superb scenery, max two vehicles near game, no malaria, ... etc. Spoke to other guests who all said this is the best game reserve to visit. But that comes at a cost and it is not cheap but you will know that before you book. The only other thing is the food is very good and plentiful but it’s not fantastic. Otherwise difficult to fault. Unquestionable five stars.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank phils_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Just the most amazing experience to see animals in a natural environment with fantastic accommodation and great knowledgable staff
This place is a real must if you are visiting the eastern cape can’t recommend it highly enough

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kerryfentonhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

As Returning guests at Shamwari (even though not recognized as such) we've always been happy. Stayed repeatedly at bayethe and longlee before. This visit however was rather unsatisfactory.

The estate as a whole seems a bit.... neglected. Empty bottles and trash by the pools left unattended for days. Towels not replaced. No proactive service by the pool. Not one towel in the room was spot free. Bathrobe placed on the floor for replacement (cause it wasn't clean in the first place) simply put back on the hook?

Warthog dung left unattended for days. Even the sprinkler turned on over it. After a few days numerous piles had piled up.

The staff at the restaurant was rather clueless as to how to arrange the seating. Not one meal was taken without people playing musical chairs or waiting for tables to be rearranged quickly.

The braai at the barn was mediocre. Lamps on the path leading to the barn broken, leaving the naked bulb to look at.

Wifi improved but is still below average quality available in South Africa.

All in all I must say If you drop your standards then kindly drop your rates to match them as well. The stay was not worth the money paid.

The game drives were very nice and Alex a very knowledgeable ranger. Thanks for that.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank timm1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGR_socialmedia, Public Relations Manager at Shamwari Private Game Reserve Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Mr & Mrs Timm,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I am saddened to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the state of the lodge in question during your stay. This certainly is not the norm and we will investigate to ensure that this does not reoccur in future.

As we live in the wilderness, some creatures frequent the lawns, especially the warthog. These animals feed off the grass and we unfortunately cannot control this.

We are sorry that you felt that your meal offering and service was not satisfactory, a majority of our staff come from our local villages and towns as part of our social responsibility program and ongoing professional training forms part of this.

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful game drive experience with Alex as your ranger. Thank you for your continued support over the years.

If you should ever wish to return to Shamwari, I would very much appreciate if you would contact our Hospitality Manager directly so that he is able to facilitate your booking and your stay with us.

Best Regards,

Claire Radloff
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews