We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 225)
Filter reviews
1 225 results
Traveller rating
1 110
78
24
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 110
78
24
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagles crag plunge pool game reserve outdoor shower long lee manor his knowledge sarili lodge whole experience the main lodge cape town amazing experience watering hole our honeymoon wild animals hot chocolate thatched roof stayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 1 225 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

A stunning lodge with outstanding service. Small and intimate,quiet chic. The staff were excellent but not intrusive. Food was good.
But Ranger Mino was the stand out memory. Making our Game drives amazing. A knowledgable,interesting and charming man. Clearly an excellent tracker with excellent people skills . . . a star indeed.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We stayed 4 nights at two different lodges within Shamwari (Bayethe and Longlee). We had an absolutely wonderful time - first and foremost, the game viewing was perfect: in our eight drives, we managed to see the Big Five (got lucky with the leopard sighting, doesn't happen all that often) and a lot more wildlife, set in the beautiful landscapes of the reserve. Our two rangers were both really great, each in their own way (and with their own emphasis on what to show their guests). We went on safari at Gorah Elephant Camp (another safari option in the Port Elizabeth area) afterwards, which was wonderful in its own way - however, game viewing at Shamwari was definitely superior.

Both lodges we stayed at were really nice - Bayethe is unfortunately a bit of a drive from the game viewing areas of the reserve, compared to Longlee (which is right in the middle of the southern section of the reserve). Other than that, we can recommend both. Service was always attentive, food was delicious, and both locations have their own lovely atmosphere (Bayethe luxury bush camp style, Longlee colonial manor style).

We would definitely return to Shamwari!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CJN08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Let me just get straight to the point…astounding !!! My whole experience with the Shamwari Game Reserve was nothing I have ever experienced. We arrived at Bayethe not expecting what laid ahead of us. This lodge was something different from the usual hotels mainly due to the were in sat. The whole area was surrounded by the delightful smell of fresh flowers blossoming in the wind and birds tweeting in the distance. The luxury tents at Bayethe were amazing, it had heaters, warm beds, outside shower and a plunge pool to top it off. Everyday you would come back to a clean and fresh room. We were also welcomed by a man with a tall figure and the biggest smile on his face, who goes by the name of Mino. He was one of the nicest, most friendliest human beings I have met. Mino is one of the rangers at Shamwari and he made the experience even better by taking us up close with a herd of 32 elephants, which walked straight past a vehicle making them a finger distance away from us. Mino has been specialising in Game Ranging for over 16 years now and this shows when he is with his clients. Mino shows a lot of respect and affection towards every living creature in the reserve whether it be an giraffe or a termite. He also takes care in everything he does making everyone feel safe when out in the reserve…even if the vehicle is a foot away from a male lion. Mino knows all the best places in the reserve, an example is when he stopped on top of a mountain watching the sun set over Shamwari and looking at the animals in their natural habitat. To wrap up this whole experience, I would have to recommend to anyone reading this that when they book a holiday to come South Africa, please take Shamwari Game Reserve into consideration and look into the Bayethe lodge. If possible please request Mino because I am sure with his experience, personality and interesting stories, he will give you an experience that you will never forget.

Room Tip: Luxury Tents make the experience that much better
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank matt_r_oneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We spent a 3 night break at this magical place and could not find a single fault. Accommodation was great, the safari trips were stunning, staff amazing, spa indulgent and food a real treat. Whenever I have a bad day, I just return to Shamwari in my mind and can't help but smile.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Heike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

After an upgrade to Eagle's Crag, we could not believe how lucky we were! Stunning accommodation, food and wine the best we have ever known, service and attention to detail were perfect!

Every day after game drive, a welcome towel and drink, a surprise bath or flower petals and champagne as it was our honeymoon, complimentary wine tasting each night!

And the safaris were more than we could ever have dreamed of! Franz, our driver, was amazing at finding the animals and was so knowledgeable too- he clearly loved his job. We saw all of the big 5 thanks to him!

Cannot wait to go back in summer to enjoy the outdoor private pool!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sazzler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews