We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eagle's Crag, Intimate Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2015

My wife, teenaged son and I stayed at Eagle's Crag for 3 nights in the waning days of the African winter and we and loved nearly every aspect. The main lodge building and detached chalets have the thatched roof design common to bush lodges in Africa, with tasteful stone exterior walls and all the expected fine appointments inside. It was cloudy and cool at the very beginning of September with a bit of occasional rain, which did not diminish the quality of the game drives. But it was chilly. A nice touch was that when you returned to your room, the staff made sure that the electric blanket was turned on, so a warm, comfy bed was waiting for you.

All meals were superb and plentiful. Dinner included a tapas option, which is worth trying---even if just as a group appetizer. There were also stand-alone entrees that included various game meats, if you're interested. On certain nights, everyone who had been on the safari drive that day, including your ranger/driver, sat at one table and shared stories, which was an entertaining, special experience. Your ranger also joins you for breakfast most days.

As for the drives themselves, the safari truck was clean and dry at the start of each ride. Eagle's Crag trucks have only 7 seats, one next to the driver and two per row with a compartment in-between for stowing gear. There is also a poncho for rain and a very heavy, warm blanket in case of chilly weather. We made use of both and were as comfortable as can be expected (we also took the advice of other travelers and brought many thin layers that could be peeled or added as needed, which worked perfectly for us). Temperatures Aug 30 - Sept 1 were 50s F in the morning and 60s F in the afternoon.

Our ranger/driver, Franz, was excellent and we came away feeling that we probably had one of Shamwari's best. Franz was excellent at spotting animals, especially from a great distance. And of course, at a reserve like Shamwari (versus a National Park like Kruger), the rangers can drive anywhere off-road in pursuit of animals. This ability afforded us some very special experiences, including two lounging cheetahs and a pair of lions munching on the remains of a warthog. At times, it seemed as though Franz was flying past impala and some other animals, but we learned that the reason was always because there was something better ahead for which he was aiming. By the end of our 6 drives, we had gotten good looks at nearly all the large to mid-sized animals the roughly 90-square-mile reserve has to offer---and a few small ones, too. Of course, each sighting is different. We saw lions several times, for example, but each sighting told a different story. The final example involved a lone lioness stalking impala. After 20 tense minutes, she charged... and missed! Seeing those impalas flying through the air in flight was really something special.

Upon returning to the lodge, we were always greeted by the friendly staff with a choice of sherry or a cup of something hot like cocoa or chai tea.

The only knock on Eagle's Crag is that, unlike some of the other lodging options at Shamwari, the lodge is tucked in amongst thick trees in a narrow valley. This limits the chance for wildlife sightings from the property. Other lodges, like Long Lee Manor, have broad views of flatlands and large decks from which to observe passing groups of beasts. But the road leading to Eagle's Crag can be full or surprises (we saw baboons on our last return) and the boardwalks leading between all the private rooms passed through thickets filled with hidden birds who sometimes popped-out for a look and this added to the intimate flavor of this place. Also, the guest list is limited here, so I imagine that even in high season, you're likely going to bump into fewer crowds. As it was, there were only about 8 or 9 guests when we were there which allowed for some nice conversations and a degree of pleasant familiarity by the time we left.

The lodge is about a 90 minute drive from the Port Elizabeth airport. It proved the perfect spot for wrapping-up our 10-day Garden Route tour.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are closer to the lodge building than others. Ask for one closer, if that's im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 322 of 1 156 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

A stunning lodge with outstanding service. Small and intimate,quiet chic. The staff were excellent but not intrusive. Food was good.
But Ranger Mino was the stand out memory. Making our Game drives amazing. A knowledgable,interesting and charming man. Clearly an excellent tracker with excellent people skills . . . a star indeed.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We stayed 4 nights at two different lodges within Shamwari (Bayethe and Longlee). We had an absolutely wonderful time - first and foremost, the game viewing was perfect: in our eight drives, we managed to see the Big Five (got lucky with the leopard sighting, doesn't happen all that often) and a lot more wildlife, set in the beautiful landscapes of the reserve. Our two rangers were both really great, each in their own way (and with their own emphasis on what to show their guests). We went on safari at Gorah Elephant Camp (another safari option in the Port Elizabeth area) afterwards, which was wonderful in its own way - however, game viewing at Shamwari was definitely superior.

Both lodges we stayed at were really nice - Bayethe is unfortunately a bit of a drive from the game viewing areas of the reserve, compared to Longlee (which is right in the middle of the southern section of the reserve). Other than that, we can recommend both. Service was always attentive, food was delicious, and both locations have their own lovely atmosphere (Bayethe luxury bush camp style, Longlee colonial manor style).

We would definitely return to Shamwari!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CJN08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Let me just get straight to the point…astounding !!! My whole experience with the Shamwari Game Reserve was nothing I have ever experienced. We arrived at Bayethe not expecting what laid ahead of us. This lodge was something different from the usual hotels mainly due to the were in sat. The whole area was surrounded by the delightful smell of fresh flowers blossoming in the wind and birds tweeting in the distance. The luxury tents at Bayethe were amazing, it had heaters, warm beds, outside shower and a plunge pool to top it off. Everyday you would come back to a clean and fresh room. We were also welcomed by a man with a tall figure and the biggest smile on his face, who goes by the name of Mino. He was one of the nicest, most friendliest human beings I have met. Mino is one of the rangers at Shamwari and he made the experience even better by taking us up close with a herd of 32 elephants, which walked straight past a vehicle making them a finger distance away from us. Mino has been specialising in Game Ranging for over 16 years now and this shows when he is with his clients. Mino shows a lot of respect and affection towards every living creature in the reserve whether it be an giraffe or a termite. He also takes care in everything he does making everyone feel safe when out in the reserve…even if the vehicle is a foot away from a male lion. Mino knows all the best places in the reserve, an example is when he stopped on top of a mountain watching the sun set over Shamwari and looking at the animals in their natural habitat. To wrap up this whole experience, I would have to recommend to anyone reading this that when they book a holiday to come South Africa, please take Shamwari Game Reserve into consideration and look into the Bayethe lodge. If possible please request Mino because I am sure with his experience, personality and interesting stories, he will give you an experience that you will never forget.

Room Tip: Luxury Tents make the experience that much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank matt_r_oneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We spent a 3 night break at this magical place and could not find a single fault. Accommodation was great, the safari trips were stunning, staff amazing, spa indulgent and food a real treat. Whenever I have a bad day, I just return to Shamwari in my mind and can't help but smile.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Heike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
22,5 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
374 reviews
58,7 km away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
59 reviews
1,8 km away
Long Lee Manor
Long Lee Manor
#2 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35,2 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 411 reviews
17,1 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
547 reviews
10,3 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range: R 8 906 - R 17 684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing