We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect anniversary trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We spent a 3 night break at this magical place and could not find a single fault. Accommodation was great, the safari trips were stunning, staff amazing, spa indulgent and food a real treat. Whenever I have a bad day, I just return to Shamwari in my mind and can't help but smile.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Heike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 326 of 1 156 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2015

After an upgrade to Eagle's Crag, we could not believe how lucky we were! Stunning accommodation, food and wine the best we have ever known, service and attention to detail were perfect!

Every day after game drive, a welcome towel and drink, a surprise bath or flower petals and champagne as it was our honeymoon, complimentary wine tasting each night!

And the safaris were more than we could ever have dreamed of! Franz, our driver, was amazing at finding the animals and was so knowledgeable too- he clearly loved his job. We saw all of the big 5 thanks to him!

Cannot wait to go back in summer to enjoy the outdoor private pool!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sazzler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Bayethe for four nights towards the end of July & it was fantastic. We went on 7 game drives and even though the weather was bad for the first and horrendous for the second it was still a great experience. Our ranger was Ryanhard and he is a great guy - knowledgable, enthusiastic and good fun. He did his best in the bad conditions and we had great fun on the mud tracks with the land cruiser and he still found us White Rhino and elephant amongst other animals to see. Day 2 & drives 3 & 4 we will never forget. We started the day with a pride of lions basking in the sun, moved onto a cheetah with her two cubs, in the afternoon we caught up with the lions, cheetah again plus a family of elephant before a black Rhino decided to stroll across the plateau to drink some water. It was truly amazing. The day was exceptional and one we will never forget. Our next three drives were all excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed them. We got to see lots more including buffalo but the leopard proved illusive. Saw four of the big five though which was really cool. The Bayethe lodge is fantastic. Luxurious while still giving u the impression of being in the wild. The food was delicious and the staff so warm and friendly. Andrea was looking after us and our lodge and did a great job. On our game drives it was only is and another couple which was super as it felt really personal and we could ask as many questions as we wanted. I must pay special mention again to Ryanhard though, he made our trip was it was, no question about that. He was so enthusiastic and made such an effort to explain all about the animals and find us as much as he could to see. We really enjoyed his company and are very thankful to him. I can't recommend Shamwari enough. It made a huge impression on us and the work going on there in terms of conservation and rehabilitating is fantastic. If you get the chance this is a wonderful place to visit and partake in a really special safari experience. Thanks again to all in Bayethe & Shamwari.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We visited the above reserve over 3 nights in July and we have to tell anyone wishing to go on a Game Reserve what an unbelievable experience we had. The Eagles Crag Accommodation was top notch with comfortable rooms and outstanding food. But above all the staff made us feel very welcome and attended promptly and politely to all our needs.
We have to count ourselves exceptionally lucky with our Ranger (Mino) who's knowledge was top notch. His personable approach and willingness to satisfy his paying customers could not be faulted. We always felt safe in his hands and were always bemused by his ability to track down the Game and hence exceed our expectations.
This was our first holiday on a game reserve so we were unsure of what to expect but came away with all our expectations exceeded.
We couldn't recommend Shamwari Game Reserve enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are very appointed and the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marywilliams2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Outstanding facilities, food and customer service. Brilliant Rangers with great knowledge, excellent driving skills, a keen eye and great communication between them to share sightings and aid tracking. The wide variety of terrain and the beautiful scenery make any drive breathtaking. There is plenty of game, but some need to be tracked (which is exciting) and of course there are no guarantees - but the Rangers do their very best to get you to see what you request over a series of drives.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DerekLewis62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
22,5 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
374 reviews
58,7 km away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
59 reviews
1,8 km away
Long Lee Manor
Long Lee Manor
#2 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35,2 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 411 reviews
17,1 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
547 reviews
10,3 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range: R 8 953 - R 17 917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing