We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience with a phantastic ranger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

we stayed 3 nights at the shamwari resort. We did not expect it to be soo beautiful.
Our indian Ranger Minu whom I highly recommend had such an amazing expert knowledge in nimals, plants, general nature.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 501 of 1 141 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Luxurious accommodation, beautiful and tastefully decorated. Rooms are spacious and everything is just superb. We were a party of six and one room in the main manor and 2 rooms overlooking the beautiful plains of Shamwari. The restaurant serves beautiful food and the wine list is extensive and not overly expensive. Lovely gift shop. Staff were amazing and the service was great. Wasn't overly fond of the BBQ which is served at the Boma every 2nd Night, think that needs improvement. If you want to feel spoilt when on safari you cannot go wrong with this place. It is well kept, clean, friendly and very customer orientated. Well done to the staff and management!

Room Tip: I dont think they have any "not so desirable" rooms! Our room in the main manor was just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sTcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at Long Lee Manor for 2 nights. Manor was a fantastic place to stay facilities were brilliant and staff amazingly friendly and helpful. Without a doubt our Ranger Nicky made the experience for us. Her knowledge, passion and dedication made each drive memorable and something we shall never forget.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaybb1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Sarili Lodge with 6 adults and 5 kids (ages 6 - 11) in Jan 2014. We are all well seasoned travellers and this was one of the best travel experiences we have had. The lodge is beautifully done, the staff were nothing short of amazing (led by Liza-Marie, Thobela was also wonderful) and we had 2 rangers (Armand and Asher) who were superb. We saw all the animals we set-out to see (including the Big 5), had fantastic food and after 3 days felt like we had been there for months. We could not recommend this place highly enough, particularly if you have kids given the accessibility to Port Elizabeth. You can do game reserves for less money but you leave Sarili Lodge / Shamwari feeling like it was worth every dollar, it's an experience you won't forget for many years. Our kids rated this much higher than Disneyworld and their best ever holiday.

Room Tip: Room 5 at the Lodge is sensational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiscerningSydney2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The three night stay at Long Lee Manor was a great. The manor is colonial style, the suite was large with a huge patio and a wonderful view over the game reserve. I never thought getting up at 5.30 could be a pleasure but it was.
The undisputed highlight were the game drives in the morning and late afternoon. Our ranger, Nicky, was absolutely great...extremely knowledgable, personable and dedicated to making each drive a memorable experience.
Long Lee Manor is probably best suited to those who enjoy a convivial atmosphere rather than the full African bush experience offered by some of the other Shamwari properties. I travelled solo and found it an inclusive, easy place to be with a variety of fellow guests of various ages. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
22,5 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
368 reviews
0 km away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
58 reviews
1,8 km away
Long Lee Manor
Long Lee Manor
#2 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35,2 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 362 reviews
10,3 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
384 reviews
16,3 km away
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
#1 of 83 in Port Elizabeth
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range: R8 955 - R18 081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing