We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Intsomi Lodge(Alexandria)
View Hotel
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoria Mews(Grahamstown)
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 182)
Filter reviews
1 182 results
Traveller rating
1 069
76
24
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 069
76
24
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseagles cragplunge poolgame reserveoutdoor showerlong lee manorhis knowledgesarili lodgewhole experiencethe main lodgecape townamazing experienceour honeymoonwild animalswatering holehot chocolatethatched roofblack rhino
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
546 - 551 of 1 182 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A two day safari based at the Sarili was the highlight of our two weeks in South Africa. It was not cheap at about £1000 per day but worth every penny as a rare total five star experience. Our two sons (aged 12 & 14) just loved the whole safari experience which was not a sure thing, especially with the 5.30am starts.
Sarili is the smallest lodge with just five rooms. We had the two upstairs River View rooms which had excellent views of the river while a Portuguese family had two of the downstairs rooms (one room was unused).
The staff (and there were lots) were great, meeting us every time we returned and quickly responding to any request. Our ranger (Armand) was great, he was expert at finding all the wildlife, including the Big 5 and flexed the schedule to vary the experience - on the second day we went out later and saw a pride of Lions feeding.
The food was excellent and the staff changed the menu and dining location each day to maximise the use of the fabulous lodge. One lunch was on the deck and a herd of Elephants came down to the river in front of us - this was amazing.
This is a truly wonderful place !

Room Tip: The river view rooms are lovely and have a great view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakes7-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

we have spent 2 days in the Shamwari Game Reserve on the lodge eagle crag. Right on the very first day, we have seen already 3 of the big Five. The Accommodation, the food, the location is just perfect. Of course, its relative expensive, but there is a superb service. We enjoyed very much with our Driver Francis, which has a brilliant driver with lot of experience to find the animal. We can recommend Shamwari for a perfect Safari.

Room Tip: All the locations are quite nice / We stayed at fish eagle
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HubertB276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We have jut completed 2 amazing days at Eagles Crag lodge at the Shamwari game Reserve.
Our extraordinary ranger Mino made this an experience never to be forgotten. We had requested Mino based upon fantastic reviews from friends who had enjoyed his knowledge , enthusiasm and friendly manner.
We have been to numerous other game parks but this one was by far the best experience. Mino is licenced to leave the tracks and follow the game wherever they are and then subject to usual safety procedures, we were able to leave the vehicle and get really close to some of the game including cheetahs!
In all our travels, seldom have we enjoyed such professionalism , fantastic accommodation, superb food , and a brilliant safari experience as well!
We would highly recommend Shamwari ( and Mino!) for a once in a lifetime safari experience!

Room Tip: If your budget allows then the Eagles Crag lodge is a must otherwise I believe the bayette Lodge is also very good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SYDARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Everything about this place exceeded expectations, and then some. The lodge is even nicer than the pictures on the website. Our visit to Shamwari was the highlight of our South Africa Garden Route trip. After an extremely long flight from NYC and a 1.5hr drive from Port Elizabeth we were thrilled to pull up to Shamwari.

From the minute we got there, they took care of everything for us. They had us eat lunch first as it was already a bit late and then showed us to our villa. We couldn't believe our eyes as we walked in. A private building with a 4-post king bed, standing tub, indoor shower, outdoor shower, private patio and private plunge pool.

Generally speaking all of the wait staff was friendly and very nice and accommodating. The meals were very good, with plenty of food, you could order as much as you wanted and though they had a set menu daily, you were allowed to deviate from it. The dishes ranged from OK to fantastic. One thing that was consistently good were their soups.

The highlight meal was the Braai which was set up outside and so cute and cozy with a large pit fire in the middle and the guests surrounding it along with our rangers. Speaking of, our ranger Jan, was absolutely fantastic and made our trip. He was amazing, not just knowledgeable and professional, but fun, engaging, and entertaining. He shared his personal experiences and by the end of 3 days, it had felt we'd known him for years. He was always thinking about his guests and took great care of us.

We saw all of the big 5, baby cubs, a massive herd of elephants, journeys of giraffes, and cheetahs. His passion for the wildlife and the game reserve made the trip. He went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of every drive. I really can't highly enough of our experience at Eagle's Crag and with our ranger Jan. We visited the spa and had the most amazing scalp and head massages and facials, so would highly recommend booking an appointment daily there.

The only thing I'd recommend is for them to include beverages in the rate just for convenience. The cost of drinks is so minimal, it was just a bit of a nuisance to have to sign for a couple of dollars every night. Otherwise, this was the top travel experience so far. Thanks so much to Jan and everyone at Shamwari for an absolutely amazing experience. We hope to visit again.

Room Tip: All the same
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

So I did some trip advisor research and thought we should go with baythe lodge, however it was full and instead we booked two nights at eagles crag. Eagles crag is actually on the reserve, baythe isn't. With baythe you lose up to one hour of each game drive just getting onto the reserve going through a sheep farm etc. Eagles crag two minutes and you are on the animals trail.

We had Jan 'ranger of the year' three years running as our game driver and highly recommend him.

We stayed in room 1, which had a private outdoor shower and a plunge pool.

The game vehicles are very spacious and with spaces for seven with ponchos and blankets.

Food was plentiful and delicious.

The quality of the sightings was amazing, they really try to track and get you good quality viewings. Also when getting a good sighting they ensure that only two vehicles are near the animals at one time. This is a good touch showing they respect the animals (unlike others in kruger who were practically harassing the animals for photo opportunities)

This was by far the best part of our three week honeymoon, highly recommend the lodge and especially Jan.

Wifi in the main reception area helped us send the great photos back to people at home.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews