We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5Star safari experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for 3days at Shamwari in Bayethe tented lodges. This accomadation is amazing and is a more safari feel being a huge tent but with 5star fittings including ; huge bed, log burner, fridge-mini bar, outside shower. large double slipper bath, twin sinks, outside private deck with plunge pool , oh and a tv(if your watching this then your missing out !!!)
Our Ranger was Mino what a guy ,he goes the extra mile to make sure you have an amazing experience .We saw all the big 5 and lots more; the elusive Leopard we sighted twice, elephants swimming and wallowing in mud .Mino took us on a game walk and we watched Cheetahs from metres away ,the Hippo rising out of the water at close range and walked from vehicle to closer view point to the rhinos wow all awesome !! Sundowners at end of the day on a chosen viewpoint was amazing. We stayed out all day one day and had a picnic at another amazing viewpoint ,all meals at the central lodge were excellent and plentyfull with excellent service, also went to Born Free foundation and animal rehab centre , this gives you an all round overview of animal conservation and puts all into prospective.
This was our first African Safari and we are so glad we chose Shamwari and spent our time with Mino a big thank you, from here we continued on our tour on the Garden Route ending up at Cape Town ,what an amazing country we must come back again soon.
If your trying to decide ponder no longer Shamwari is a must do !!!!
Clive and Josephine stayed 3 days 2nd -5th November 2013

Room Tip: choose tented lodges more safari feel than long lee manor which looks very nice but you can stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clive a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 494 of 1 114 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

A two day safari based at the Sarili was the highlight of our two weeks in South Africa. It was not cheap at about £1000 per day but worth every penny as a rare total five star experience. Our two sons (aged 12 & 14) just loved the whole safari experience which was not a sure thing, especially with the 5.30am starts.
Sarili is the smallest lodge with just five rooms. We had the two upstairs River View rooms which had excellent views of the river while a Portuguese family had two of the downstairs rooms (one room was unused).
The staff (and there were lots) were great, meeting us every time we returned and quickly responding to any request. Our ranger (Armand) was great, he was expert at finding all the wildlife, including the Big 5 and flexed the schedule to vary the experience - on the second day we went out later and saw a pride of Lions feeding.
The food was excellent and the staff changed the menu and dining location each day to maximise the use of the fabulous lodge. One lunch was on the deck and a herd of Elephants came down to the river in front of us - this was amazing.
This is a truly wonderful place !

Room Tip: The river view rooms are lovely and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakes7-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

we have spent 2 days in the Shamwari Game Reserve on the lodge eagle crag. Right on the very first day, we have seen already 3 of the big Five. The Accommodation, the food, the location is just perfect. Of course, its relative expensive, but there is a superb service. We enjoyed very much with our Driver Francis, which has a brilliant driver with lot of experience to find the animal. We can recommend Shamwari for a perfect Safari.

Room Tip: All the locations are quite nice / We stayed at fish eagle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HubertB276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We have jut completed 2 amazing days at Eagles Crag lodge at the Shamwari game Reserve.
Our extraordinary ranger Mino made this an experience never to be forgotten. We had requested Mino based upon fantastic reviews from friends who had enjoyed his knowledge , enthusiasm and friendly manner.
We have been to numerous other game parks but this one was by far the best experience. Mino is licenced to leave the tracks and follow the game wherever they are and then subject to usual safety procedures, we were able to leave the vehicle and get really close to some of the game including cheetahs!
In all our travels, seldom have we enjoyed such professionalism , fantastic accommodation, superb food , and a brilliant safari experience as well!
We would highly recommend Shamwari ( and Mino!) for a once in a lifetime safari experience!

Room Tip: If your budget allows then the Eagles Crag lodge is a must otherwise I believe the bayette Lodge is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SYDARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Everything about this place exceeded expectations, and then some. The lodge is even nicer than the pictures on the website. Our visit to Shamwari was the highlight of our South Africa Garden Route trip. After an extremely long flight from NYC and a 1.5hr drive from Port Elizabeth we were thrilled to pull up to Shamwari.

From the minute we got there, they took care of everything for us. They had us eat lunch first as it was already a bit late and then showed us to our villa. We couldn't believe our eyes as we walked in. A private building with a 4-post king bed, standing tub, indoor shower, outdoor shower, private patio and private plunge pool.

Generally speaking all of the wait staff was friendly and very nice and accommodating. The meals were very good, with plenty of food, you could order as much as you wanted and though they had a set menu daily, you were allowed to deviate from it. The dishes ranged from OK to fantastic. One thing that was consistently good were their soups.

The highlight meal was the Braai which was set up outside and so cute and cozy with a large pit fire in the middle and the guests surrounding it along with our rangers. Speaking of, our ranger Jan, was absolutely fantastic and made our trip. He was amazing, not just knowledgeable and professional, but fun, engaging, and entertaining. He shared his personal experiences and by the end of 3 days, it had felt we'd known him for years. He was always thinking about his guests and took great care of us.

We saw all of the big 5, baby cubs, a massive herd of elephants, journeys of giraffes, and cheetahs. His passion for the wildlife and the game reserve made the trip. He went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of every drive. I really can't highly enough of our experience at Eagle's Crag and with our ranger Jan. We visited the spa and had the most amazing scalp and head massages and facials, so would highly recommend booking an appointment daily there.

The only thing I'd recommend is for them to include beverages in the rate just for convenience. The cost of drinks is so minimal, it was just a bit of a nuisance to have to sign for a couple of dollars every night. Otherwise, this was the top travel experience so far. Thanks so much to Jan and everyone at Shamwari for an absolutely amazing experience. We hope to visit again.

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
22.5 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
363 reviews
1.8 km away
Long Lee Manor
Long Lee Manor
#2 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
119 reviews
35.2 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
240 reviews
13.3 km away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
386 reviews
17.1 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range: R10 280 - R18 138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing