We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari in style - what an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We have jut completed 2 amazing days at Eagles Crag lodge at the Shamwari game Reserve.
Our extraordinary ranger Mino made this an experience never to be forgotten. We had requested Mino based upon fantastic reviews from friends who had enjoyed his knowledge , enthusiasm and friendly manner.
We have been to numerous other game parks but this one was by far the best experience. Mino is licenced to leave the tracks and follow the game wherever they are and then subject to usual safety procedures, we were able to leave the vehicle and get really close to some of the game including cheetahs!
In all our travels, seldom have we enjoyed such professionalism , fantastic accommodation, superb food , and a brilliant safari experience as well!
We would highly recommend Shamwari ( and Mino!) for a once in a lifetime safari experience!

Room Tip: If your budget allows then the Eagles Crag lodge is a must otherwise I believe the bayette Lodge is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SYDARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 497 of 1 114 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Everything about this place exceeded expectations, and then some. The lodge is even nicer than the pictures on the website. Our visit to Shamwari was the highlight of our South Africa Garden Route trip. After an extremely long flight from NYC and a 1.5hr drive from Port Elizabeth we were thrilled to pull up to Shamwari.

From the minute we got there, they took care of everything for us. They had us eat lunch first as it was already a bit late and then showed us to our villa. We couldn't believe our eyes as we walked in. A private building with a 4-post king bed, standing tub, indoor shower, outdoor shower, private patio and private plunge pool.

Generally speaking all of the wait staff was friendly and very nice and accommodating. The meals were very good, with plenty of food, you could order as much as you wanted and though they had a set menu daily, you were allowed to deviate from it. The dishes ranged from OK to fantastic. One thing that was consistently good were their soups.

The highlight meal was the Braai which was set up outside and so cute and cozy with a large pit fire in the middle and the guests surrounding it along with our rangers. Speaking of, our ranger Jan, was absolutely fantastic and made our trip. He was amazing, not just knowledgeable and professional, but fun, engaging, and entertaining. He shared his personal experiences and by the end of 3 days, it had felt we'd known him for years. He was always thinking about his guests and took great care of us.

We saw all of the big 5, baby cubs, a massive herd of elephants, journeys of giraffes, and cheetahs. His passion for the wildlife and the game reserve made the trip. He went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of every drive. I really can't highly enough of our experience at Eagle's Crag and with our ranger Jan. We visited the spa and had the most amazing scalp and head massages and facials, so would highly recommend booking an appointment daily there.

The only thing I'd recommend is for them to include beverages in the rate just for convenience. The cost of drinks is so minimal, it was just a bit of a nuisance to have to sign for a couple of dollars every night. Otherwise, this was the top travel experience so far. Thanks so much to Jan and everyone at Shamwari for an absolutely amazing experience. We hope to visit again.

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

So I did some trip advisor research and thought we should go with baythe lodge, however it was full and instead we booked two nights at eagles crag. Eagles crag is actually on the reserve, baythe isn't. With baythe you lose up to one hour of each game drive just getting onto the reserve going through a sheep farm etc. Eagles crag two minutes and you are on the animals trail.

We had Jan 'ranger of the year' three years running as our game driver and highly recommend him.

We stayed in room 1, which had a private outdoor shower and a plunge pool.

The game vehicles are very spacious and with spaces for seven with ponchos and blankets.

Food was plentiful and delicious.

The quality of the sightings was amazing, they really try to track and get you good quality viewings. Also when getting a good sighting they ensure that only two vehicles are near the animals at one time. This is a good touch showing they respect the animals (unlike others in kruger who were practically harassing the animals for photo opportunities)

This was by far the best part of our three week honeymoon, highly recommend the lodge and especially Jan.

Wifi in the main reception area helped us send the great photos back to people at home.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

From our arrival to our departure the staff at Shamwari were like family. The room was stunning and they didn't miss a thing. Anything you think you may need was available. From our room that looked over a small river we could see giraffe, Warthog, impala, hippo plus more. The food was incredible. The game drives and our driver Hedman was knowledgable, relaxed, professional and fun. It was the small details that made this place a winner. Will we return? you betcha!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livindreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at Riverdene lodge for 2 nights and it proved to be a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly and the service impeccable. They even washed our car. Our ranger, Vincent, was accommodating and knowledgable. He helped us to find four of the Big Five (were told the jaguar had not been sighted by anyone for about 2 months). We enjoyed an almost up close and "personal" encounters with these animals. We even followed a pair of lions for an extended period of time on a failed hunting expedition and spent some time with a pair of cheetah siblings sharing a kill.

For the price, we think it is fair as the accommodation was cozy (would be nice to have our own private plunge pool and an outdoor shower area), food was of good standard (not exactly fine dinning but close enough) and the game drives were excellent. We visited Kruger (not the private reserve) more than 10 years ago and did not get so close to the animals. The fact that we could go off roads added tons to the experience. Don't waste your money visiting a park whereby you need to stay on the tarmac and hope the animals come near you, unless you have loads of time.

Considering this is a 5-star facility, it would however be nice if they could extend the range of the wifi to all the rooms. Did not bother us much though.

We look forward to return to Shamwari in the future.

Room Tip: There are 9 rooms at Riverdene and they are on the same rows and very near to the common pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wee B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
22.5 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
363 reviews
1.8 km away
Long Lee Manor
Long Lee Manor
#2 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
119 reviews
35.2 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
240 reviews
13.3 km away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
385 reviews
17.1 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range: R10 456 - R18 398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing