We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Storyteller586095

Spectacular end to a wonderful RSA trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Oct 2022
Had the great fortune to spend four days with my family at Melton Manor. I do not have the words to portray how wonderful our stay was. Suffice to say it was a magical experience from start to finish. Special thanks to Chris and Ciza for allowing us to get up and close to the game, seeing the giraffe through the early morning mist was truly unforgettable. Special thanks to Sylvia, Patrick and all the staff for spoiling us rotten including making a cake for my son's birthday. Special people and a really special setting. Heaven on Earth!
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
30 on Oatlands Room 2
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 204
  • Booking.com
17.4 km from Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 2 390
  • Hotels.com
17.6 km from Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 360
  • Hotels.com
17.7 km from Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool deck views .
Contact accommodation for availability.
59.2 km from Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
89
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the reserve ecca lodge star luxury natural beauty four days magical experience his enthusiasm heaven on earth attention to detail delicious food two nights from start to finish treated like royalty herd of elephants once in a lifetime manor wildlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2022

There was never a dull moment for my family at Kwandwe, the reserve is filled with wildlife! From majestic giraffes strolling right past the vehicle, to young lions curiously playing with porcupines, to a leopard joining our safari following a herd of elephants, this place has it all; including stunning amenities and talented, warm staff that make you feel not just welcome, but at home.

The natural beauty of this spot soothes the soul, and we were more than excited to start each day knowing that new adventures awaited us. Truly a once-in-a-lifetime, magical experience. Special thanks to our expert(ly funny) ranger Ryan and superhuman tracker Dennis- we had a great time with a very candid, relaxed, but engaging atmosphere. We were given special care the whole time- treated to heated water bottles and blankets to keep us warm in the evening, wool-lined ponchos if it rained, and snack stops to enjoy the scenery at sunset.

The staff added such a personal touch to all aspects of our stay while respecting our voice and decision in every matter, from dietary requests to stopping the vehicle when we thought we had spotted an animal. The facilities of the Ecca Lodges are also incredible; the gorgeous habitat and animals are just a bonus!

Finally, know that your stay will not just benefit you, but also Kwandwe’s partnership with the Ubunye Foundation, a NPO which supports local businesses, women in the community, and children’s education in the region.

It was our first time seeing so many stars in the night sky, with no light or air pollution nearby. An unforgettable experience in every way. Enkosi kakhulu!

Room tip: all the rooms are incredible!
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliesK5349PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2022

what a dream place to stay from start to finish. just amazing. from the accommodation in Ecca lodge, to the fantastic game drives with Trsitan a great ranger pointing out all the animals, to the delicious food and wonderful staff. This really is a dream destination. The holiday of a lifetime. we will be back.
This Reserve really offers 5 star luxury with attention to detail and a personal service.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2022

We stayed at Melton Manor for two nights with 3 other couples and every couple was more than impressed by Kwandwe. From the time we were welcomed at main reception, to the time we left, we were treated like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble even for those of us with specific dietary requirements. Our meals, including the skottle breakfast in the bush, were delicious and beautifully presented. Our accommodation was extremely luxurious with great attention paid to the finest of details. Ivan, the ranger assigned to us, was unanimously the best guide any of us have experienced. He's in a league of his own and we've visited some of the most exclusive lodges and reserves in SA, Botswana and Tanzania. His enthusiasm, broad knowledge of not only the animals but birds, plants and our night sky, and willingness to delight, were commendable. The game were plentiful and we witnessed our first cheetah kill. We also saw 88 species of bird in just 3 game drives! We lost our one hubcap of the hired care on our drive to the lodge. Without us knowing they went back and found it, cable tied it back on so it wouldn't fall off again, and had washed our car on our return. The owners of Kwandwe can pride themselves on one of the finest lodges and reserves in South Africa.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leigh-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2021

We stayed for 3 nights at the Fish River lodge in December 2020. It was absolute perfection from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The game viewing was out of this world. We were so lucky with many cat sightings with the best treasure being watching the elusive leopard with her cub. The landscape of the reserve is ever changing and diverse. We loved the sunset locations for our sunset drink looking over majestic points in the reserve. Our favourite being at one of the dams on the reserve. Our daily Nyala visitors at our room around midday for a drink at our plunge pool, was a very special and memorable moment for me. I highly recommend this superlative place. Food and service is outstanding. The positive is that is that it is malaria free and close to PE airport. Just go - you will love it!

Date of stay: December 2020
1  Thank Juliet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2020

Words cannot express what an amazing stay we are having in this bit of paradise - it is by far the best we have had over the last 10 years of South African safaris.

From the moment we entered our beautiful Fort Lodge and were greeted by the sight of three lions hunting right in front of us, it has been one unforgettable experience after another. Leopard mother and her cubs feeding and grooming, male lions being chased by a herd of buffalo, cheetah packs planning hunts, black rhinos investigating our truck, elephants asserting their dominance, list goes on and on, Thanks to our dream team of ranger Ryan and tracker Siya - both of whom seem to intuitively know exactly where the animals are and what they will do, every drive has been a wonder.

And as if that wasn’t fantastic enough - the lodge couldn’t be any better either. Luxurious home with lots of space and stunning views, attentive and friendly staff and delicious food! We can’t believe our luck!

Even though a part of me says this can’t get any better so quit while ahead, I know that in a few months we will be dreaming of and planning our next trip to Kwandwe.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 123sarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews