We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Victoria Mews(Grahamstown)
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Intsomi Lodge(Alexandria)
View Hotel
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
58
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat fish river lodgethe reservean amazing experienceblack rhinostar luxuryset highenjoyed nightswent the extra milewild animalsjust in caseattention to detailsafari drivessouth africamale lionthe riverstayed nightsthe main lodge
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the Ecco lodges for three nights. The accommodation is absolutely wonderful with great views over the reserve. Inside there is a large lounge area with a separate bedroom which offer the best views. Words cannot describe how good it is so hope the photos do it justice.

During the morning and again during the late afternoon/ early evening your taken on a safari tour by your dedicated Ranger and Tracker. On our visit we had "J" for our tracker and "Nick" as our ranger /guide.

These two were fantastic. J has eyes like a hawk and his ability to find the animals is impressive. Nick is a wealth of knowledge on all the wild life and plants and makes the experience even better. Whilst on safari we even had a BBQ and a few drinks which was totally unexpected but fantastic.

although the day starts at 5am it's worth getting up at this hour for your first of the day safari.

In regards to food then all I'll say is that you won't go hungry as there's a light breakfast at 530 and once back at around 9 you will have a cooked breakfast. Lunch is between 12-130 and evening meal after you late safari. All the food is cooked fresh and tastes wonderful so you won't be disappointed.

Overall the staff make this a truly wonderful experience and hopefully not a once in a life time. Over the past couple of years I've been lucky enough to stay in some great places and have to say this tops the lot.

Big thank you to all the team .

For those planning on visiting then I'd recommend :-
some warm cloths as it is chilly in the morning / early evening.
Waterproof jacket and trousers just in case it rains. The reserve does supply you a fleece lined poncho but I'd still recommend waterproofs
Good binoculars
Good camera
Hat
Walking shoes.

Other than that the reserve have it covered.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwandweManagement, Manager at Kwandwe Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear Simon F,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to post your thoughtful feedback as well as your lovely images. It is a privilege to be considered one of your top travel experiences to date and hope that you do return soon (and that we are able to make your second visit even more memorable than the first!).

We will be sure to pass on your comments to Nick, J and the rest of the team.

Warm regards,
The Kwandwe family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

There is no better place to stay and experience wildlife in South Africa than Kwandwe. The staff were so nice and attentive. They made you feel right at home and took care of everything. Our guides were amazing! They were so much fun to be around and extremely informative. We felt so lucky to be in such a wonderful place and to sample a small part of life in the game reserve. The animals were awesome to behold - with Rhino (saw Black Rhino at the last minute!), Lions, Cheetah, Antelope of every sort, Hippos, Giraffes and Elephants just to name a few. We could not have been happier. Thank you to all of the staff for making us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DouggieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We have just returned from our first Safari... 5 nights at Kwandwe. What an amazing experience! Having travelled extensively throughout Europe and South America, we had certain ideas about value for money from travel experiences.... Kwandwe exceeded all our expectations! This place is special. The accommodation is beautiful, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the guides and trackers seem to be matched by personality type to their guests.... Nic C and Veeyani, we loved you guys!! So knowledgable, fun and passionate about what they do. Their enthusiasm was contagious!
Favourite moments included our afternoon with the northern pride and lion cubs!, witnessing a cheetah feasting on a pregnant Impala, and the lion hunt that unfolded before our eyes as we fished from the wharf... it ended badly for the warthog, but was great to get a close-up view of the lions feasting! Every Safari is different, so the experience never gets old. We miss Kwandwe and are already considering our return trip... here's hoping it can be soon!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank caroline_e_cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We love Kwandwe and today I was reminded why. Just spent two days at a local competitor because Kwandwe was full on my travel dates. It's a lesson: change travel dates and make sure you stay at Kwandwe!

Their rangers are amazing and knowledgable. Their vehicles are spotless. The housekeeping is meticulous with cleanliness and detail. The food is sublime. And the staff are attentive, friendly and always good judges of guests needs and the amount of attention each likes.

I need to find a gap to go Kwandwe soon because I didn't get my "bush fix" and spoil at the competition. Keep up the fabulous work Kwandwe!!!!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank 76Titbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwandweManagement, Manager at Kwandwe Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear 76Titbit,

Thank you so much for your kind and generous feedback. We will be sure to share this with the rest of the team and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon for your next "bush fix"! :-)

Kind regards,
The Kwandwe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Our suite was private, secluded, extremely well furnished with wonderful views of the surrounding hills and wild life. It was complete with small pool and outside veranda. The main "hotel" building was beautifully furnished in typical South African style. We went on guided landrover style safaris every day with our fantastic guide from 6.00am till 10.00am and then later from 4.00pm till 8.00pm. Maximum 6 passengers per vehicle. The guides were very professional and we could not believe how close we were taken to all the animals. It was exciting and exhilarating and greatly exceeded our expectations

Room Tip: Stay near the main house as wild animals do roam freely! (Mostly deer!)
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quickaupair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews