We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
vandc
genève

A bubble of luxury

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Apr 2024via mobile
From the moment you enter the reserve, you step into another world. Animals can be spotted on your way to the reception area. You must leave your car and then are driven to the lodge by one of the rangers.
The staff is super welcoming, knowledgeable, kind and professional. They do everything to make sure you are comfy and happy ! The ranger and the tracker ensure your safety and really want to share everything they know about the animals and the region.
Each room is an individual cabin, with its own private deck and plunge pool. The inside is modern, nicely decorated and comfortable. Everything is included (mini bar, alcohol, coffee/tea). Really beautiful !
When its dark, they escort you to your room, just in case an animal is closeby !
Game drives take place at 7am and 4pm, for about 2-3h. On the jeep there are blankets and binoculars, as well as water. You even stop on the way for coffee/tea, hot breakfast (cooked on the spot) or an apero ! Really cool and they always choose a great open spot with views over the reserve.
The food is delicious, they cater to specific diet requirements.
We had a great time at Kwandwe Fish River Lodge !!!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
5.4 km from Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.5 km from Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
7.8 km from Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 2 390
  • Hotels.com
24.3 km from Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    R 2 390
  • Hotels.com
24.2 km from Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool deck views .
Contact accommodation for availability.
62.1 km from Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
340
14
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
340
14
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great fish river lodge plunge pool the river game drives the reserve safari experience elusive leopard hot chocolate out of this world fantastic experience cape town two hours white rhino private deck loved every minute great fun every meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

We wanted to do a safari for part of our stay in South Africa but wanted a malaria free zone . Audrey recommended Great River Lodge for three days and it could not have been more perfect . We arrived at around four and were immediately driven t out yo join our group of two other couples. Ivan was our guide for the three days and Andy our spotter . Within an hour we saw our first lions and that night there was a festive outdoor dinner . Everything about these three days was perfect . The staff could not have been more gracious attending to your every whim, food was outstanding and Ivan was such a great and knowledgeable guide and I learned that the joy of a safari is not just seeing animals- it is about learning about them . The other two couples we were with were safari experts with one couple having done 27 and they commented that Ivan was more knowledgeable and explained more than just about any other guide . The accommodation is large and luxurious in a lodge manner . While this was our first safari I now know it will not be the last I hope. !

Room tip: Consider driving the Garden Route to Port Elizabeth if you have time .
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Just the most magical experience. Everything about this place is perfection. Lovely rooms, fantastic staff, amazing guides and trackers, food is outstanding. Simply can't find anything to beef about. Love it here, second time but not the last.

Room tip: Take some warm clothes for the early and late drives
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024

Fantastic Safari Experience
wonderful Luxury Suites with enormous beds, outdoor plunge pool and amazing views.

We stayed 4 nights and went on 7 safari tours. We saw Cheetah , Rhinos, Lions , Hippo, Giraffes, Tortoise , Eland , Springbok ,Oryx, Fox , Meerkat and numerous birds.

I was worried the park would be too small but needn't have been.

We hardly retraced our steps and the views were amazing

We had a wonderful guide in Jarrod and an amazing spotter/tracker in Sezur. We genuinely tracked the lions by following their prints.

Kwandwe in a wonderful Reserve and I would thoroughly recommend a visit

Dave and Helen - UK

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Woodster04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2023

Surely one of the most special places on earth. These incredible people and their dedication to their environment (and ours) can only be truly experienced firsthand. Impossible to fault on any level - five stars doesn’t do them credit.

Room tip: Throw yourself into all you can.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Giles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2023 via mobile

If I could give this place 10 stars I would. The Kwandwe Reserve is massive and full of Rhino (both Black and White). This is a direct result of the aggressive and effective anti-poaching and preservation efforts here. It shows and makes you feel honored to be part of it. But it’s not just rhino. The Big Five are all present as well as plenty of gorgeous antelope.

The lodge is pure luxury. Set above the Great Fish River, from the rooms, to the food, to the people this place certainly ranks in my top 5 of all time. Yet it’s comfortable, understated and the staff make you feel like you are in someone’s home. Lodge Managers Tracey and Mal were awesome and lead a friendly and attentive team.

Game drives are on another level. The massive amount of land to be explored allows the Guides and Trackers to curate truly unique experiences. My Guide Triston (a highly skilled photographer) and Tracker Sibo made a great team and delivered some of the best game drives ever.

I spent 4 days here and could have easily spent another month. As I left, Triston joked that I should stay another week. If didn’t have another commitment, I would have. So instead, I shall just plan a return!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank TravelLikeGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews