We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

My partner and I visited Simbavati for 3 nights and what an experience!!! The staff were so helpful, food was spectacular (we even got pancakes on Shrove Tuesday!) and the game drives were all very special. Big thanks to Colin, Andrew, Joe & Derick who were with us from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble.
Only criticism would be that the wifi was a tad slow but who cares when you're so at peace with nature!!

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sami_B23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Dear Sami_B23

Thank you for the lovely review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your pancakes and the other food that we had on offer of course :)

It was our pleasure to provide you with an amazing safari experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
119
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Put "safari" on your bucket list, and go to Simbavati to do it. It is really the wildlife that makes the experience, and that is somewhat a matter of luck. We saw elephants, lions, buffalo, zebra, impala, water bucks and other antelope, and giraffes and so many birds. You may see more or less. But Simbavati Hilltop Lodge makes it a delight either way. Guide staff and house staff are all are both highly competent and very friendly. They pamper their guests.

We were first time safariers, but other guests were veterans. That is a very good sign for a lodge. Take malaria precautions and ignore all the other insects. Tell the staff what you want and you get it. Enjoy!

Tips: Simbavati Hilltop and River Lodges are sister properties. River is more popular for families. Hilltop is classier for couples. Game drives are the same. Free transfer from Hoedspruit airport is worth $100 each way, and Colin arranges it, and all other travel issues, with expertise. A three day stay is ideal.
Tents that are closest to the river take a lot of steps (I counted 98) to get to breakfast. That’s great exercise, but tell them if it is a problem for you.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Dear sambea

Thank you for the detailed review we really do appreciate it.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our thought behind the 98 steps is so that guests can work off all of our delicious food so that they can make space for more :)

Thank you for choosing to stay at our lodge and we hope you will come back and visit again.

Regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swift Current, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Did not know what to expect as this was our first time in Africa and on safari, however everything was beyond what we could have ever imagined. Our room was nice and large and had adequate air conditioning as it was 38 degrees C. We had a very accommodating butler, Aubrey, who looked after us very well. The meals were all fantastic and included a South African braii one night. Our game drives were amazing and we were able to see many different animals up close! Thanks to Joe and Humphrey for being such a great team to take us on each of these adventures. Everything there exceeded our expectations. I loved every minute of it, but what I really must tell you is how the staff goes above and beyond for their guests. We were to leave the day that a tropical cyclone was beginning to hit Hoedspruit and the flights were beginning to get cancelled as the weather deteriorated. We were eager to be on our way as we wanted to continue our vacation and not be stuck for several days in bad weather so Colin and the staff were right on top of it, figuring alternative ways for us to travel to get out of the path of the storm. Without their help, and how quickly they were able to organize things, we would have not been able to catch a different flight and avoid the cyclone. Thanks again to Colin and the rest of the staff for all that you did for us!!!

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Babysitter28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Dear Babysitter28

Thank you so much for the lovely review, it is greatly appreciated.

It was our pleasure to spoil you and provide you with an amazing safari filled with memories that will last you a lifetime.

We will pass on your thanks to the rest of the staff.

Please come back and visit us again.

Regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017

recently we had two night stay ,first time on safari,excellent place to stay
good accommodation ,outstanding service from all areas of the lodge,the African staff incredibly obliging from the butler Aubrey,to the guides and trackers who take us out at dawn and dusk ,that is really the must do experience, all the big 5 spotted up close and personal in our first 24 hours,hard to explain have to experience,just wonderful
Very hot ,would recommend highly
Only small negative we had all inclusive package,on arrival at Hodespruit airport our driver was nearly an hour late so we were hot and cranky when finally arriving at lodge.manager very apologetic and gave my wife complimentary spa but the whole game drive experience overshadowed any small problem
also did a walking experience with guide a must do
If anything lodge could improve quality of evening meals far from quality restaurant food but you are out in the Kruger
overall a wonderful experience and this lodge is a cracker
can't overstate how good the service from staff is and the safari experience

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidd125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2017
Dear davidd125

Thank you for the detailed review it is greatly appreciated.

We are thrilled to hear that you got to see the "Big 5" what an experience for your 1st safari.

It was our pleasure to be able to spoil you and treat you both to an unforgettable experience.

We hope you will come back and visit us again.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at this lovely spot. The accommodation is very nice with great views. Only downside is the separate tent for the bathroom. It was too hot, despite the overhead fan, to enjoy the beautiful bath with spectacular views. Also going to the bathroom during the night meant navigating the many insect population enroute .
However, on saying that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had Colbert as our guide and Derek our tracker. They are an incredibly team and completely made our stay.
Food was very nice, especially the evening spent at the Boma (outdoor BBQ).
We saw the big 5 during our stay.
The 360 bar is a great place to socialise with other guests to swap "sighting" stories. The small pool is also an added benefit.
Would recommend for sociable couples looking to see the big 5 in good accommodation.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank valDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2017
Dear valDubai

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge and especially our "Boma" dinner.

It is also awesome that you got to see the "Big 5" what an amazing experience!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is greatly appreciated.

We hope you will come back and visit us again.

Regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
36.4 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
5.6 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
679 reviews
1.0 km away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#9 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
364 reviews
14.6 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
241 reviews
18.1 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati Hilltop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati Hilltop Lodge

Property: Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Address: Mbali Farm, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price range (per night): R13 192 - R15 112
Hotel Class:5 star — Simbavati Hilltop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is pure African safari, and comprises of individual pavilion-style luxury tents, arranged to create a unique village feel. Enjoy magnificent views of the bush, the Nhlaralumi River and the distant foothills of the Drakensberg Mountain Range at our lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Simbavati Hilltop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing