We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Magical in Every Possible Way!"”
Review of Kings Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Where to begin! An experience at Kings Camp that exceeded every possible expectation - our first safari and our first time on the African Continent - and wow, did Kings Camp exceed in every way!

First and foremost for us - the animals! And we feel so fortunate and blessed that Cynet, our guide, and Sonny Boy, our tracker, were able to show us, at the closest of distances possible, the Magnificent Seven - the two lionesses on our final of six sunrise and sunset drives in the open Land Rovers (with blankets and "morning coffees" and "evening sundowners") on the wooded savannah, the graceful leopard, the threatening elephants, the mom and dad and baby rhinoceros grazing, two charging buffalo, and the rarely seen and endangered cheetah and African Wild Dog packs - on two occasions! For us, the highlight of our visit to South Africa!

Now let me tell you about the "truly six star" guest experience at "The Camp"! Our 1,000 sq. ft. + safari suite with patio and pool - where they served a surprise dinner for my birthday guy, and our favourite group of monkeys came early each morning to visit and play, the delicious breakfasts and lunches served on the dining room patio overlooking a watering hole that the elephants often frequented during meal time, the management and staff - so warm and engaging!

We made our decision to come to Kings Camp, amongst so many choices, solely on the basis of the TripAdvisor reviews and never have we been so pleased!

We will undertake the 25 hours of flying time to revisit Kings Camp - it is a truly joyful experience that replenishes the soul.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jdece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

WOW, your words stir emotions of extreme happiness in my team. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our home and very grateful for the very kind and complimentary words. Please stay in touch and please come and visit us again!
Warmest Regards
The Kings Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

All I will say is WOW! We had the BEST time here staying in the honeymoon suite. The staff are INCREDIBLE, the area is amazing, food, safari ventures, everything was INSANE! I have never been so upset to leave a place in all my life and will definitely return in the future. 100000% recommend :)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sofia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Sofia
It is reviews like yours that make our lives all so more special. My passionate team of staff thrive on making peoples dreams come true and we are always so delighted to read such wonderful reviews. Thank you so much
Kindest and warmest regards
Warren, Lisha and the Kings Camp family

SEE YOU SOOOON!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

What a fantastic experience Kings Camp was! The room was spectacular, the food was delicious, and the game drives were incredibly eye-opening. We saw the Big 5 several times over by our 3rd day, thanks to Don's (tracker) and Cynet's (guide) incredible skills and knowledge of the bush. The entire experience was quite surreal and made for the perfect honeymoon. We're already discussing coming back for an anniversary in the next few years.

Thanks to the extraordinary Kings Camp staff, and a very special thanks to Don and Cynet for their good eyes, their breadths of knowledge, and for always knowing where the animals would end up next.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Daniel
You are very kind with your review of your honeymoon stay at Kings Camp. It was our honor to have stay in our home. We wish you both many many years of happiness together. See you for your anniversary :)
Warmest Regards
Warren, Lisha and the Kings Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

As a first time visitor to a game lodge, we were not sure what to expect. We were absolutely blown away by our game trips and by the friendly and efficient service. The knowledge and skill of our guide and tracker was excellent. Grant the guide provided insights into everything that we saw.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Ken
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was our pleasure to take care of you at Kings Camp and hopefully we will meet again.
Take care
Warm regards
Warren and Lisha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Kings Camp Lodge in the Timbavati Game Reserve, South Africa, must be one of the best holiday destinations in the world! The experience from the time we stopped outside until we left can only be described as 'heavenly'. The Team of People who work at Kings Camp are 200% committed to Customer Service. They are all absolutely amazing and went so much more than the "extra mile" to ensure that our stay was out of this world and an experience we'll certainly never forget!

The Lodge itself is luxury personified and the attention to detail epitomizes what all businesses in the service industry worldwide should be striving to achieve! You can even choose what kind of pillow you want to sleep on...

Our Game Drives / Safaris were also magnificent! Our Guide, Vicky and Tracker, Albert made a formidable Team and left no stone unturned to show us as much as possible and we saw it all. We also learnt so much from both of them.

We'd like to sincerely thank Warren, Lisha, Vicky, Albert, Hennelie, Nicolene, Life, Kgotso, Yvonne, Gareth, Mike & Almero who really touched our hearts! Please forgive me if we've missed somebody.

We'd recommend that wherever you are in the world, put Kings Camp Lodge on your bucket list and make a plan to spend as much time as you can there.

God willing, we'll be back.

Many Thanks
Nicky & Alwyn

Room Tip: ANY of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bigpicphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dearest Alwyn and Nicky
If we can make peoples dreams come true, we have achieved our dream. Thank you for the very special and kind words you have shared on TA. It is always wonderful to have you visit us and we look forward to the reunion soon.
Warm Regards
The Kings Camp family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
33.0 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1 815 reviews
28.9 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
451 reviews
30.6 km away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#7 of 176 in Kruger National Park
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
716 reviews
2.7 km away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
450 reviews
10.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Camp

Address: Unkhulu Gate, Argyle Road, Kruger National Park 1218, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: R14 554 - R21 302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kings Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kings Camp reflects the charm and romance of a colonial past in a pristine corner of unspoilt Africa. Kings Camp is situated facing an open savanna plain with a waterhole, which is frequented by a wide variety of wildlife, day and night.Eleven generously spacious colonial suites are luxuriously equipped with air-conditioning, Victorian ball-and-claw bath, indoor and outdoor double shower, fully stocked mini-bar and private verandah. Dark tones of wood and thatch offset the natural colours of the bushveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kings Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing