We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Exprience of a Lifetime”
Review of Kings Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The lodge is beautiful and luxurious with every thoughtful detail. The staff is wonderful and caring. Our guide for the safari, Grant was amazing in his knowledge and enthusiasm for our seeing everything and up close and a true lover of the animals. He went out of his way to show us all. We ended up feeling that we were with special friends. The food was wonderful and inventive, considerate of our dietary needs even the massage treatment was special. This is the most amazing place ever. We felt it was a dream.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arltalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

We are blessed to meet such wonderful people like yourselves from all around the globe. Thank you for your kind words and lovely review of your stay at Kings Camp. Grant is indeed an exceptional guide with a wealth of knowledge.
Warm regards
Warren and Lisha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Wow! What a special few days at Kings Camp. The service delivery received at the Kings Camp exceeded all expectations. Our room was just amazing with a real 5 star feeling within Africa. Our game range was on point and showed us the big 5 within 48 hours of arriving at Kings.

The food was also yummy so good!

A trip which I will never forget.

Bookings were made through Seasons in Africa which were also amazing with helping me put together a trip of a life time.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Johan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Johan

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind words on TA. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
Kind Regards
Warren, Lisha and the Kings Camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We can't praise the team at Kings Camp highly enough. Our stay was just perfect: -The rooms were gorgeous, indeed fit for a king. We loved the outdoor shower which was especially lovely in the rain - hot shower in cold rain - delightful! And the plunge pool in mum and dad's lodge. Complete with friendly monkey, various birds and bushbuck visitors.

The food and wines were delicious and plentiful. We enjoyed have different dining venues, from formal dining room to a delightful outdoor courtyard with central fire cauldron. All staff were attentive, very pleasant and obviously enjoy and are proud of their workplace - a testament to good management!

The safari drives took us by surprise, our guide and tracker were so well informed and would not rest unless we had achieved what we set out to find. We really enjoyed having the same team with us every day - they felt like family and continued the twice a day adventure to a new location, sight, and so ensured we did not miss a thing and had the best view - thank you Cynet!! and Donald!!

We were fortunate enough to have a bush breakfast by the river bed and sun-downer drinks on the sand with traditional singing, dancing, drums and stars! - these memories will stay with us for ever.

Across all services the attention to detail was surprising, on valentines day every pillow was graced with a hand cut and folded heart shaped treat boxes! not to mention the delicious treats inside.

At every moment the management team had our best interests at front of mind, whether it be the count for numbers at a meal time, or the requirement of a medic for a high fever, or alternatives for transport. Thanks again to Warren and the team for everything.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suites have a private pool and decadent and private space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raely2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you, you are very kind and we are so happy that you loved your stay at Kings Camp. My team are very proud to read your review and we would love to see you back again someday.
Take care
Warm Regards
Warren, Lisha and the Kings Camp family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Well, what can i say? we have just returned after spending 3 nights at Kings Camp, the experience was incredible, the welcome we received when we arrived, our guides Almero & Sonny Boy were fantastic, they made sure we saw everything possible, their enthusiasm rubs off, the accommodation food & amenities were first class, all the staff in all areas were fantastic & helpful and couldn't do enough for you, cannot wait until we visit again, thank you Warren Lisha & team for the trip of a lifetime

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dearest John
We are so happy to read your review and wonderful words. Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. It was a pleasure to host you at Kings Camp and it would be wonderful to see you again at Kings Camp.
Warm regards
Warren, Lisha and the Kings Camp family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

This place is just perfect and there is nothing even a critic to say about it. All pf it is perfect, the service, the food, the environment, the rides in the wildlife with Vicky and Albert our team in the jeep, with small stops at sunset for a cold drink.
All the small attentions are well thought and so kind.
We were on our 20th anniversary me and my husband but what is for sure that we will be back with our kids!!

Room Tip: Room 5 with the terrace facing the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Deborah
It is so rewarding for us as a team to know that you loved your stay with us, THANK YOU! We would love to have you back with your kids very SOON!!
Please take care and warmest regards from the whole Kings Camp family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
33.0 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1 780 reviews
13.2 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
709 reviews
8.4 km away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
445 reviews
10.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
636 reviews
9.5 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Camp

Address: Unkhulu Gate, Argyle Road, Kruger National Park 1218, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: R14 542 - R21 666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kings Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kings Camp reflects the charm and romance of a colonial past in a pristine corner of unspoilt Africa. Kings Camp is situated facing an open savanna plain with a waterhole, which is frequented by a wide variety of wildlife, day and night.Eleven generously spacious colonial suites are luxuriously equipped with air-conditioning, Victorian ball-and-claw bath, indoor and outdoor double shower, fully stocked mini-bar and private verandah. Dark tones of wood and thatch offset the natural colours of the bushveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing