We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning! ”
Review of Kings Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

As a group of 8 we needed somewhere that could fit us all. We were luckily enough to come across the WaterBuck lodge at kings camp.
First impressions of Kings camp were fantastic, the moment we stepped off our plane we were in good hands. Our guide Al was there to great us and take us to our lodge.
The lodge was stunning, everything you could possibly want! Most importantly a fridge that keeps refilling itself.
Cristina, Lodik and chef Mike did a great job of looking after us in the lodge. They were always on hand if we needed anything or had any questions.
Mike was a fantastic chef and his meals never disappointed and was definitely something to look forward too. He also catered very well for one member of our group, who was lactose intolerant and always had a good alternative to the meals that contained dairy.
Every evening meal was better than that last and meals around the fire were really special.
Everyday was a completely new experience and we were never bored of things to do.
Even if 2 games were not enough You get extra bush walks, spa treatments or go to the gym (I didn’t) .
The drives themselves far exceeded my expectations ! It was not an issue seeing the big 5, we saw them all within 24 hours of landing.
Al and Sunny boy where great guides and always got us to anything we wanted to see. Al was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about his work.
It was such an amazing experience, we met some great people and have created some great memories. . We were treated like kings and it was difficult to adapt back to reality again. We miss everyone at Kings Camp very much and hope to return at some point in the future. Thank you to everyone who made it so memorable. Stephenson family

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Step2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Stephenson family
We are very grateful for the lovely words in your trip advisor review. Thank you so much!
I am very blessed to have such a great team of staff who are passionate about Kings Camp. It will be wonderful to have you return again in the future.
Warm Regards
Warren, Lisha and the Kings Camp family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016

Amazing hosts, facilities & an overall experience of a lifetime at Kings Camp! Thank you so much for your unbelievable hospitality! The Kings Camp Team genuinely care about the guests & go the extra mile. The Bush Dinner was truly special & Elmero was a Super Star as our Game Drive Guide. We saw it all & will certainly be back! Thank You.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigpicphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Dear Alwyn

Ir was our pleasure to have you visit. Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We look forward to your return visit soon!

Warm regards
Warren and Lisha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This is a terrific game camp. The rooms are amazing and so luxurious. We had a huge 'honeymoon' suite with an amazing plunge pool. The hotel service to the room was also amazing. They were so on top of refreshing our room. It was so big we would loose each other. The outdoor shower was such a treat and our deck and plunge pool were private enough for clothing optional sunbathing. A full mini bar that was always restocked and the most delicious sherry. I think I might have to start having it regularly for my health! The staff is lovely and the vibe is laid back. The tracker and guide we had ( Vicky and Albert) made our trip. Simply they were superb. So knowledgeable and took such good care of us. And we had fantastic game viewing, including wild dogs which we saw about 5 times. Unbelievable. Breakfast we amazing with a huge buffet and/or ordered main dishes. Lunch and dinner were a little more hit and miss, but we were never hungry!! A Great warm, friendly ambience that made the whole 4 days go by way too quickly. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I can't think that there is a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Thank you so much for such lovely words. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kings Camp. We appreciate your constructive feedback on the lunches and dinners and are always accessing our levels and quality of service.
Take care
Warm regards
Warren and Lisha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed five night at Kings Camp and we cannot put in words what an experience this was for us. We were two couples traveling together and had only read about the place and was aware of many very good reviews. However, we were absolutely blown away with the place, the staff and the rich animal life. From the moment they picked us up at the airport to the sad time we had to leave we were treated as family. The personal touch of everyone of the staff took us by surprise. Excellent service from beginning to the end.
Our ranger, Big Al, was so full of knowledge and love for his job so his excitement was rubbing of on all of us. He worked hard for us to be able to see all the different animals we got to see. Got to see all the Big Five (I believe 12-14 different lions) and even two encounter with wild dogs (on the brink of extinction) among other things.
Patricia and Hennely in the reception made our stay to be even better than we had deared to hope for. The special and private breakfast they arranged for us the last day will forever be an experience we will remember!
WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: We had room 4 and 5 and were able to sneak into each others terrace when needed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NordicPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

A BIG thank you for such a wonderful and special review! Al is a real gem at Kings Camp and i will pass on your kind words to him and the rest of the team.
Take care
Warm regards
The Kings Camp family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is a delightful safari destination in the Timbavati. The camp is in an ideal location for fantastic game viewing. The rooms are exceptionally large. I cant recommend anything to make it more comfortable. it's perfect as is.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, General Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Dear Chuck
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a lovely review. It was our pleasure to host you at our beautiful home, Kings Camp. Please keep in touch.
Warm regards
The Kings Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
33 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1 833 reviews
28,9 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
454 reviews
13,2 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30,6 km away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#25 of 176 in Kruger National Park
262 reviews
2,7 km away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
450 reviews
57,8 km away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Camp

Address: Unkhulu Gate, Argyle Road, Kruger National Park 1218, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: R14 666 - R21 544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kings Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kings Camp reflects the charm and romance of a colonial past in a pristine corner of unspoilt Africa. Kings Camp is situated facing an open savanna plain with a waterhole, which is frequented by a wide variety of wildlife, day and night.Eleven generously spacious colonial suites are luxuriously equipped with air-conditioning, Victorian ball-and-claw bath, indoor and outdoor double shower, fully stocked mini-bar and private verandah. Dark tones of wood and thatch offset the natural colours of the bushveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kings Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing