We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Tented Safari Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Meriden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Tented Safari Camp”
Reviewed 18 May 2015

We had a great experience at Tanda Tula (meaning love of the quiet). The tents were amazing. Large and comfortably appointed, extremely large bathrooms with amazing outdoor showers, porch, and a really comfy bed. I loved laying in bed at night, looking out at the trees. I really felt like I was in the wild, hearing the monkeys, hyenas, impalas and other animals in the night. The lodge was comfortable, the food good (I loved the breakfasts at the dry riverbed)and the staff very friendly (shout out to Dolly and Hayley!). We had the most amazing animal viewing! Our guide, Civilised, was the best! He was extremely knowledgeable, and you could tell he really respected the animals and that he still had a sense of wonder watching them. The highlight of our safari was coming upon a herd of Cape buffalos (there must have been 400 hundred of them...as far as the eye could see), watching a family of lions (lioness, lion and four cubs, finding the elusive white lion of Timbavati, and our night star watching. We always felt like we were in good hands.

  • Stayed May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
227
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Hats off to the entire staff at Tanda Tula Safari Camp. They know how to run a camp with the 6 AM Game Drive and the 4:00 PM Game Drive. Tracker Sam and Guide Dan are outstanding and we saw the Big 5 within 24 hours of arriving. Four couples in their late 60's or early 70's and we ALL agreed this was one of our finest vacations ever. Our compliments to Chef Ryan...his heart and soul are in his work and his creations for lunch and dinner are magnificent ! Of course let's not forget our dedicated bartenders , Harry and Smiling! Our four nights and game drives will be in our memory banks forever. Our Guide Dan was a wealth of knowledge and a very nice person to know. Thank you Rothschild Safaris in Denver, Colorado for arranging this wonderful vacation for our group of four couples.

  • Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lewrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2015

I cannot recommend Tanda Tula enough. They are the perfect balance between camping in the wild and civilization. The staff is welcoming, friendly and always willing to help. The grounds are very well kept and we loved walking from our "tent" to the lobby and seeing animals walking around minding their business. The food is AMAZING. Chef Ryan is a mastermind in the kitchen. He prepared gluten free options for me and always made sure I knew which things were GF and not. There is Wi-Fi in the lobby, but I chose to keep my phone turned off and enjoy 5 days of peace and quiet. I thoroughly enjoyed the pace during our stay; it was definitely the best, most relaxing vacation I've ever been on.

The guides and trackers are all fantastic. We really enjoyed watching them work. They are masters of their craft and know when to relax and let nature come to you instead of chasing them. We had Brendan as our guide, and I could not be happier with how our trip went.

I cannot wait to visit Tanda Tula again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Our 3 night stay at Tanda Tula was excellent from start to finish. Just enough attention to make you feel at home but not so much as to be overwhelming. We have been to a lot of safari lodges (I mean a LOT) and Tanda Tula remains a firm favourite. Accommodation is fabulous and of course the food and service was excellent, but it's the high quality of guiding that really stands out. Our guide Civilised and tracker Jack were keen to show us the smaller things as well as the Big 5 and they were almost more excited than us when we spotted a lone wild dog - a huge surprise to us all. That level of enthusiasm and interest really comes across and makes the whole experience very special indeed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is one room is near the main building that has a slope rather than steps so is ideal for anyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCTW2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2015

Our stay at Thanda Tula was absolutley amazing in every way. We stayed 3 nights as part of an incredible, unique, family holiday in South Africa, hand crafted specifically for us by Alex at www.extraordinary-africa.com ( who I would highly recommend). The location of Thanda Tula is perfect, overlooking a river bed on one side and a water hole on the other, adjacent to the swimming pool. The tented accomodation is superb, definitely high standard Glamping. The staff are attentive, friendly and fun making life at the lodge and on the fantastic game drives a real pleasure. And finally the 'piece de resittance' - fantastic food created and served by Ryan, their very talented chef who not only delighted my husband and I with every meal but also one vegetarian teenager and 2 fussy eating teenagers ! Just go there !

Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JanLawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
32.9 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1 661 reviews
14.6 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
677 reviews
11.4 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
361 reviews
9.2 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
605 reviews
3.9 km away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanda Tula Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanda Tula Safari Camp

Property: Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve | Limpopo, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price range (per night): R19 075 - R21 615
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanda Tula Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanda Tula Safari Camp in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve bordering the Kruger National Park, offers a five-star personal wilderness experience in ultimate luxury. Here, in your own private piece of Africa, you will come face to face with nature as it always was, with not a fence in sight to inhibit your freedom. Set on the banks of the Nharalumi riverbed, Tanda Tula is shaded by stately trees and overlooks a water hole that attracts a wide variety of game from dawn to dusk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tanda Tula Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanda Tula Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing