We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
522
29
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
522
29
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ryan safari camp game drives our honeymoon breakfast in the bush wild dogs moment you arrive morning drive water hole luxury tents on foot out of this world an unforgettable experience the reserve blown away once in a lifetime animal viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Our 3 night stay at Tanda Tula was excellent from start to finish. Just enough attention to make you feel at home but not so much as to be overwhelming. We have been to a lot of safari lodges (I mean a LOT) and Tanda Tula remains a firm favourite. Accommodation is fabulous and of course the food and service was excellent, but it's the high quality of guiding that really stands out. Our guide Civilised and tracker Jack were keen to show us the smaller things as well as the Big 5 and they were almost more excited than us when we spotted a lone wild dog - a huge surprise to us all. That level of enthusiasm and interest really comes across and makes the whole experience very special indeed. Highly recommended.

Room tip: There is one room is near the main building that has a slope rather than steps so is ideal for anyone who is not too steady on their pins.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCTW2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2015

Our stay at Thanda Tula was absolutley amazing in every way. We stayed 3 nights as part of an incredible, unique, family holiday in South Africa, hand crafted specifically for us by Alex at www.extraordinary-africa.com ( who I would highly recommend). The location of Thanda Tula is perfect, overlooking a river bed on one side and a water hole on the other, adjacent to the swimming pool. The tented accomodation is superb, definitely high standard Glamping. The staff are attentive, friendly and fun making life at the lodge and on the fantastic game drives a real pleasure. And finally the 'piece de resittance' - fantastic food created and served by Ryan, their very talented chef who not only delighted my husband and I with every meal but also one vegetarian teenager and 2 fussy eating teenagers ! Just go there !

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JanLawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2015

This was our first 2 nights of our family Safari holiday and we were welcomed in true bush hospitality with cold drinks and fresh hand towels. Our ranger Foremen and tracker Given were both very knowlegable and ensured were saw Big 5 and shared a lot of their knowledge with us. The bush breakfast and bush walk were welcomed extras that other lodges don't do. The remoteness of the location ensure that you feel you are in the bush yet all amenities and meals excellent! Meals were great and Ryan and his team even baked a birthday cake for a guest celebration. The water bottles given is a good move towards moving away from bottled water which is great. The resident Nyala, warthog and waterhole is Thanks to the team - we loved every minute of our stay!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VancityMafasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2015

If you are reading this you are thinking about visiting Tanda Tula, well stop thinking about it and book it, you will not be disappointed . They have got it just right and we have been to quite a few Safari Lodges before so I am happy to say we loved Tanda Tula. From the moment we arrived until we left 4 nights later we felt very happy and completely at home. The staff are FANTASTIC from the Rangers and Trackers ( Scotch & Patrick were amazing , thanks for the Wild Dogs ) right through to the kitchen staff, its an amazing team effort.The tents are very well equipped and comfortable, we were in tent 4 which is closest to the main area of the camp where the bar, lounge, restaurant area and pool were. Now this had good points and bad points to it. The good was we had Wifi in our tent and no one else had, the bad was that it could be a bit noisy at times. Luckily we had ear plugs with us so not too much of a problem for us but perhaps it might be an idea for ear plugs to be available in tent 4. The only other down side to tent 4 is that perhaps you miss out on the feeling of being out in the wild which most of the other tents will give you. However it is the only tent you can walk to and from unaccompanied by a ranger at night.
The food was great, it's not top restaurant quality ( if thats what you are looking for go to Franschhoek or Cape Town ) but it is lovingly prepared and delivered by the staff and it's really good tasty food. We enjoyed all our meals, the out door breakfasts are great fun.
The new Land Rover Vehicles were very comfy and the new 6 person per vehicle rule is a BIG bonus.
This is a top quality camp which really cares about what it is doing that is providing a great experience for less money than many others, as I said at the beginning just book it you will LOVE it.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Traveltimes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We had two nights at Tanda Tula at the end of a wonderful stay in South Africa. Tanda Tula is the most magical place I have ever stayed in thanks to its wonderful staff, glorious setting and stunning accommodation. Our game sightings were PHENOMENAL. I have been on many bushveld game drives and none of them compare to my time at Tanda Tula. Civilised, our tour guide, was incredibly knowledgable, a wonderful story teller and obviously very passionate about the animals and his job. The staff at Tanda Tula made our stay delightful. Smiling, the barman along with Ryan, the chef ensured we went home absolutely stuffed with delicious food and refreshing drinks. Our room was always spotless. The service was 5 star. Thank you to everyone at Tanda Tula who made our experience out of this world.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saffagirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews