We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
451
78
19
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
78
19
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family chalet game drives luxury tents main deck watch animals safari experience buffet style kruger park wild dogs timbavati reserve great safari an amazing experience private reserve outdoor shower watering hole spent nights every meal
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent , unexpected . Really nice location , great people working there , very good service from the moment you arrive to when you depart .
Very good game viewing , Rustic by luxury tents .
Really worth visiting

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank VincenzoN546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Our party of six spent three nights at the River Lodge and it was a hit and miss.

Overall
It worked well, we loved the game drives and saw lots of great game. They cater and take young kids so another huge plus. The service was fantastic and the staff really delivers. Well done.

However, the resort is tired and in need of an update. The rooms are sub par. The price adjusted experience not great. If you don’t have kids then their are many better alternatives. It’s a 3 1/2 stars but I defaulted to four because three would be unfair.

Some Excellent
The staff was fantastic. They worked to make you feel welcome, they try to service you and make it a memorable stay. The game guide and tracker worked to be informative and find you game. This was really the highlight of our stay and really the most important reason on why you do a safari.
They cater to families and do a nice job. If you have young kids, we had a 5yr old, they uncharge to a private vehicle. It’s expensive but I agree with the policy.

Some Good
The food was simple, limited in choice but quiet good. It’s below what I expected and at their price point. The wine list a little limited and should have been better.

Some Average
The rooms are old. They are in good shape but the family chalet is really just two bedrooms and a bathroom. Again, at their price point you expect a living or sitting room at a minimum.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Erich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

This place is awesome. The rooms are very nice, the main lodge is a great place to relax, and the staff is very helpful. A herd of 30 elephants walked right up to us while we were eating breakfast one morning, so cool! The highlight of the stay was our guide, Mbongeni, he was so friendly, knowledgeable, and fun. Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

What an amazing experience Simbavarti have us. The safari rides were wonderful, we saw everything we could have wished for. The guide very knowledgeable and passionate. All the staff at the lodge were wonderful, so welcoming and accommodating. The food was exceptional and plenty of it. Loved every minute. Would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Rooms were very clean and comfortable with WiFi, tea and coffee station, mini bar plenty USB plugs. Bathrooms had indoor and outdoor showers with top of the range amenities. The game drives were excellent and the guides very knowledgeable. All meals were superb, but what struck me most was the staff attention to the comfort of guests. The first Lodge ever visited where all the staff were smiling and went out of their way to assist with any request. Compliments to the Lodge Manager Elsabe

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as good
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank satourist2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews