We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of this world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simbavati River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

As a mother daughter travelling together Simbavati River Lodge was ideal for seeing the big 5 and so much more. To start our "deluxe tent" gave glamping a whole new meaning. So well appointed and clean and animals literally at your back door (or watching while you took an outside shower). The morning and afternoon safaris were amazing and we couldn't have asked for a better guide in Kyle and tracker in Daniel. Their knowledge of the animals and birds was outstanding not to mention the great driving skills exhibited when a lone Bull elephant got a bit grumpy whilst we were having morning tea and had to beat a hasty retreat
The staff at the lodge were outstanding Melody on the front desk so welcoming ,Bishop in the restaurant the happiest person ever, the girls in the spa,the barman poured the best gin and dry lemon EVERYONE was exceptional. Put this place on your bucket list.

Room Tip: Wild dog room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 908cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear 908cindy

Wow! Thank you for the many compliments it is greatly appreciated.

It was our pleasure to treat you both to an unforgettable safari which from your review shows that we exceeded your expectations.

We are passionate about what we do and when we hear it from the guests it really makes us happy to know that it does not go unnoticed and that it is appreciated.

We hope you will come back and visit us again.

Keep well, regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    68
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
169
161
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

- They can fetch you (you will pay for this service) from Nelspruit or Hoedspruit airport with a taxi if you want.
- The staff is doing only his work, their attitude are completely artificial ...
- Rooms are comfortable, but there is no chairs or table available, if I can be more precise, our family chalet was composed of two bedrooms and one bathroom with a roof on the top ...
- Wifi connectivity was very poor, even near the restaurant area
- The restaurant is a big problem for this type of very expensive lodge (river lodge) the breakfast was very poor with the same choice every day
- There is a big difference between eating in the "boma" every two days (plenty of bugs on the table near the spotlight) and eating in the restaurant area, in the boma the food is correct, in the restaurant the food is a nightmare, but they have the same chef .... So I do not understand this huge difference. Guides seems to be force to eat with customers when there is the boma, they do not enjoy it, this is boring for both side.
- Concerning the guide, this is like gambling, you are lucky or not, there is a huge knowledge difference between them, but they have all the same problem, to much radio (communication) because of this, they have forgotten their jobs, means looking for animals or flora and they are always looking for their clock, have to be back for 8.30AM ... Business is business.

Safari seems to change in South Africa, this is becoming to commercial, it is perhaps time to see in other African countries ....

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThierryIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Maketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear ThierryIT

On behalf of the lodge I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations during your stay at our lodge.

It saddens us to hear that you were not happy as all our staff proud themselves on their service.

We do however value your feedback. I have sent your review to the Managers at the lodge so that they can look into all your points mentioned so that we can work on all valid areas that require improvement.

Safari's in South Africa are always a lovely experience no matter which lodge you stay at and hopefully you will give another lodge a chance or come back to one of our lodges before trying another African destination.

Keep well and may 2017 bring you amazing holiday getaways.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed here for two nights with our kids, 9 and 12, it was the biggest spend we making in our three week trip and that always puts pressure on the hotel to deliver.
From the moment we were greeted to the time we left I never once questioned the cost and value of this place.
Our family room (Elephant) was perfect the kids had a room to themselves and we all shared a magnificent bathroom.
The game drives started early after a quick coffee and snack and we were very fortunate in the amount we saw on our two days. Our ranger and guide were great (Kyle and Humphry) informative fun and diligent. They both went out of their way to get us to see as much as possible. The little stops for a snack in the morning and evening drives gave the bums a rest from the off road action. Coming home to a cool drink and a face towel after each drive was a pleasure!
Between drives the camps provision of entertainment for the kids was superb. Kyle had the kids doing archery and there were plenty of games and of course the pool to entertain them.
Food was good and WAY too plentiful!!! I left feeling like I needed to go on a diet for the next week!!
All the staff were great, very attentive, very cheerful and would do anything to help.

I loved this place as did my family and would have no hesitation recommending to anyone who fancies a little bit of magic on their holiday.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Ivan L

Thank you for the lovely detailed review. It was our pleasure to treat your family to a magical safari experience.

We hope your kids will remember their stay forever and that we have created future game rangers.

We appreciate you recommending our lodge it really means a lot to us.

We hope you will all come and visit us again.

Keep well and wishing you all the best for 2017.

Regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Wonderful stay at the lodge. The staff were great. Made six game rides and saw a lot of animals. Leopard, buffalo, giraffes, elephants, rhino and a lot more. We also took a bush walk and learned a lot. Can absolutely recommend the river lodge.

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Jessica M

Thank you for the review and for recommending our lodge we really do appreciate it.

Please come back and visit us again!

Wishing you all the best for 2017.

Regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

My family and I, a total of 18 of us, visited Simbavati during our trip to Kruger for 3 days. The staff at the lodge were the most humble and accommodating people I've met in the hospitality industry. We had kids in the group and the staff were so willing to accommodate all of their requests. The group also had a certain meal type and taste preference which the lodge so kindly obliged. Steaf and Kyle were the most amazing game drive masters along with Daniel our tracker. They made sure we had an amazing game drive and managed to show us every one of the Big5 animals along with other wildlife in Timbavati. They were extremely humble folks and really took their time to explain the intricacies of the safari. Beds and amenities at the lodge were top notch. WiFi was a little slow but that's alright considering there is so much to do within the area itself. Best decision indeed to choose this lodge as our safari partner. In a nutshell, amazing staff, amazing rangers and trackers, superb vehicles and a really fun experience.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nyp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Nyp91

Wow! Thank you some much for the detailed review we really do appreciate it!

It was our pleasure to make sure that you had a memorable safari experience and thank you for choosing to stay at our lodge.

We are glad you got to see the big 5 during your stay with us as it is truly a lovely thing to tick off on your to see list.

Please come back and visit us again and we wish you all the best for 2017.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
0.9 km away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
18.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
5.1 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
8.1 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
9.7 km away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Property: Simbavati River Lodge
Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price range (per night): R9 543 - R13 847
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing