We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Africa vacation with the family ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“South Africa vacation with the family ”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Wonderful stay at the lodge. The staff were great. Made six game rides and saw a lot of animals. Leopard, buffalo, giraffes, elephants, rhino and a lot more. We also took a bush walk and learned a lot. Can absolutely recommend the river lodge.

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Jessica M

Thank you for the review and for recommending our lodge we really do appreciate it.

Please come back and visit us again!

Wishing you all the best for 2017.

Regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    73
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
180
171
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

My family and I, a total of 18 of us, visited Simbavati during our trip to Kruger for 3 days. The staff at the lodge were the most humble and accommodating people I've met in the hospitality industry. We had kids in the group and the staff were so willing to accommodate all of their requests. The group also had a certain meal type and taste preference which the lodge so kindly obliged. Steaf and Kyle were the most amazing game drive masters along with Daniel our tracker. They made sure we had an amazing game drive and managed to show us every one of the Big5 animals along with other wildlife in Timbavati. They were extremely humble folks and really took their time to explain the intricacies of the safari. Beds and amenities at the lodge were top notch. WiFi was a little slow but that's alright considering there is so much to do within the area itself. Best decision indeed to choose this lodge as our safari partner. In a nutshell, amazing staff, amazing rangers and trackers, superb vehicles and a really fun experience.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nyp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Nyp91

Wow! Thank you some much for the detailed review we really do appreciate it!

It was our pleasure to make sure that you had a memorable safari experience and thank you for choosing to stay at our lodge.

We are glad you got to see the big 5 during your stay with us as it is truly a lovely thing to tick off on your to see list.

Please come back and visit us again and we wish you all the best for 2017.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavsberg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Simavati lodge for 2 nights in December 2016 together with 17 friends that were on a bike trip.

The place was lovely, quiet, calm and surrounded by animals. You had to have a staff member with you when walking to and from your room after sunset, because the animals walked close by. We saw loads of animals on the safaris and managed to tick off the Big Five.
The food was great and the staff were lovely. I really recommend Simbavati lodge!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Nina H

Compliments of the season to you. We wish that all your travel dreams come true in 2017.

Thank you for taking the tine to write a review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our lodge and thrilled to hear that you got to enjoy the sightings of the Big 5.

Please do come back and visit us again.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1 604 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Some of the rooms were still in the process of being renovated and some were partially completed. It should be nice once the entire renovation is done. The food was ok but not great. The service was fantastic particularly by Bishop, the Butler. The activities were repetitive and not diverse. There were only Game drives and a walk offered. Unless you spent money on the spa. The thing that bothered us the most was the managers attitudes toward the servers, reception, cooks, and trackers. We felt that they were kept fairly separate from the guests unlike the experience we had in Namibia and Botswana where we did not feel a "personnel or social divide and harshness." I also have to say that the resort tried to correct our concerns over the renovations and the fact that "fully inclusive" meant wildlife drives and food and room but no drinks except those offered on drives in the morning and afternoon. They also had a lovely final send off decorating our room with potpourri and a bottle of champagne. We shared the bottle with the other guests and the staff that could have a taste.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 December 2016
Dear Joel K

Thank you for your review and feedback it is appreciated.

I am sorry to hear that we did not reach your expectations during your stay at our lodge. I have sent your review to our Directors so that they can look into your comments and so that they can take action where it is required.

We hope that you will come and stay at our lodge again so that we can provide you with a memorable safari that will exceed your expectations.

Wishing you a lovely festive season spent with your family friends and all the best for 2017.

Kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Thank you Simbavati and all the fabulous staff for a trip of the life time.

Clement, Tabo, Melody, Jeffrey, Kruger, Stephan were all friendly and made things enjoyable. We were very impressed by the cleanliness and he ambience of the place. The rangers and the trackers were knowledgeable and the servos staff were outstanding.

Thank you.

Can't add much more..

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
It was our pleasure to treat you to a trip of a life time.

We will pass on your compliments to all of our staff, they will be thrilled to hear that they provided you with outstanding service.

We hope you will come back and visit again!

Thank you for the review.

Regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.1 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
679 reviews
1.0 km away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
199 reviews
18.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
242 reviews
8.1 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
364 reviews
9.7 km away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Property: Simbavati River Lodge
Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price range (per night): R10 170 - R13 931
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing