We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable”
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We really enjoyed our two days here before moving up the hill to Hill Top Lodge for a further two days. Hill Top is a little more up market but River Lodge couldn't be faulted. The accommodation overlooking the river bed was first rate, the food very good, the game drives exciting with Shaddy and Nicholas trying their best to find game although it was very dry and at times the game was hard to find. Steff and the rest of the staff were excellent. I have no hesitation in recommending River Lodge

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Dear SydneyBirdie

Thank you for writing a review for both of our lodges. We are glad you got to experience both of them and that you found the service and lodges both enjoyable.

We also appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Keep well, regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    73
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
180
170
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bargstedt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Very luxurious lodge with extreme nice staff.
This is the place to be, when you travel to a game lodg.
Food is excellent. All very comfortable and you feel so welcome.
Go there, when you want a real Sout African bush experience.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drcoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Dear drcoelle

Thank you for the huge compliment! "Go there, when you want a real South African bush experience." We love this! We work so hard to provide our guests with an unforgettable bush experience and you have confirmed that we have gotten it right!

Your review is appreciated and we hope you will come back and visit us again.

Regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We are a family of 5 - my wife, kids (8, 10 and 12) and me.
The Lodge - the lodge was great and the food was nice. We had two fussy eaters, and the chefs made sure they were looked after. Its great value for money, though not the high luxury compared to some of the Sabi Sands lodges.
The staff were the highlight for us. Stef was running the place, and he and Roy made every effort to ensure we were well looked after and catered for. We had Shaddy as a guide, Nicholas as a tracker and Ralph as a host. All were excellent. Shaddy was the highlight of our holiday. He is great at his job and connected really well with all the kids. He made it exciting and fun. Our kids enjoyed this part of the trip more than sabi sands, notwithstanding that the Timbavati are was much more dry and game viewing was not as good.
We were there for 4 days and had great viewing - we saw a leopard with its kill up a tree, wild dogs, rhino, hippos, buffalo, zebra, and hyenas feeding. We a couple of lions, but would have loved to have seen more. Apparently, we missed a larger pride by a day or two.
Overview - the lodge and staff were awesome. The game viewing was not as good as sabi sands due to it being drier, but we would go back to Simbavati in a heartbeat.It was also great value for money.
Thanks for the memories Shaddy and co.

Room Tip: The tents and rooms are both good. Ones with view over river or waterhole would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Dear Dale G

Thank you for bringing your family to our lodge. We are thrilled they had a great time especially the kids. Hopefully their stay will turn them into future game rangers?

Your game drives sound stunning, wish I was their to view them with you.

We will pass on your compliments to the team - they will love your feedback.

We appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming back your family to our lodge.

Keep well, regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

At least once a year my wife and i like to get away from it all and go to the Kruger Park whether it be in the government side or the private reserves. This time we decided to get the bigger wallet out and go private. We have not been to Timbavati before and decided on Simbavati river reserve. After a 7 hour journey from Johannesburg by car we arrived at the reserve. After a drink and information by staff we were shown to our "tent". Not the boy scout type but something that accommodates a king size bed a toilet and shower (inside and out). It was the last one and furthest away from the main building and was overlooking a bush! We expected to be overlooking the river bed so this was a disappointment. The better half put her foot down with management and we were moved to one that was overlooking the river bed. I should point out that the river is dry and has been for some years and unless there is some type of biblical flood is likely to stay that way. The main restaurant and bar area overlook the river bed and directly in front of this is a water hole for hopefully animals to use while you are there. We unpacked and went to get some lunch and a beer before heading out on the first of the game drives. Lunch was not so great if I'm honest. Off then to the first of the game drives. You will be on an open land-rover with others and a guide and tracker. You are pretty much guaranteed to see game as the guides are in touch with each other, even from different lodges, and this being the case with us. We saw all the main characters with the exception of Rhino. I hope it was not a taste of the effects of poaching. The park was very dry having not had rain for about 7 months and non on the way. Toward the end of the drive you get to stop and stretch your legs and have a gin an tonic or whatever and chat with the other passengers. Ours came from the Netherlands and Germany and were good company. Time for a shower and then on to dinner. Hopefully it would be better than lunch. There is no menu so the staff tell you what is on offer. This was a case of "Chicken or Kudu?" I asked what it came with but my waiter didn't know so we opted for Kudu a type of buck. It was seriously overcooked and consequently well tough. Pudding was jelly and a canned peach and something indescribable in a shot glass. Probably the worst sweet I have had anywhere! Off to bed and aware that you are going to get a wake up at 05.30.
and then off on another game drive after a quick cup of coffee.
Back for breakfast after this and what was the best of the meals. I found myself filling up on breakfast as the meals at other times didn't improve. We managed to get a spa treatment during our 2 night stay and was very good.
The highlight of the evenings was a braai under the stars in the middle of the bush somewhere straight after a game drive. There was a big fire to sit round and the smells of the barbecue. Better than the other meals I should point out. This was our last day here and now off to the Hilltop lodge. I won't review this as one day is not really enough but suffice to say that the "tents" are very much bigger and also have a bath. Food here also of the same standard!
So to sum up then not much to complain about if you discount the food and make sure you ask for a tent overlooking the riverbed. I won't be back though unless something drastic changes re the quality of the food. 2 star fare in a 4 star lodge!

Room Tip: ask for a tent overlooking the river bed or you will have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Dear jerryban

Thank you for your detailed review it is greatly appreciated. I am sorry you felt that our lodge did not meet your expectations.

The Nharalumi river in front of the lodge is a seasonal river and mainly flows in the rainy season. It is unfortunate that South Africa is experiencing a drought at the moment so everything is dry and this is impacting the environment. That is one of the main reasons why we built the waterhole. To provide water for the animals which in turn provides our guests with great sighting opportunities.

I have passed on your review to Management so that they are aware that you were not happy with the meals that we provided. We value constructive criticism and we will definitely look into this matter. We pride ourselves on our service and quality of our meals and want to ensure that our standards exceed our guests expectations at all times.

We do hope that one day you will give us an opportunity to change your perceptions of our lodge by visiting us again.

Regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We were two parents and a teenage child who spent 3 nights at the River Lodge. Our stay was fantastic and exceeded our expectations by far. Accomodation was very nice in a hut with two separate double rooms and balcony overlooking the now dried out river and all the animal life passing by. Food and service was excellent and very friendly throughout, from the moment we arrived until we had to leave. Staff were fantastic in all aspects. Our guide and tracker were truly excellent and gave us unforgettable game experiences, by no means limited to the Big Five. We were also able to see a hyena pack with young, African wild dogs, rhino with baby and elephant herds with young babies. Absolutely unconditionally recommended!

Room Tip: Try staying in one of the tent huts (airconditioned) if you don't mind the nightly sounds of ani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgjestvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Dear bgjestvang

Thank you for recommending our lodge, we really appreciate it!

We are glad to hear that your family had an enjoyable stay with us, that you love your accommodation, food and our service and your game drives. You all had some pretty amazing sightings.

We hope you will come back and visit us again.

Keep well, regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
36.8 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
5.1 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
677 reviews
1.0 km away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
605 reviews
8.1 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
359 reviews
14.5 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Property: Simbavati River Lodge
Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price range (per night): R8 160 - R13 339
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing