We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simbavati River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
421
77
20
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
77
20
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily chaletluxury tentsgame driveswalked rightmain deckwatch animalssafari experiencetimbavati reservebuffet stylekruger parkwild dogsgreat safarian amazing experiencethe managerssabi sandsexceeded our expectationsoutdoor shower
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We were two parents and a teenage child who spent 3 nights at the River Lodge. Our stay was fantastic and exceeded our expectations by far. Accomodation was very nice in a hut with two separate double rooms and balcony overlooking the now dried out river and all the animal life passing by. Food and service was excellent and very friendly throughout, from the moment we arrived until we had to leave. Staff were fantastic in all aspects. Our guide and tracker were truly excellent and gave us unforgettable game experiences, by no means limited to the Big Five. We were also able to see a hyena pack with young, African wild dogs, rhino with baby and elephant herds with young babies. Absolutely unconditionally recommended!

Room Tip: Try staying in one of the tent huts (airconditioned) if you don't mind the nightly sounds of animals moving right up to your hut.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bgjestvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear bgjestvang

Thank you for recommending our lodge, we really appreciate it!

We are glad to hear that your family had an enjoyable stay with us, that you love your accommodation, food and our service and your game drives. You all had some pretty amazing sightings.

We hope you will come back and visit us again.

Keep well, regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

My wife and I spent 5 days at the Simbavati river lodge on the first week of October 2016, and we had a really amazing stay there which exceeded even what we hoped to have.

I'll start with the entire staff being very kind, honestly willing to do everything for the guests pleasure and always with a smile. This starts with the person in charge of email correspondence and to the last cleaner.

We had a quick and pleasant pick up from Hoedspruit airport and arrived about 1 hour later to the river lodge, which is a beautiful place. After a warm welcome,
we attended our luxury tent, which was indeed luxurious; AC, warming bed, indoor and outdoor showers, everything looking very nice and well designed.
The lodge is not fenced, which means you get to see all sorts of animals in and around the lodge. baboons, antelopes and such are very common. hogs and elephants often come drinking from the water hole right in front of the porch where guests dine, and many other.

Regarding the game drives - we booked up in advance a photography safari, which means we were only 4 photographer in a special vehicle with swivel chairs and the works - awesome experience and awesome guides. This is operated by Africa Photography Services and I highly recommend it! worth any dime. my wife wasn't a photographer but tagged along.

We were lucky to see lions, leopards, wild dogs, hyenas, wild dogs fight hyenas, rhinos, hyenas fighting rhinos, crocs, honey badgers, elephants, giraffes, zebras, vultures, scorpions and what not.. perhaps luck is a part of it, but also having a great guide and a great photography guide who knows where and when to do what.
All the guides are very nice, very informative and one should take advantage and learn as much as possible from their knowledge and experience of the area.
The bush walks are also very interesting!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the river
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amitliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear amitliber

We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing photography safari with us. Hopefully your wife enjoyed it as much as you? We would love to see the photos that you took.

We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations, it was our pleasure to give you an unforgettable safari.

Thank you for the detailed review, it is greatly appreciated.

We hope you will both come back and visit us again.

Regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights , Lodge was very well sign posted and easy find , upon arrival we were greeted with a cool drink and a brief introduction to facilities , accommodation was comfortable and contained all the expected trimmings , you are given an early morning wake up call at 5:30 for a 6 o'clock game drive, coffee, tea, and fruit are provided before heading off , The Ranger and tracker are in touch via radio with all other vehicles is the area so knowledge of sitings and animal locations is shared . We were lucky enough to see Wild Dogs , Leopards ,Hyena, Rhino , & Buffalo , Kyle and Daniel (our tracker and ranger ) were very knowledgeable and had most of the answers to the questions that were asked .
Breakfast was served after morning game drive at 9 , there was cereals,toast ,fruit ,yoghurt and hot breakfast , lunch was a Buffett style with an assortment of salads lasagna quiches etc
Dinner is an entree , and a choice of 2 mains , and also dessert , Dinner on the first night was lovely , after that the meals seemed to deteriorate 2nd night was a braai (BBQ ) , and not sure what happened on the last night but dessert consisted of packet jelly that had been frozen , half a canned apricot and a slush that was called a sorbet ( it was unlike any sorbet I have ever eaten ) it was rather unpleasant , and for a lodge of this caliber we were rather disappointed ,
If meals were of a more consistent standard would Lodge would be 5 star ,

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

There were 5 of us, mother, father, grown daughter and two grandsons, 7,9. We had a great time!! The accomadatioms were very good, food was good, staff very pleasant and helpful and our tracker and guide excellent. We had 4 very successful drives. The staff was especially accommodating to our grandkids. We saw all of the big 5 and many others. We found based on many conversations on our trip that these private game reserves in Greater Kruger allow you to see many more animals and much closer up as compared to the Kruger park itself.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank donandbobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear donandbobbi

We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay at our lodge.
Hopefully we have created future game rangers out of your grand children :)

We offer the best game drives if I do say so myself. Our staff are very knowledgeable and our trackers are the best at finding all that nature has to offer.

We hope you will come and visit us again.

Keep well, regards Nadine

Regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at the Sumbavari River Lodge in November 2015. Everything from our first welcome, the staff, the food, the safari drives and our accommodations were excellent. You are right in the park with no barriers and as a result we had breakfast with monkeys, and a group of elephants stopped by for a drink of water one morning while we ate. Our safari guide Stephen was awesome. You could really tell that he was passionate about the park, the animals in it and his job which was to educate guests and find animals in their natural habitat. We saw all of the big five plus two leopards, lion cubs, a rhino and her baby, large groups of elephants and many more animals. I would recommend this lodge to anyone and think it is 100% great value for your money. You will not be disappointed if you stay here!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShandaRoslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Matketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear ShandaRoslyn

Thank you for the lovely review and recommendation.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge.

Our staff are definitely passionate about what they do as you saw and they are one of the many reasons why our guests enjoy their stay at our lodge.

Thank you for letting us be part of your memorable safari experience.

We hope you will come back and visit us again.

Regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews