We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Georgina G
Barcelona, Spain

Best Bush Experience

Review of Monwana Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Oct 2023
One of the most spectacular Bush Lodge experiences of all time. The attention to detail down to personalised menus and how many coffee shots you like in your morning coffee was next level. The food was delicious and we can be quite fussy.
I highly recommend the lodge. The rooms and facilities are roomy and immaculate. The staff incredibly friendly and helpful and the whole experience was outstanding. Our game ranger Almero is called the leopard whisperer for a reason. Ben and him make the best team and ensured we got to see the big 5. We loved our game drives and appreciated all their efforts as well as the hot water bottles for the early morning drives. Thank you to the all the staff and especially Sydney, Jarryd, Angela, Daniel, Nicole, Almero and Ben for taking such great care of us! We were sorry to go home!
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jarryd Chapman, General Manager at Monwana Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 04 Dec 2023
Dear Georgina G,

Thank you for your beautiful review - we truly enjoyed every minute with you all. We look forward to welcoming you back to your African "home" in the near future.

Your Monwana Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 41 911
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
2.9 km from Monwana Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
4.3 km from Monwana Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.4 km from Monwana Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
9.9 km from Monwana Lodge
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Pool and Bar Area
R 3 850
R 2 520
  • Priceline
    R 3 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 850
  • eDreams
    R 2 520
12.8 km from Monwana Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 361
  • Booking.com
10.4 km from Monwana Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
337
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
337
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole game drives south africa huge bathroom thought of everything water hole wonderful experience little things the reserve fantastic stay highest quality their natural habitat home away from home wild dogs three days all sorts kruger park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2023

Besides the incredible game viewing, the luxurious suites where every touch and comfort has been considered and the elevated food experiences the team on the ground is what really makes a stay at Monwana special.

The waterhole on front of camp is also very active and we had a lovely herd of elephants enjoying the water during lunch.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jonty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jarryd Chapman, General Manager at Monwana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Dear iJontyM,

Thank you for highlighting something that is so special to us, our team - we will be sure to pass this feedback onto them.

We look forward to having you through our doors in the future.

The Monwana Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023 via mobile

This resort and the staff are AMAZING. From Jaryed and Angela to Colin and Benny we were absolutely blown away. There were so many more and I don’t want to forget anyone that made our experience so perfect. Natalie the chef and her staff were top notch with every dish tasting delicious and the presentation was second to none. Hudson our butler was funny, helpful, accommodating and on top of his game. Coming from the hospitality industry I do believe I know good service, his service was great. The accommodation are stunning and I kept on saying to my wife “they don’t miss a beat”.
If you’re looking for a life changing experience go no further, you will find no better.
The game drives were different each and everyday. That’s not even the best part….Colin and Benny made every drive better than the previous day. Colin’s personality is perfect for this and his young energy takes the drive to another level. They don’t just drive, they track and communicate all along the way with great information that made our drives so much better. Quite a few times Benny got out of our vehicle tracking footprints. Every question we had were answered FULLY so we walked away with not only the memories and pictures but knowledge as well.
There is no better feeling when you go on a trip and want to go back quickly. We will be back and can only hope for the experience that we had at Monwana. We thank and love you all for making our trip the best one ever !!!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Flyer28941614685
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jarryd Chapman, General Manager at Monwana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Dear Corey & Debs,

Thank you for your kind words, we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of having you with us at Monwana. Colin & Bennie on safari are something special and along with the other team members highlighted I will be sure to share this feedback with them.
We look forward to welcoming you back "home" soonest.

Your Monwana Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2023 via mobile

Stunningly renovated with the most beautiful rooms! The attention to detail is commendable! Everything is absolutely wonderful!

Being avid safari travellers I can certainly say this is one of the best lodges we have ever stayed at.

The rooms are spacious with a large private heated plunge pool overlooking a active waterhole.

The staff is truly amazing and we felt right at home!

Our guide, Daniel, and our tracker was extremely informative and very friendly! I do not think there can be better!

The food and dining experiences created was surreal!

We can not wait to be back very soon!!

Room tip: Stay longer than two nights
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jovanb792
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jarryd Chapman, General Manager at Monwana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Dear Jovanb792,

We are overjoyed you had such a special time with us at Monwana - will be sure to let Daniel & team know the feedback.

Trusting we get to welcome you "home" once again.

Your Monwana Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2023 via mobile

We can’t believe it’s already more than 6 months since we stayed at the magnificent Monwana lodge. It was the first stop on our 3 week honeymoon (we stayed for 4 nights in mid December) and it’s fair to say we peaked very early - it was hands down the most incredible start to our trip we could have ever hoped for!

From the moment we arrived (very late due to a flight delay - but they still made us a superb dinner!) everyone at Monwana made us feel completely at home. The food and drink were superb, the accommodation and main lodge impeccably designed and furnished, and everyone we encountered throughout our stay quickly felt like family (so much so, we shed a few tears when we had to leave!).

We have to give a special mention to our guide Daniel and tracker Fanoti. We were lucky enough to have them to ourselves for all our game drives and had the most incredible experiences - we saw all of the Big 5 on the first day! (We’re told that is very unusual and so we felt very lucky - some of the animal encounters we had throughout our game drives were just unforgettable!). Daniel also kindly took us out on 2 walking safaris, and made sure to meet us for a drink in the bar before dinner each night; extra special touches we didn’t expect to receive.

Everyone made such an effort to make our honeymoon special and memorable. The icing on the cake was on our final evening when returning from our game drive we were taken to a private area, up in the trees, where they’d arranged a candlelit dinner just for us. Our waiter Hudson was superb throughout our stay but this was an extra special way to finish it off. The owners were staying at the same time as us and made us feel like part of the family - thank you so much.

We travel a lot and have stayed in some fantastic hotels around the world, but Monwana is hands down the most special place we’ve ever stayed. Please don’t change a thing! The staff really do make all the difference and we would absolutely love to return one day if we are lucky enough.

Allan & Lucy xx

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Escape46215895338
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jarryd Chapman, General Manager at Monwana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Dear Allan & Lucy,

Thank you for your heartfelt words and sharing your experience. Our staff are our treasure, we really strive to make this feel like home and are delighted you felt that aspect of family. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future and to see those familiar faces again.

Your Monwana Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2023

We had a great time with friends and visited Monwana for 3 nights.

Monwana was rebuilt around 6 months ago, and the lodge and rooms are stunning with high quality finishes. The central lodge is spacious, with plenty of inside and outside places to relax. The bar is very central and the wine cellar below. The view is over a water hole where were regularly saw game come to drink. The heated (in winter) communal pool is off to the one side. We loved our room which is spacious and well appointed. Wonderful to have a luggage room so that the bedroom remains uncluttered. Two desks for those that need to work while away. Plenty of plug points to keep everyone happy. Outside is a (in winter) heated pool and we had a slight view of the water hole. A double shower inside and another outside, plus a bath, and two basins made for a comfortable stay.

The game vehicles are designed for a maximum of 6 guests with a large box between each row of seats. Wonderful to see they were empty except for a set of binoculars for your use and a pen and paper. Most lodges fill these with ponchos which Monwana keeps under the from row of seats. A double usb point for each row of seats was welcomed.

We had Almero as our guide and Nic as our tracker. Both were exceptional and freely imparted their knowledge which us. Being quite keen birders, they helped us to compile an impressive list for our stay. We enjoyed some great sightings and really enjoyed their company. Thanks too for keeping our water bottles full.

Our butler was Hudson, who was always keen to help us with a friendly smile and ready laugh. We wanted to bring him home with us.

The guest team were wonderful and saw to any needs not met by our guide and butler. Jess was there to welcome us and show us to our rooms. Nicole took over for the weekend and Sarené was always on hand.

A special part of our stay was when Colin took us for a back of house tour. We were particularly interested in how the lodge dealt with power, water, refuse and staff. We were not disappointed. An exceptionally professional set up and you should not miss this tour. Definitely the best back of house set up we have seen.

Our food was fresh and very tasty and the variety was great. We had dinner on the deck between two fires on our first night, opposite the bar with a roaring fire the second night, and in the cellar on our third night. We had a wonderful bush breakfast surprise on our last morning.

There is a lovely spa and the treatments were super.

One of the best lodges we have visited and we would highly recommend Monwana.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jarryd Chapman, General Manager at Monwana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Dear LesP816,

We are so glad you enjoyed your three nights with us at Monwana - we will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Agreed, the Back of house is truly something remarkable, we love being able to take our guests on a tour. We are eagerly awaiting your return to your bush "home".

Your Monwana Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews