We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janet I
Leeds, United Kingdom

An amazing small lodge with a big heart

Review of Siviti
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2023
Siviti is a small, intimate lodge with only 6 rooms, maximum 12 guests at any time. We had lodge 6 which was fabulous, on entering to the right there was a large sitting area with bifold windows allowing a perfect view of the bush, and the baboons who frequented the area. On the left was a giant bed with mosquito nets leading to the bathroom and outdoor/indoor shower. The room was beautifully maintained throughout our stay. Our plunge pool was almost a swimming pool. Whilst this is a small lodge it is equally as good as larger lodges we have stayed at. The chefs produced wonderful food - fillet steak cooked to perfection - and a wonderful array of cold plates along with a selection of cooked food for breakfast. Game drives were excellent. Our guide, Leo, and tracker Tship, were brilliant, we had seven sightings of leopards along with the other 'big five'. Leo was incredibly knowledgeable, charming and funny. Tship made the best bush mix at morning coffee and great G&Ts for sundowners. We even had an elephant join us next to the balcony where we were having pre-dinner drinks one evening. All of the staff were lovely, especially Peter, our butler, who looked after us so well. Definitely a lodge well worth a visit.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Siviti
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
10.5 km from Siviti
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
6.3 km from Siviti
Free parking
Pool
R 101 668
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Siviti
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 45 327
  • Expedia.com
    R 46 947
0.0 km from Siviti
R 2 946
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 946
4.4 km from Siviti
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
101
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
101
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool game drives the main lodge lions mating stunning lodge wonderful experience five star game meat baby elephant over the top flora and fauna fire pit rooms are beautiful every meal african bush small lodge watering hole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2023

Every aspect was good, we had a lovely stay! The lodge is beautiful and the staff are friendly and professional. Their attentiveness and hospitality is remarkable. We also had awesome sightings on our game drives

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Freedom06220389277
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2023

We spent four days at Siviti.
What an incredible experience - Firstly we saw the big 5 every day, and kills on two days, just phenomenal game viewing.
The lodge is beautiful, extremely well appointed, luxury in every way.
The food is amazing and nothing is too much for the staff. Easy connections from CPT - such a treat, highly recommended. It is well priced and exceeded expectations in every way!

Room tip: Book the Villa with private pool
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C4588SYwaynec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2023 via mobile

Our family of 4, with two teenagers was joined by an aunt and the two grans, both in their mid-eighties. We had exclusive use of the Homestead with its dedicated team and we had a wonderful time. Outstanding service by Civilised (chef) and Peter (butler) as well as Surprise and Sidwell (house keepers). Food was outstanding and the unit is tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The highlight of the stay was the game drives, of course, and our dedicated guide (Rico) and our tracker (Nic) were an exceptional team bursting with deep knowledge of animal behaviour as well as bird life, flora and fauna. On the first drive we got to see four of the big five! And were treated to multiple wild dog sightings including a skirmish between spotted hyena and the wild dogs, leopard, elephant, lions, hyena, buffalo, kudu and the list goes on. An absolute first was seeing giraffes mock fighting as well as lions mating! All in all, our entire group experienced service excellence at its best and had a wonderful visit. Bongani, the front office manager at the main lodge, also gave us a tour of the lodge which was good to see with exciting renovations taking shape. A stunning lodge that is definitely worth a visit if you’re looking for African bush luxury at its best.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rodw483
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2023 via mobile

Our family of six stayed at the Siviti Homestead for four nights in January and our experience exceeded all of my hopes and expectations.
The separate house was perfect for a family or group of friends, providing privacy and exclusivity. It was immaculate, spacious and comfortable, yet not too pretentious or over the top for a family trip. (Our four children range in age from 13-23).
The staff could not have been more kind, accommodating and helpful. Our meals were five star and delicious, our laundry was ready daily and the house was clean. They spoiled us with cold towels on each arrival, warm greetings and delectable food. They packed up food for our day off the premises as well as our long trip to the airport.
Last but not least, the game drives were simply incredible. Our guide Ryan and tracker Andrew were an amazing team. We saw the big five, and learned a-lot along the way. We felt safe and comfortable in what we thought were scary circumstances. (We are from New York after all). We loved each and every moment, and even chose to forego our final “cocktails” to continue following a pair of lions. It couldn’t have been more exciting and thrilling, especially driving home after dark and running into a herd of elephants. We already miss Siviti and hope to return!

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank robinz1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2023

We visited Siviti over the December holidays, it is a truly special place. The game drives, food, and service were all spectacular. We have visited several other high-end game lodges and thoroughly recommend Siviti above them all.

The game drives are of course unpredictable, but our experience was so special: we were lucky to see many herds of elephants, a leopard eating an impala, a pair of lions mating, all the big five, and many fascinating birds and other small mammals.

We traveled with our 6-yr-old daughter, who had lots of questions, and many random animals she wanted to see - our guide was warm with her, patient with questions, and helped her spot her list of large and small animals and birds.

The food is abundant and excellent, we were so pleased with every meal. Somehow they are producing Four Seasons-quality food for only a few rooms out in the bush. And the personalized service is especially noteworthy for such a small lodge.

The rooms are beautiful, with lovely details like coffee snacks and child bath amenities. We had a plunge pool and fire pit at our room as well, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Note that Siviti is small, and unfenced, and the game drives include both a guide and a tracker - these are features that vary among game lodges, so be intentional about your needs.

We loved the intimacy and wildness and luxury and beauty of this place. We hope to go back.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CH12650
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews