We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Robinz

Superb!!

Review of Siviti
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 Feb 2023via mobile
Our family of six stayed at the Siviti Homestead for four nights in January and our experience exceeded all of my hopes and expectations.
The separate house was perfect for a family or group of friends, providing privacy and exclusivity. It was immaculate, spacious and comfortable, yet not too pretentious or over the top for a family trip. (Our four children range in age from 13-23).
The staff could not have been more kind, accommodating and helpful. Our meals were five star and delicious, our laundry was ready daily and the house was clean. They spoiled us with cold towels on each arrival, warm greetings and delectable food. They packed up food for our day off the premises as well as our long trip to the airport.
Last but not least, the game drives were simply incredible. Our guide Ryan and tracker Andrew were an amazing team. We saw the big five, and learned a-lot along the way. We felt safe and comfortable in what we thought were scary circumstances. (We are from New York after all). We loved each and every moment, and even chose to forego our final “cocktails” to continue following a pair of lions. It couldn’t have been more exciting and thrilling, especially driving home after dark and running into a herd of elephants. We already miss Siviti and hope to return!
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Siviti
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
10.5 km from Siviti
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
6.3 km from Siviti
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
18.1 km from Siviti
Pool
Bar/Lounge
R 102 058
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from Siviti
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 463
  • Priceline
4.9 km from Siviti
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
101
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
101
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool game drives the main lodge lions mating stunning lodge wonderful experience five star game meat baby elephant over the top flora and fauna fire pit rooms are beautiful every meal african bush small lodge watering hole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2023

We visited Siviti over the December holidays, it is a truly special place. The game drives, food, and service were all spectacular. We have visited several other high-end game lodges and thoroughly recommend Siviti above them all.

The game drives are of course unpredictable, but our experience was so special: we were lucky to see many herds of elephants, a leopard eating an impala, a pair of lions mating, all the big five, and many fascinating birds and other small mammals.

We traveled with our 6-yr-old daughter, who had lots of questions, and many random animals she wanted to see - our guide was warm with her, patient with questions, and helped her spot her list of large and small animals and birds.

The food is abundant and excellent, we were so pleased with every meal. Somehow they are producing Four Seasons-quality food for only a few rooms out in the bush. And the personalized service is especially noteworthy for such a small lodge.

The rooms are beautiful, with lovely details like coffee snacks and child bath amenities. We had a plunge pool and fire pit at our room as well, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Note that Siviti is small, and unfenced, and the game drives include both a guide and a tracker - these are features that vary among game lodges, so be intentional about your needs.

We loved the intimacy and wildness and luxury and beauty of this place. We hope to go back.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CH12650
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2022

Every time one goes to the South African bush it is always special and Siviti Lodge was no exception; we had a wonderful time.

We were on a family trip (adults only) and stayed in the Timbavati Villa; it is a beautiful spot nestled into the bush and looking out to a waterbed; you are surrounded by nature. Nyala graze unhindered, birds of prey circle in the sky above, monkeys play in the trees, elephant and other animals come to the water to drink. You can watch the bush from almost every part of the suite, from the bed, sitting on your private veranda, relaxing in the heated plunge pool, even when soaking in the bath! The one day we saw an entire herd of elephants walk right by: amazing.

The rooms are not only well appointed but also beautifully furnished and decorated. We discovered during our stay that the lodge had come under new ownership during Covid and heard that the new owners have big plans; a wine cellar was in the works and the new dining room area was revealed to us during our stay - stunning. I will be very excited to see it all when it is finished.

The hospitality from the entire team was warm, personalized and very sincere. Surprise took extra special care of us and made sure we had all we needed and more; particular thanks to him.

The food was excellent; the Head Chef and his team were very talented, and we had some delicious meals; the game meat was superb.

We had a great ranger/tracker team - Shaun and Abed. Shaun has a wealth of experience behind him, he was brilliant at getting us right up to the action. Abed had a great eye and worked very hard for us and succeeded! We were at the lodge for six nights, which can be a bit daunting for any team, to try and keep the guests engaged. However, this seemed to be no challenge at all; we had action packed game drives throughout; a beautiful drive with a herd of giraffe in the riverbed, a baby elephant that was only a day old, a herd of elephants at the watering hole, a baby leopard in a tree, hippos playing and yawning (yes one of us got that hippo shot!), wild dog pups, hyena pups suckling off their mother, a kill; I could go on and on. The trip was topped off and finished with a spectacular surprise view of The Drakensberg Mountain range at sunset; very special.

I have said that Shaun had a lot of experience; that experience shone through on many occasions, not only with navigating and orchestrating the animal sightings for us and lining us up to get some fabulous pics; he was also very intuitive at reading the animal behavior. There were a couple of occasions where he read a situation and acted accordingly. The safety of his guests and protection of the animals was always the priority and he would certainly never jeopardize that to get a better sighting or line up a photo. We really appreciated how responsible he was and felt in very safe and competent hands. He also has a great sense of humor - we enjoyed his company.

I hope that we will be lucky enough to return to Siviti, until then we will hold the memories very dear. Thank you to the entire team for a fabulous time; it was truly wonderful. From the Mills/Mears/Gough Family.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank woolhead42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2022

Siviti lodge
We stayed for two nights in this wonderful lodge. We had a beautiful, well equipped villa with elephants, buffalos and different kinds of antelopes just below our terraces.
During the safaris (two mornings, one afternoon) with Nick (tracker) and Taylor (guide) we learned a lot about the area and the animals. Of the big 5 we missed leopard, but instead we spotted seven rare wild dogs. There were REAL safaris in the bushes!
The welcoming service, food and drinks made you feel as if you were in paradise.
Many, many thanks to Bri, Otto, Taylor, Nick and the rest of the staff.

Room tip: Choose a villa
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rundgrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2021 via mobile

We have just returned from 48 wonderful hours at Siviti. Our son joined us as a surprise for my wife, and Team Siviti played ball all along!
Firstly, the setting is fantastic on the Timbavati river. The rooms are luxurious without being over the top. The meals, without fail were delicious and plentiful- and served with a huge smile!
The traverse in Thornybush is huge- unlike some lodges on other private reserves that have a small area to traverse. The game viewing and scenery were fantastic, the tracking and guiding friendly and impressive!
Back at the lodge it was a real treat to enjoy the summer heat in our own pool, whilst watching herds of elephant pass by in the riverbed below. And if you want a massage, you can have the best one in the comfort of your room.
We would love to return! Well done to Lucas, Ryan, Ntsako, and the entire team- you are all an asset to Siviti and our tourism industry!!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2021

We have been to many bush lodges in South Africa, and can without a shadow of a doubt say that this is the one. Look no further if you are looking for a small, uncrowded lodge where you aren't just part of a sausage machine.
The rooms are very spacious - we were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite and I would really recommend it - very large, private, bigger pool and rooms and amazing view of the river. Buffaloes lay in the river bed for 2 days while we were the there.

The staff have been mentioned in previous reviews, and they really do make this lodge exceptional. There is an energy and positive vibe amongst the staff which is noticeable. The lodge has recently been taken over by a new owner and there are lots of plans for the lodge.

Food is very good. Not one meal was disappointing. The game drives were brilliant - one of the reasons I chose Thornybush was the amount of game in the reserve, and we weren't disappointed. Thanks to Shawn and Abet for all the laughs and great game drives.

Date of stay: August 2021
2  Thank GailR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews