We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
loesermark
Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, Florida

Shumbalala the Gem of Thornybush

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Apr 2024
We stayed for one week at Shumbalala and it is a Gem in Thornybush

The service, meals, accommodations and game drives were the best we have had while traveling on safari throughout the African continent. Bryce, the lead guide is the consummate professional. Mavis the Chef prepared superb meals each day for lodge guests. We will return again. Thank you to the entire team.
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Shumbalala Game Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
3.7 km from Shumbalala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 13 665
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 13 665
12.0 km from Shumbalala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
10.3 km from Shumbalala Game Lodge
Pool
Bar/Lounge
R 101 818
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
7.3 km from Shumbalala Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 757
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 757
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 750
9.9 km from Shumbalala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
390
7
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
7
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar watering hole tracker sam game lodge south africa safari experience our honeymoon thornybush reserve five star beyond belief water hole out of this world look no further wealth of knowledge main deck wild dogs private deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2024

We had the most magical experience. The attention to detail was beyond anything I could have imagined. The staff were amazing with our evey need seen to. The accomomdation was extremely luxurious and impeccably clean. The game drives had surprises around every corner, from leopards in trees to G and T's at sunset. Thank you bryce, Dani and your team, you are all awesome. Well done.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K155UYanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2024

We've just spent a fabulous 4 nights at this wonderful game lodge. The safaris guided by Nick and Sam were everything one could hope for. They found the animals and while up close one still felt safe in their hands. The stops for snacks and sundowners were another delight. The food was great and how they managed to provide such a variety of dishes for a limited number of guests, I do not know. If we needed something different it was always obligingly provided. The accommodation was lovely and housekeeping constantly on hand. It was delightful to see the more docile animals on our terrace many a time. Many thanks to Daniella and her team, including her capable new recruit, Laura for a wonderful holiday.

Room tip: Shumbalal thinks of it alll!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julius N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

Fabulous accommodations, meals, and Safari drives. Wonderful people. A once in a lifetime experience.
And now I must pad this review with another 105 characters??? Why?
Pack my bag with 5 dozen liquor jugs.
Jackdaws love my big sphinx of quartz.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Uno_de_los_amigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2024

We went to three different safari lodges and Shumbalala was by far the best experience. The field guide and tracker made the game drives the most exciting and fun.
The service and food was next to none. I cannot recommend this place enough. Everyone involved made it a very special and unforgettable experience.
If you book, request Bryce to be your Field Guide. He is a rockstar

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mschred
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeandra Swan, General Manager at Shumbalala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Dear Mschred
Thank you for your amazing review - we truly appreciate this feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024

I can't express my gratitude enough for the absolute gem that is Shumbalala - a place that has created memories that will never be forgotten. From the start, the staff welcomed us with an openness and friendliness that made our time there feel like a warm embrace.

Our bush drives were nothing short of enchanting, thanks to the skill of our extraordinary tracker, Peter, and the exceptional knowledge of our guide, Kings. The thrill of encountering the Big Five and countless other fascinating creatures left us breathless and made it seem as if the heart of the wild was within our reach.

The culinary experience was also exceptional. As someone on a plant-based diet, I often expect challenges, but at Shumbalala every meal was delicious and seamlessly tailored to my preferences.

This holiday was beyond words - it was a dream come true and my family and I can't wait to return.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank viviennewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeandra Swan, General Manager at Shumbalala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Dear Vivienne,
Thank you for your valued feedback!
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews