We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter H

Great stay at Waterbuck Lodge

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Apr 2024via mobile
We have just moved on from a fabulous stay at Waterbuck. Roux and Solly make a fabulous team on the game drives, very knowledgable and how Solly spots chameleons in trees when it it’s dark is a mystery. Got all the animals we wanted to see in short order and climax was some female lions with their cubs, Roux manages to get you very close to the animals without frightening them so they are happy to let you observe. Quality of the lodge and food was outstanding and the setting perfect. We stayed for 4 nights and can’t recommend it highly enough.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: bungalow 4 has the best view of the waterhole.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Whiting, Marketing at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 02 May 2024
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We're not too sure how Solly does it either but we love it ;) We are so thrilled you had such a wonderful stay. Kind regards, the Waterbuck Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
12.4 km from Waterbuck Game Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
9.1 km from Waterbuck Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 39 595
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
13.6 km from Waterbuck Game Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
17.2 km from Waterbuck Game Lodge
Pool
Bar/Lounge
R 101 991
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.7 km from Waterbuck Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 44 976
  • StayForLong
5.4 km from Waterbuck Game Lodge
View more hotels in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
202
8
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
202
8
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower bush experience short journey the reserve watering hole amazing experience high tea is served his job breakfast is served water buck our honeymoon lion sightings african wines guide tracker afternoon drive water buffalo an abundance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2024

This was our first Safari and made so much more special by the service, professionalism and accommodation delivered by the Waterbuck Team. Safaris are not easy! 5:30 am starts to take full advantage of seeing the animals at day break and repeating the 3 hour safari drive late afternoon as the sun goes down - but Waterbuck looks after every single aspect of your itinerary, your care and your rest. They turn the experience into a luxury stay.
The 4 lodges are beautiful and provide the perfect haven for resting between drives (Even the resident hippos in the watering hole couldn't disturb our sleep - it's a full on day) The lodges are all fully equipped with every amenity and the most comfortable beds. From the early morning coffee before you depart on the drive, the stop mid drive for Amarula coffee and muffin. Back for wonderful fully cooked breakfast around 9:30. Then late lunch before the evening drive (off course the sun downer of gin/wine/beer and snacks during this drive) and back of fantastic evening meals provided by Antoneth/Patients and the rest of the team allowing us to relive the unforgettable drives guided by Marnus and our tracker Solly.

This is what you come to Kruger for - yes the big 5, (And yes we caught them all) but Marnus made us to look up and down from bird life to flora to insects whilst finding the big 5 for us - he was so informative and obviously so dedicated to preserving and promoting the ecosystem in which Waterbuck is set. His description of the stars above us was fascinating on a particularly clear night on the way back from a wonderful evening of watching a pride of lions interact.

I can't see any reason for not going to Waterbuck, it was wonderful and we will certainly be returning - the team provided us with one of the most memorable experiences in our many years of travelling. Thank you to all the team

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Whiting, Marketing at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review!! It has been such a pleasure to have you join us at Waterbuck and we are so glad that you had an incredible stay :) We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024

Once in a lifetime experience!

Everyone was very kind and made the experience as comfortable, educational and special as possible.

Accommodated a gluten sensitivity and only made us wish we could have stayed longer!

Aubrey and Marnus were outstanding! If you’re thinking of going for safari, look no further!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Whiting, Marketing at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review! We are thrilled you had such a wonderful experience and that our chef was able to accommodate you. Hearing such lovely feedback always makes our team so proud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2024

What a wonderful break from reality, relaxing in nature surrounded by the big 5 and more!

This bush adventure has definitely made it to the top of my list of best experiences to date.

The location, accommodation, service and attention to detail were all on point.

I am also Vegan, which I thought may pose some issues, however to my surprise I was specially catered for with some of the most tasty vegan dishes, allowing me to not feel excluded durning meal times.

Overall a wonderful stay in a piece of tranquil paradise!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Whiting, Marketing at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review - we are thrilled that you had an amazing experience with us! We love to cater for all of our guests so the chef will be delighted with your feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2024

If it’s a bush experience with the big 5, hosted and run with incredible staff who will do the utmost to make your experience as great as ever then there is no doubt in my mind Waterbuck is the place you’ll find exactly that.

My 7 night experience has been nothing short of exceptional, from the cleanliness of the rooms and the main lodge to the expertise of the rangers on game drives to the INCREDIBLE food preparation daily for me and my partner who is vegan, I can confidently say that should you choose to visit waterbuck reserve in thorny bush you will not have any regrets.

Room tip: Simply the best bush experience I have been fortunate enough to experience.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Whiting, Marketing at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review! We are so pleased that you chose Waterbuck for your safari and we were able to provide such an exceptional experience :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2023 via mobile

This was our first safari, and truly one of the best travel experiences of our lives! We miss the lodge so much already.

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of November/beginning of December.
To start, communication was superb which stood out when picking from many accommodations that were rated highly. They made the entire process very smooth and welcoming. We arranged our airport transfers through them from 2 different airports (hoedspruit and nelspruit), and we were able to pay online prior to our arrival.

They were able to accommodate our dietary restrictions (we requested Halaal meat) and made amazing meals out of it. For 2 of the nights the meal was held in the boma with a beautiful table set up and delicious 3 course meal. Our last night was rainy, and we all ate together at the dining table at the lodge. It was very cozy and a wonderful experience.
They serve coffee/tea and biscuits before the game drive. Then we’d stop for another coffee/hot drink break while on the drive. A full breakfast including your choice of eggs is served after arriving back to the lodge. We would usually nap during the day, and lunch would be served around 3:30. The afternoon game drive would begin shortly after that and then dinner would be served a short time after arriving back from the drive. We were very well fed and did not go hungry.

The room was beautiful. The AC worked perfectly in the bed area which is where we needed it. Housekeeping would come twice a day while we were on our game drives. There were plenty of plugs, including one on each side of the bed.

The game drives were superb. We were able to do 5 game drives and saw elephants, lions, giraffes, Cape buffalo, white rhinos, monkeys, warthogs, wild painted dogs, hippos, a crocodile, zebras, impalas, and even 2 sightings of leopards! Plenty of birds and smaller species as well. Theres a watering hole at the lodge and we had many interesting visitors including a herd of elephants there as well.

We are beyond happy with our decision to choose Waterbuck as our first safari experience. The small lodge lends to wonderful conversation with fellow guests from all over the world, with plenty of privacy and space to spread out as well. Safaris are not a cheap experience, and Waterbuck delivered beyond expectations.

Overall, cannot say enough good things about the lodge. Already dreaming of coming back! Thank you to the wonderful staff who made the place as magical as it was

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Discover17204640970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews