We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
498
36
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
498
36
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower the reserve safari experience game lodge thorny bush large deck overlooking the river an amazing experience plunge pool sundowner drinks dry river bed wild animals watering hole amazing place wake up call white rhino kruger national park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2020

We were supposed to be here for three nights but couldn't help ourselves by spending another. Our ranger Ross was amazing and the rest of the staff. Fantastic sightings followed up by great rooms overlooking the river.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChristopherM4889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice Winterboer, Other at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Hi there ChristopherM4889, thank-you so much for leaving this review of your stay at Thornybush Game Lodge.

We're so pleased that you enjoyed yourself as much as what you did, and that you were able to join us for an extra night.

Hope to see you back again with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2020

We have never been to Africa and did not know what to expect. Well- only the greatest trip of our lifetime is what happened! The staff a both locations, Thornybush main and Simbabili were just amazing! Thank you Bri, Hope, Joe, Alson and at Simbabili - the amazing Glory, Justin, and all the other staff.
Rooms were crazy good, food was amazing and safari’s - OMG so great. We saw tons of animals, lion prides on the hunt, Leopard, Rhino, baby Elephant right at our vehicle and so much more. The bush breakfast and dinner were an unexpected surprise. This was a trip of a lifetime and the staff just made every day special.
5+ stars for sure.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chriswQ4081PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice Winterboer, Other at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Hi there chriswQ4081PP, thank-you so much for leaving this review of your stay at Thornybush Game Lodge. How wonderful that you got to see so many things AND that you were able to experience two of our lodges!

Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2020 via mobile

Only spent 2 of our 3 nights due to COVID19. That said we were made to feel special and I couldn’t think of a better place to escape the concerns of the world. Our ranger Grant and tracker John were great and we got to see the big five and a lot more. Food was very good and lots of it throughout our stay as well as on the safaris themselves. Great setting and the rooms were just the best ever, with views across the bush. Would love to revisit when the world gets back to normal.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 108nigelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice Winterboer, Other at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2020

Hi there 108nigelj, thank-you so much for taking the time to leave this review of your stay at Thornybush Game Lodge.

While the reactions to COVID19 have been out of our control - we're sorry that you had to cut your trip short. A revisit when things are back to 'normal' sounds like a fabulous plan!

Looking forward to having you back again. Until then, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2020

We were lucky to stay there before the worst of the C19 problems. Our experience was largely superb. The rooms were wonderful and the staff was super. Both our ranger and tracker were top shelf. We saw every animal we hoped to see more than once and some animals we did not expect to see. That brings us down to the food. Like wine, food can be very good but not to one's taste, That was the case for us at Thornybush. We thought it was 'pretty good' but not great. 4 nights with 6 game drives. Rated 4.5. Thornybush is highly reccomended.

Room tip: All seem to be great. Some are far away from dining.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P598738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice Winterboer, Other at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2020

Hi there P598738, thank-you so much for leaving this review of your stay at Thornybush Game Lodge and we're so glad that you had a largely superb time here with us and that you got to see everything that you'd hoped to.

Moving on to your comments regarding the food - I'd like to start out with saying how sorry I am that you didn't enjoy it! We're always looking at ways to improve what we offer, so it would be incredibly helpful if you could perhaps elaborate on what you didn't enjoy about it? We're very aware that different guests have different tastes and we try to mitigate this with a variety of options, if we knew where we didn't get it right for you, we'd be able to improve on this moving forward.

Thank-you for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

I didn't think anything could top our trip to witness the great migration in Tanzania. I was so wrong! This lodge, the beautiful preserve, a superb group of trackers and guides as well as supporting staff made this an excellent adventure. Everything was beyond expectations. The accommodations were well thought out, comfortable, private and well cared for. The food was also fresh, delicious and served with gentility. The enthusiasm and commitment of the staff shone through at every turn. I would highly recommend this as a must see and do if in South Africa.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doc687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice Winterboer, Other at Thornybush Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Hi there Doc687, thank-you so much for leaving this review of your stay at Thornybush Game Lodge.

How thrilling to hear that we topped even the great migration for you - we really appreciate this massive compliment.

Hope to see you back again some day in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews