We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
658
39
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
658
39
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ngala safari lodge game drives wild dogs our honeymoon south africa indoor shower herd of elephants off road the reserve once in a lifetime from start to finish kruger national park level of service an incredible experience private dinner late afternoon world class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Our first trip to South Africa, our first safari - and absolutely nothing will top this! Each member of the Ngala staff brought something special - first class and personable service, a smile all the time and wonderful food.

Our tracker Elvis is the best. He led us to see all the big 5, plus the fat 5, the ugly 5, and the beautiful 5 too!! Armed with only a walkie talkie and a tree branch, he fearlessly walked the bush for us, and right to every beautiful creature we wanted to see.

However, we cannot say enough about our ranger Jenni. She brought enthusiasm and expertise to each drive. She engaged each of us with her knowledge, but even more so connected to our kids (age 13 and 10) like we've not seen. Jenni made this safari for them; their own little excursion where they made their own plaster wild life tracks was truly above and beyond. She has sparked zoology interest in both, and has instantly become a role model.

Thank you to each and everyone at Ngala and to Peter C at &beyond for partnering with us to create a once in a lifetime experience; one though we hope we are able to repeat sometime again!

Room tip: Each suite at Ngala is meticulously set up and kept. You cannot be disappointed.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Beautiful, luxurious place, outstandingly skilled guides, extremely friendly staff. Top quality, highly recommended. You won't find a better animal experience anywhere on the planet, and at Ngala you do it in luxury.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mr_jonathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2015

What can we say about Ngala? This was our trip of a life time and the Ngala family made it much more than that. It is an experience that will stay with us forever.

The people, the food, the accommodation and of course the animals were amazing. Mama Connie looks out for everyone as if they were her own family and our butler Marcus couldn't do enough for us and made our stay so special. Our ranger, Elliot, was absolutely amazing, taking us on many an adventure and an African massage we will never forget! His knowledge was outstanding and along with Arab our tracker they enabled us to see all the big five and many many more.

We can't wait to return - if you are thinking of going on safari don't hesitate and head to Ngala for the experience of your lives.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We got to meet people from Sweden as well as Johannesburg at this camp. Our guide Dyke was an excellent tracker -- we saw leopards several times as well as wild dogs, white rhinos, and (briefly) a black rhino. The accommodations were exceptional -- breakfast in the bush was a highlight.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BonnieFerron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2015

I always said if I ever get to do a safari I want to stay for at least part of the trip at a luxury camp. Wow, we loved Ngala. Lots of personal attention, even had our own butler, Norman. Food was exceptional. They even surprised us one evening with dinner on our cottage patio, candles, Champaign and all. The ranger and guide we had were outstanding, offering lots of tidbits about the reserve and the animals. If we ever go back, we are heading to Ngala.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuckeyeBob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews