We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sandy N

South African Ecstasy

Review of Ximuwu Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Absolute paradise! From the moment you pass through the gate to be greeted by the entire staff, you know you are in for something special. To say the accommodations are luxurious is an understatement. Each room is unique and exquisitely designed. Obviously every detail was considered before construction even began. The entire staff is warm, friendly, gracious and attentive (but not intrusive). The chefs’ creations are mouthwateringly delicious meal after meal after meal, whether served at the lodge or prepared and served in the bush.
Annet is the perfect hostess, and Matt is an incredible co-host and guide. Sam, our “butler” anticipated our every desire. The spa is just a few steps away from your room and Lebo works wonders! Bernard is a talented tracker and very entertaining individual. Jerry’s helicopter ride is exhilarating and seeing the animals from the air is an unimaginable thrill. Raisy is an impeccable housekeeper and wishes you well with a handwritten note every evening.
And the game drives! Breathtaking, awesome, captivating. Beautiful animals abound, and you will see them in abundance. Plus, there’s a watering hole right in front of the lodge, where impala, giraffes, elephants, rhinos, zebra and others all come.
We honestly feel we have an extended family and home away from home forever at Ximuwu.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Go there!
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elly Suverein, Owner at Ximuwu Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Dave and Sandy,

I hope this message finds you well!

We were absolutely delighted to read your wonderful review about your recent stay at Ximuwu. On behalf of the entire team, I want to extend our heartfelt thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience.

It brings us great joy to know that you had such a memorable and enjoyable stay with us. We strive to create a unique and welcoming environment for our guests, and it’s truly rewarding to hear that we succeeded in making your visit special.

Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us and serves as a great source of motivation for our team. We are thrilled to have been a part of your safari adventure and to have made a positive impression.

Thank you once again for your warm review, and for choosing Ximuwu. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 25 818
R 22 500
  • Priceline
    R 22 500
  • Trip.com
    R 25 818
  • Agoda.com
    R 22 500
18.1 km from Ximuwu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 23 360
Multiple ways to pay
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Prestigia.com
19.2 km from Ximuwu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 13 129
R 12 200
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 338
  • Hotels.com
    R 12 376
  • Priceline
23.3 km from Ximuwu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 33 463
R 16 762
  • Expedia.com
    R 33 387
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 33 463
23.6 km from Ximuwu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
14.4 km from Ximuwu Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
21.5 km from Ximuwu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 20 850
  • Expedia.com
    R 21 082
  • Hotels.com
    R 21 130
  • Priceline
28.7 km from Ximuwu Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 36 347
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 36 150
  • Tripadvisor
    R 36 347
  • Hotels.com
28.6 km from Ximuwu Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
34
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
34
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helicopter ride bush dinner sun deck safari guide african safari swimming pool game viewing elly mixologist spa customized facilities luxury lion zebra buffalo knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2024

This was our third time at Ximuwu but this time it was different in 2 ways.

1. We stayed in the Hideaway House
2. We brought our children. Kate (10) and Julius (9).

It was amazing. The wild life, the luxurious environment and the time we had as a family in the bush.

We were fortunate enough to see the Magnificent 7, which is the Big 5 with a bonus of the Wild Dogs and the Cheetah.

The kids loved every minute of our 5 night stay and, like us, could have stayed a lot longer.

The Hideaway House deserves the title “The Perfect Hideaway”. It is very spacious, luxurious, and is equipped with everything you can think of, and more.

Like our earlier stays, we loved the food, staff and for us, this is the perfect way of experiencing the African Bush.

The house adds a “family element” to the trip and we are looking forward to our next stay. (Which is probably not far in the future) 😊

A big shout out and thank you, to the team and the folks that out the lodge!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arjan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elly Suverein, Owner at Ximuwu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Arjan,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing the Hideaway at Ximuwu for your recent stay! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with us.

Your kind words about our lodge and services mean a lot to our entire team. It was our pleasure to provide you with a memorable and enjoyable stay. We strive to create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere for all our guests, and it’s fantastic to know we succeeded during your visit.

We hope to welcome you back to Ximuwu in the future for another fantastic safari adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

We have already seen many beautiful places in the world, but this is
truly one of the most beautiful places we have ever visited.
Upon arrival you will feel like you are in a movie, welcomed by all the
staff, led by Anette, who are welcoming us with a refreshing towel and a
delicious drink. From that moment on, the staff is 200% there for you
during the day to pamper you extremely,
nothing is too much to ask.
The food is fantastic, the Chef prepares a well-thought-out theme
dinner every day with, of course with matching wines.
It starts in the morning after the early game drive with an amazing breakfast where you will not miss anything. Every day we discuss what is planned
for the next day in terms of breakfast, lunch and dinner and they are
very flexible about this, it could not be better.
The lodges are fantastic, large, beautifully finished and
especially the furnishings is superb. They are connected separately
from each other, so you have maximum privacy on your terrace and outdoor shower.
The whole lodge is wheelchair prove a big plus for the lodge, everything is well thought of.
We were with a group of 8 friends and really enjoyed the Game Drives twice a
day. We quickly noticed during the first drives that this location
is different from most lodges in the Kruger Park. The animals we saw
were really extreme, every day we spotted a different one of the Big5!
The beautiful tours led by Matth and Frank are really unique, but
also the wonderful massages every day, riding through the bush
with quads and a spectacular helicopter flight, really too much to mention.
Patrick ,Elly and Nobu and of course the entire Crew thank you very much for this
unforgettable time, good luck with your paradise on earth.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay with you!

Nicole & Paul from Sweikhuizen the Netherlands

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elly Suverein, Owner at Ximuwu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Dear Nicole & Paul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience at Ximuwu ! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our lodge met your expectations.

It's fantastic to know that you appreciated the exclusive use of the property. Providing a memorable and comfortable experience for our guests is always our top priority, and we're thrilled that we could achieve that for you and your friends!

We truly value your feedback and your recommendation means a lot to us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ximuwu in the future for another unforgettable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2024

What a fantastic place! Many places claim to be wheelchair friendly but they seldom are. Ximuwu and all the staff went over and beyond to include me, Erik, a C6 complete quadraplegic, with all activities. They are 110% wheelchair friendly. They thought of everything! So much detail and effort went into the lodge to make our stay an amazing experience. Looking forward to our next stay!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Annelies v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elly Suverein, Owner at Ximuwu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2024

Dear Annelies,

Thank you so much for your heartwarming review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge. Ensuring a comfortable and accessible experience for all our guests is a top priority. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Team Ximuwu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2024 via mobile

What an experience! Five stars aren’t enough in our opinion. The lodge is just wonderful. Everything has been thought of down to the last detail. We were totally blown away by it all. We were there as a family and immediately felt at home and welcomed by Matt & Anet.
Mr T was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble and we loved his mixology skills!
The weather wasn’t great for part of our stay but despite that we had some lovely drives and viewings thanks to Matt and Frank.
In the bad weather, we were more than happy to watch the wildlife out on the airstrip from the comfort of the lodge. Again, everything was done by Anet and the other staff to make this as pleasant as possible. We were completely looked after.
The chefs are brilliant and the food is fantastic. We had an amazing “Christmas” dinner when we arrived on Boxing Day. Along with a tasting menu & a braai. Everything was delicious!
Princess is also lovely and a very talented masseuse and therapist.
All the staff are incredibly friendly
Luckily the weather cleared for our helicopter trip with Gerry - there are no words to describe this. It was by far the best thing we’ve ever done on safari and up there with our top overall experiences! It was extremely emotional and thanks to Patrick for capturing those emotions with his candid photography skills.
Patrick and Ellie have done a magnificent job in building the whole experience with nothing to fault. We very much hope to remain friends with you and obviously to return as soon as can.

Room tip: Your every need will be catered for.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank saldav9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elly Suverein, Owner at Ximuwu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2024

Dear Lisa and Chris,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at our lodge! We're delighted to hear that you had a beautiful stay, even with the challenging weather. It was truly a pleasure hosting such amazing guests like you. Your positive feedback means the world to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for more wonderful moments in the future!

Warm regards,
Team Ximuwu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024 via mobile

What a fantastic lodge to visit! The lodge itself is very beautiful and stylish decorated. The whole staff of Anet, our guide Matt, the restaurant manager Mr T, the massage therapist Princess, everybody was so dedicated, talented and sweet, we instantly felt at home and relaxed. The food (thanks chef Katlego!) was exquisite, and the last evening bush dinner was amazing. We brought our quadriplegic friend Erik, and he told us that this was the first time (sorry other lodges) that he visited a lodge where EVERYTHING was wheelchair-accessible. Last but certainly not least: the helicopter-ride was definitely something he never thought he could do again. Thanks, everybody; this was an amazing experience!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank yvetteh457
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elly Suverein, Owner at Ximuwu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Dear Yvette,

Thank you so much for your positive review of Ximuwu Lodge! We're thrilled to hear you had a great experience. We will share your feedback with the team. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable moments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews