We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Carina T
Johannesburg South, South Africa

Luxury safari

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 May 2024via mobile
Kapama Southern Camp provided an exceptional safari experience from start to finish. From the moment we arrived until we departed, we felt truly special and well taken care of. Our guides, Oupa and Jabu, ensured that every safari was memorable with sightings beyond our wildest dreams. The deluxe suite with our own private pool was absolutely worth it, offering a luxurious retreat after thrilling days of adventure. The food was exceptional, and the company was fantastic. A weekend away with my sister that I’ll cherish forever. Highly recommend!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 20 523
  • Expedia.com
    R 23 115
  • Agoda.com
    R 17 937
  • Hotels.com
    R 23 100
5.6 km from Kapama Buffalo Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 25 000
  • Expedia.com
    R 25 616
  • Agoda.com
    R 19 418
  • Hotels.com
    R 25 600
0.0 km from Kapama Buffalo Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
This is a spacious luxury safari tent with an off set bathroom, outside shower, a bath, his and her amenities, spacious deck overlooking the bushveld and a private pergola with a day bed.
R 5 263
R 4 959
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Kapama Buffalo Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 4 720
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 785
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 723
14.3 km from Kapama Buffalo Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 820
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
14.1 km from Kapama Buffalo Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 819
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 325
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 023
14.6 km from Kapama Buffalo Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 029
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
14.4 km from Kapama Buffalo Camp
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
661
35
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
661
35
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives luxurious tents our honeymoon the reserve safari experience three nights a hot water bottle african bush attention to detail once in a lifetime loved every minute the entire staff morning drive coffee tea life changing amazing trip the entire experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2024

5 Stars excellent game drives at Kapama. We love our professional and experienced guide Themba Mkansi as well as the strong network of additional spotters on each jeep from this private safari. With a stroke of luck we found the big 5: Lions, Leopards, Rhinos, Buffalos, and Elephants - all in a single day. Worth every penny to visit any one of the five Kapama lodges (Buffalo Camp, Karula, River Lodge, Southern Camp, Kruger Homestead), over any of the hotels in Hazyview - a day in Kapama wins a week outside at the public safari hands down. We are definitely coming back again to Kapama! Thank you for the hospitality and memories of a lifetime. Thank you Themba Mkansi ♥️

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2024

Dont miss out! Great hospitality and they make you feel home while having the best experience, thanks to the staff member

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kbrgumus1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2024

Our stay at the camp was amazing. Nothing to wish for. Quality of food was great, the room was terrific so quiet except for the lions roaring or other animals in the night. The tracker and driver went the extra mile to find animals for us including a cougar and lions stalking at night. Highly recommend the camp for all your safari wants and needs.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J921HIallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2024

What a fantastic game reserve. I like that it's private so each of the guide drivers is trained on how to approach and respect the animals on the reserve. They are also trained on how to spot them. Get ready to see LOTS of African species. What will surprise you though is how absolutely delicious the food is. Every meal was a different menu and we were never disappointed in the skill of the kitchen.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TravellingGorgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2024

The place is affordable,clean and good for peace of mind.Their accomodation are 100% hygienic and they have loving,down to earth stuff from the security,admin to room keepers,Everything was perfect.I would recomment the place for people who need to spend time with their families away from everything.I cant wait to visit again with friends next time.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews