We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
429
33
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
33
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on stilts game drives three nights our honeymoon guide chris a hot water bottle the reserve rain shower safari experience wine selection nespresso machine luxury tents mini bar fire pit amazing trip bush walk african bush
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018

I can't say enough about this game reserve. Staff were wonderful. Food and service were excellent. I tried a few new items which I loved. Wildebeest and wart hog come to mind. A special shout out to our game driver Ben. So informative and just a lot of fun to be with. Did I mention we saw the Big 5 thanks to Ben. Wonderful memories.

Room Tip: All rooms had wonderful views.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PerthDarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

This lodge was a small intimate setting for viewing wildlife in a 5 star setting. We so enjoyed our time with all the servers, guides and trackers, getting to know them and feeling like family. We were well taken care of and our guide Honsui and his tracker even managed to get us up close and personal with the Big Five - Twice!!! Our room was beautiful with a shower window wall that overlooked the outdoors.

Room Tip: All rooms are first class!
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Stayed three nights at Kapama for our Honeymoon (two at River Lodge and one at Buffalo Camp). Buffalo Camp is much smaller than River Lodge so if you are looking for a secluded experience this is the lodge for you. The luxury tents were very nice and gave the feeling the complete privacy and being immersed in nature.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Eat Sleep. Wake. Game drive. Eat. Back to camp. Eat. Relax. Tea time. Game drive. Eat. Back to camp. Eat. Sleep and other activities you can choose camp. Beautiful rooms. Great attentive staff. My ranger Monica and tracker Foster were excellent. We saw the big 5 and then some. Highly recommended. Loved every minute of the game drives and I got to see the beautiful sunset.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank melb445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Our honeymoon adventures were at their half way point, we hopped on a short flight from Cape Town to Hoedspruit where the Kapama Buffalo truck and guide were waiting for us, the experience of a life time was about to start! Driving into the reserve for the first time gave us a taste of what was to come, giraffes and antilopes a plenty! Our welcome into the camp was warm and friendly and we were shown to our room which was beautifully presented and contained all the 5* luxury items that make your stay that little bit more comfortable.

No time to waste, the day we arrived we were out on Safari, our guide Chris and his tracker (aptly named Safari) took us for an evening ride in the open top jeep, from then on in the whole Safari experience was amazing and unforgettable, getting close to and understanding the wild life is a dream come true for my wife and I. Chris's knowledge and 'fun facts' added to an already amazing experience, we learnt so much and he was more than happy to answer any questions we had. We were lucky enough to see the 'big 5' and 'ugly 5' within our short stay, this is more than we were hoping to see which delighted us and all the other guests too. Coming back to camp and sharing the stories of your trip with the other guests became a great way to get to know each other. The story of the French Canadian and the missing hat was a particular hilarious highlight!

We stayed for 4 nights taking in the sights, sounds and smells of the Safari drives, every time we returned back to camp the food menu awaiting us was nothing short of delicious, the camp fire nights were especially good, getting to know the other guests and spending time with the guides made for a warm and friendly atmosphere.

We cannot recommend this place enough, thank you to all staff at Kapama Buffalo camping for adding to our honeymoon adventures. The memories, stories and experiences that we take away will never leave us.

James & Charlotte - Rhino Tent.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JimmyStirlingWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews