We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nick
Perth, Australia

Absolutely amazing !!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
Words cannot describe this trip. Kapama River Lodge execute all areas of a safari experience at the highest level. They also nail the 1%ers to make the trip extra special. Kapama is now our second home and we are already planning many more trips to come :). Make sure you request Michael as your Ranger, Thulanie as your Tracker, Joel/Mike for your dining experiences and Mmapule as your housekeeper.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 28 197
R 25 611
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.6 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
8.5 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 51 980
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 45 359
  • Trip.com
10.0 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
This is a spacious luxury safari tent with an off set bathroom, outside shower, a bath, his and her amenities, spacious deck overlooking the bushveld and a private pergola with a day bed.
R 5 629
R 4 533
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.2 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    R 4 950
  • Booking.com
8.7 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 514
  • Priceline
9.2 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 330
  • ZenHotels.com
9.6 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 3 412
  • Hotels.com
9.6 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 936
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 936
9.8 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Reviews (3 003)
Filter reviews
3 003 results
Traveller rating
2 602
320
53
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 602
320
53
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives spa suite safari experience the reserve river lodge amazing experience south africa lunch and dinner buffet style hoedspruit airport kruger park our waiter wild animals out of this world amazing place three days once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 3 003 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms, meals, drinks and property were fantastic and exceeded our exceptions! From the airport pickup to when we left, nothing disappointed. If you are visiting, keep in mind you may have a meal or two 'buffet style' so do not be surprised as this is usually due to electricity constraints when you are this 'remote'. We did not mind at all, but heard one guest expected every meal to be 'a la carte'.

The highlights were the 6 game drives chasing sightings on the road and 'in the bush' in the off-road vehicles. Be prepared that they may take you off the road in order to find the 'BIG FIVE' as well as some of the Kruger 'UGLY FIVE' which was a highlight for us to see a leopard in the bush, lions enjoying a meal, elephants, and many more. We also did the bush walk which we highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Z4084ZEmikep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a wonderful trip to South Africa and we loved our stay at the Kapama River Lodge. The rooms were beautiful and so large. The food and service were fantastic. The guides were so knowledgeable and fun. We hope to visit South Africa again next year and will return to the Kapama River Lodge.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzwaters28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2024

Totally amazing experience. The rooms are beautiful and kept spotlessly clean. Thank you Florence!
Open your balcony doors to a beautiful view of the African countryside, with waterbuck and giraffe in view.
All meals were excellent and Rodney and Erasmus, our waiters, provided us with a top-notch service and some fantastic wine choices. As we were on honeymoon there was an additional bottle of wine waiting in our room and a lovely note wishing us good fortune.
We were travelling with friends for their birthday and the restaurant staff all treated us to a beautiful African happy birthday song at dinner.
The daily game drives were spectacular and we saw a huge variety of animals including of course all the big 5. Thanks to our 2 guides, Neco and Collins, we learned a lot about the animals themselves, their nature and habits and also about the land itself and the local customs and beliefs. All very interesting and made the whole trip come together perfectly.
Many thanks to all those who made this such a wonderful, memorable stay at the Kapama River Lodge. We were genuinely sorry to leave but we will definitely return and have started planning our next visit already.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timcD6009FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2024

World class accommodation, well designed, 2 pools, bushwalks are great fun and knowledge based.

Drivers and tracking staff friendly, great food and one of the best holidays spots on the planet to enjoy the animal kingdom.

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hbegbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2024

We had an amazing time at Kapama. The lodge is fantastic, food was plentiful and delicious. We had an amazing guide and saw the big 5 numerous times. Lifetime of memories.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hardeepkg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews