We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kapama River Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 938)
Filter reviews
1 938 results
Traveller rating
1 628
252
43
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 628
252
43
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa suitegame drivessafari experiencethe reserveriver lodgesouth africabuffet stylewonderful experiencekruger parkoff roadhoedspruit airportwild animalswellness centrelunch and dinnerper dayelusive leopardour waiter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 1 938 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Nothing to regret, everything were perfect. The rooms and all the facilities are pretty and clean full with nice and lovely staff. We were token in charge by Dumi that is very responsable and very patient. He was taking good care of all detail of our stay besides the rides to safari twice a day where he has a lot to share. Thank you and we are looking forward to visit soon again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maverick77Pommeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The lodge is simply wonderful!!! Since the airport transfer to the reception, the waiters, the room cleaner, the games... I´d say that everything was perfect! I´ve been there and recommend to all of my friends and people that intend to go there.
The lodge has a beautiful spa, a nice bar and pool and the restaurants are pretty good!! Room with a view to the nature.
I hightly recomend the lodge that includes 2 games safaris, one at morning and one at the end of the day. Is possible to appreciate the sunrise and the sunset.
It worth the staying!!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fabiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We were extremely please with our stay in the tents at buffalo camp. Definitely recommend this camp over River lodge. Our family was vegetarian and staff went out of their way to make sure we had enough choices. Our Ranger was also very enthusiastic and made sure we had sightings of almost all animals.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 65poonamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms of Kapama River lodge are magnificent but the sightings are even better! We stayed for 4 nights and we saw the Big 5 almost everyday! We saw a leopard ( morning drive) then on the next game drive ( night drive) we saw 2 female lions and their Cubs kill a warthog and then a male lion appeared and stole the dead warthog! When that was over, we drove for about 5 minutes and saw a cheetah lying under a tree 5 meters away!

The only reason I didn't rate this lodge 5 stars is because on the 2nd night I got food poisoning from a piece of lettuce! But they addressed the problem and it's all fixed!
We will definitely be going back, we've already booked!

Stayed: July 2016
Thank shaetmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We had spent a couple of days on our own in the main Kruger Park and slept in one of the rest camps, which was quite an experience and very basic.

Kapama gave us a complementary vision of Kruger and safari. With our guide IP and tracker Justice, we got closer to the animals and learnt more about their behaviour and their habits. It was most interesting and I would highly recommend combine the two safari experiences.

Kapama is well run, clean, with excellent service and good food (maybe too much of it!). Better availability of fresh water on the gamedrives and bushwalks would be helpful. We spent Christmas at the lodge and they did a great job.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews