We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place with great food”
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We had a two night safari here. While not a typical lodge - more of a hotel - it was a five star experience.

The room was excelent as was breakfast, lunch and dinner with so much variety.

One note that the alcohol was not included in the nightly fee but was very well priced.

We shared a jeep with another couple and all had 'window' seats. The guide was knowledgable and we spotted the big five.

The wildlife was more prominent here than in the Krugar part that we visited and it is a more controlled envioinment where teh animals are easier to spot

Excellent value for money

Room Tip: Dont think that there is a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panamamike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 159 of 1 816 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2017

Nothing to regret, everything were perfect. The rooms and all the facilities are pretty and clean full with nice and lovely staff. We were token in charge by Dumi that is very responsable and very patient. He was taking good care of all detail of our stay besides the rides to safari twice a day where he has a lot to share. Thank you and we are looking forward to visit soon again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maverick77Pommeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The lodge is simply wonderful!!! Since the airport transfer to the reception, the waiters, the room cleaner, the games... I´d say that everything was perfect! I´ve been there and recommend to all of my friends and people that intend to go there.
The lodge has a beautiful spa, a nice bar and pool and the restaurants are pretty good!! Room with a view to the nature.
I hightly recomend the lodge that includes 2 games safaris, one at morning and one at the end of the day. Is possible to appreciate the sunrise and the sunset.
It worth the staying!!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fabiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We were extremely please with our stay in the tents at buffalo camp. Definitely recommend this camp over River lodge. Our family was vegetarian and staff went out of their way to make sure we had enough choices. Our Ranger was also very enthusiastic and made sure we had sightings of almost all animals.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 65poonamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms of Kapama River lodge are magnificent but the sightings are even better! We stayed for 4 nights and we saw the Big 5 almost everyday! We saw a leopard ( morning drive) then on the next game drive ( night drive) we saw 2 female lions and their Cubs kill a warthog and then a male lion appeared and stole the dead warthog! When that was over, we drove for about 5 minutes and saw a cheetah lying under a tree 5 meters away!

The only reason I didn't rate this lodge 5 stars is because on the 2nd night I got food poisoning from a piece of lettuce! But they addressed the problem and it's all fixed!
We will definitely be going back, we've already booked!

Stayed: July 2016
Thank shaetmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
4.9 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
415 reviews
8.7 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
451 reviews
6.4 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
282 reviews
31.4 km away
Rio Dos Elefantes River Camp
Rio Dos Elefantes River Camp
#17 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
5 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Address: R40 | Kruger Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price Range: R7 634 - R18 917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing