We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent place with great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapama River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapama River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a two night safari here. While not a typical lodge - more of a hotel - it was a five star experience.

The room was excelent as was breakfast, lunch and dinner with so much variety.

One note that the alcohol was not included in the nightly fee but was very well priced.

We shared a jeep with another couple and all had 'window' seats. The guide was knowledgable and we spotted the big five.

The wildlife was more prominent here than in the Krugar part that we visited and it is a more controlled envioinment where teh animals are easier to spot

Excellent value for money

Room Tip: Dont think that there is a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panamamike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    199
    37
    10
    3
See reviews for
332
784
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
POMMEUSE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing to regret, everything were perfect. The rooms and all the facilities are pretty and clean full with nice and lovely staff. We were token in charge by Dumi that is very responsable and very patient. He was taking good care of all detail of our stay besides the rides to safari twice a day where he has a lot to share. Thank you and we are looking forward to visit soon again.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maverick77Pommeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lodge is simply wonderful!!! Since the airport transfer to the reception, the waiters, the room cleaner, the games... I´d say that everything was perfect! I´ve been there and recommend to all of my friends and people that intend to go there.
The lodge has a beautiful spa, a nice bar and pool and the restaurants are pretty good!! Room with a view to the nature.
I hightly recomend the lodge that includes 2 games safaris, one at morning and one at the end of the day. Is possible to appreciate the sunrise and the sunset.
It worth the staying!!

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were extremely please with our stay in the tents at buffalo camp. Definitely recommend this camp over River lodge. Our family was vegetarian and staff went out of their way to make sure we had enough choices. Our Ranger was also very enthusiastic and made sure we had sightings of almost all animals.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 65poonamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms of Kapama River lodge are magnificent but the sightings are even better! We stayed for 4 nights and we saw the Big 5 almost everyday! We saw a leopard ( morning drive) then on the next game drive ( night drive) we saw 2 female lions and their Cubs kill a warthog and then a male lion appeared and stole the dead warthog! When that was over, we drove for about 5 minutes and saw a cheetah lying under a tree 5 meters away!

The only reason I didn't rate this lodge 5 stars is because on the 2nd night I got food poisoning from a piece of lettuce! But they addressed the problem and it's all fixed!
We will definitely be going back, we've already booked!

Stayed July 2016
Helpful?
Thank shaetmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapama Private Game Reserve
8.7 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
6.4 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
4.9 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
14.3 km away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
27.2 km away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapama River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapama River Lodge

Property: Kapama River Lodge
Address: R40, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Kapama Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Price range (per night): R6 394 - R15 204
Hotel Class:5 star — Kapama River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapama River Lodge is situated within Kapama Game Reserve, and presents the perfect blend between luxurious safari accommodation and a generous bed capacity of 64 bedrooms. Although large, it is so stylish, roomy and beautifully positioned along a dry riverbed, that guests fall in love with it. Each spacious room at Kapama River Lodge features a full en-suite bathroom and terrace with uninterrupted views into the leafy-green Big 5 game reserve. The central guest entertainment areas include a large rim-flow swimming pool with sun umbrellas and recliners for lazy afternoons. The long L-shaped relaxation lounge and bar under a double-volume thatch, curves around the pool and on either side is a huge double-sided fireplace creating a wondrous open-plan yet cosy atmosphere. The Rhino Boma dining area with tables arranged under a low thatch in a horseshoe curve, has a central open space where a roaring outdoor fire gives a glow to evening meals. Buffet-style meals introduce African flavours with Pan African dishes using fresh local ingredients and specialist dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kapama River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapama River Hotel Kapama Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing