We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$403
View deal
Hotels.comUS$403
Booking.comUS$406
CheapTicketsUS$403
eDreamsUS$406
Orbitz.comUS$403
TravelocityUS$403
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
33
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2020

We had a wonderful stay at the Lodge,we were very welcomed by the management team and made to feel at home.

Our stay was blessed with a walk about of the animals,some as close as the rooms,even though we missed them,the team made sure of sharing the experience by way of videos and pictures

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmasek277420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2019

I stayed over for one night. Tommy and his staff are the most naturally welcoming hosts. It felt as if we'd known each other for years after 5 minutes. Unlike many other corporate/commercial places, you feel immediately at home here, like you're staying over at a friend's house. The rondavels are comfortable, with all mod cons and the gardens are kept immaculate. A truly wonderful experience.

Room tip: Rondavel 3 is the most private, but Rondavel 2 can sleep 4 people in two rooms.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohannKnobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ab-traveler24, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Emhosheni River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Dear Johann,
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Emhosheni River Lodge. It is nice to read “you're staying over at a friend's house”.
That's exactly what we want for our guests, that they feel at home.
It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we are happy that we could make your stay special.
We would be honored to have you as our guest again.
Warm regards,
Management and Team of Emhosheni River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We had no idea what to expect when we booked Emhosheni. And just as well. It was not like anywhere else we stayed on our trip. From the moment we entered Parsons Reserve, we knew we were in for a treat. The road in from the R40 was a great adventure in itself, the highlight being a sort of giraffe convention in the middle of the road which entertained us for quite a while on the way in. Arriving at the oasis of Emhosheni, right on the Olifants River, we were welcomed literally with open arms by Leandra and Dave, an extraordinarily nice couple who spent the next couple of days making sure we got the most out of our stay in the bush. The rondawels are luxurious without being over the top, the food was great (ask Dave to make you an Ostrich steak if available), the views from the room and the pool were amazing, with all sorts of animal activity right beyond the fence, day and night. Dave took us on a couple of game drives around the reserve. It was a very personal stay, not like the more commercial operations in some of the bigger reserves. There's no guarantee of seeing leopards and lions, but pretty much everything will walk by if you keep your eyes open. Couldn't recommend Emhosheni highly enough. Thanks for letting us share your little piece of paradise.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank barneyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandra H, Owner at Emhosheni River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Nick and David,

Thank you very much for your recent visit.

And also thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment and for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. It pleases us to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Without constructive feedback from our guests such as yourself, it is not possible for our lodge to measure the quality of the service provided.
Emhosheni is a place where the genuine care and comfort of our guests is our highest mission

We were very pleased to meet you, take care and we wish you both all the best.

Warm regards,
Leandra Hagen & Dave van Lith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Beautiful location. Hosts were wonderful people, couldn't do enough for us, the Rondawel we stayed in was lovely, clean and well equipped, even the outside shower - which was wonderful. Having breakfast looking out to the Olifants River and watching the hippos wallowing was wonderful. The food produced by Dave was gourmet 5 star, Leandra would explain what we were having on each course we had and everything we ate was perfect. They were both very knowledgable on the area and Dave had set up a night camera at the bottom of his garden by a watering hole he had created and in the morning at breakfast he would show you what animals had paid him a visit on his i- pad. He also took us out in his truck around the park where we see quite a few animals. We hired a car but we did need a 4 wheel drive as the track up to Emhosheni River took 45 mins from gate to the lodge due to the dirt track and stopping to see the wild life, but this adds to a great location. Would reccomend to anyone, absolutely lovely place and lovely hosts, would certainly visit again.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leandra H, Owner at Emhosheni River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Kim,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.
It was our pleasure having you as our guests and we are happy that we could make your holiday special. Thank you as well for the compliments about our food, it is always nice to read that the guests enjoyed our food.
It is our utmost concern to provide helpful and personal service to all of our guests, as these components are undoubtedly the basics of superior hospitality.
Emhosheni is a place where the genuine care and comfort of our guests is our highest mission.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge

Warm regards,
Leandra Hagen & Dave van Lith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

A truly amazing experience. Starting with the warm welcome by the hosts and staff, a little but necessary reality check that we are now in wilderness -- we quickly immersed into this world of wild beauty with its wonderful flora and fauna.

The extremely well maintained Emhosheni estate offers all the amenities to make the stay here most pleasant. It offers a subtle luxury that does not disturb the nature and your ‘bush’ experience. The lodges with their tasteful interior are comfy and offer stunning views.

The hosts are lovely, attentive and forthcoming … be it working out a Kruger Park route for a private drive, or preparing the accompanying picnic basket for that tour and waiting with dinner when you return.

Speaking of which, Dave happens to be an excellent chef (have him dish out bbq’ed meat). The dining always was a highlight.

Thank you, Leandra and Dave.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miro-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emhosheni, Owner at Emhosheni River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Miro,

Thank you for your wonderful comments.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Emhosheni River Lodge. It is nice to read “The dining always was a highlight”. For us is it very important to serve quality and variety and we are glad to hear that you appreciate it.
It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we are happy that we could make your stay special.

We would be honored to have you as our guests again.

Warm regards,
Leandra Hagen & Dave van Lith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews