We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
370
16
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
16
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole game drives infinity pool other guests attention to detail the reserve his knowledge his passion extra touches various parts moment you arrive outdoor shower rooms are spacious an excellent guide stayed longer a special place south africa
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed as 2 couples at the end of August and were truely amazed at pretty much everything the lodge had to offer.

- Staff were amazing, attentive and friendly.

- Food was fantastic! Still think about the banana bread now.

- Mike was a great guide, very knowledgeable and provided us with many a great conversation throughout our stay.

What was great as well was that you felt like you were friends, not guests, as Amore, Mike, Steve and Nicole would often eat and chat with you.

Will definately be back at some point

John + Megan (++adam + aimee)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at Toro Yaka and we loved every minute of it. Whenever we arrived at the lodge there was always someone waiting to greet us which is a lovely gesture. The drives with Michael were amazing - his knowledge is incredible and his passion for the animals and their welfare is exemplary. Nicole's cooking is wonderful, all of the food was delicious. The rooms were lovely - very clean and spacious and the outdoor shower was great. There are a lot of nice personal touches such as a turn down service with small gifts left on your bed.

You really can't ask for much more than good food, great company and wonderful wildlife. This was our first visit to South Africa, our first safari experience and we had such a great time that we would love to revisit.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

The Tora Yaka Lodge was a wonderful place with fabulous safari drives, employees that worked hard to make our stay memorable, fabulous food and owners Nichole and Steve that were involved day to day to make sure we were happy. The visit started with greetings by employees when we arrived and continued with great meals and then with Michael's extensive knowledge about the wildlife while on game drives. There was also an extensive library on wildlife, plants and many other natural history topics pertaining to South Africa. The rooms were super nice, very elegant and comfortable. The fables and chocolates on the pillows every evening were appreciated!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Knabstruper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

This is a gem of little place. The service you get and attention to detail from all staff is what makes this gem. I absolutely loved every minute of my stay. Excellent food too, great setting for every meal, wonderful easy and relaxed game drives with a very knowledgeable guide. Comfortable rooms.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toroyaka2006, Manager at Toro Yaka Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the feedback and are very happy hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I just visited Toro Yaka for a weekend, it was AMAZING!! If you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful and boutique experience then you can’t do any better. Nicole is the owner and offers awesome, personalized stay - you will feel like the only guest! She is highly professional, her whole team is the same - not intrusive but everything is thought of and no intrusion.

Our game ranger was George, just brilliant - knowledgeable, kind and amazing personality.

Food - brilliant and fresh!
Rooms - very clean, very fresh and comfortable.

The size of this Lodge, very small, is what makes it - you feel home. An absolute winner!

We will be back to Toro Yaka many times, thanks Nicole and Team!! See you again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PhilisiweS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toroyaka2006, Manager at Toro Yaka Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you Philisiwe,
We really enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to seeing you agin.
Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews