We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
378
16
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
16
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole game drives infinity pool other guests attention to detail the reserve his knowledge extra touches his passion various parts a special place rooms are spacious south africa an excellent guide outdoor shower wonderful hosts every meal
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

This is a beautiful resort with incredible staff. Nicole does an incredible job managing. We felt very at home and have already recommended it to friends. The game drives with Mike were awesome. He's been doing this for a long time and it shows. The new truck was incredibly comfortable compared to other game drives. Definitely stay here.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristinb265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

My opinion Toro Yaka Bush Lodge is the best Lodge in the reserve. The food is like dining at a 5 star restaurant and the service is too. Very friendly owner and staff. They make you feel at home. The guide/trackers are very knowledgeable and find animals every time you go out on a safari. Look forward to visiting again in the future.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MLC1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Have no second thoughts about booking Toro Yaka, it’s incredible !

Me & my partner stayed for 4 nights / 5 days at the bush lodge and loved every second.

Rooms are extremely spacious, cleaned every day and had everything we needed for the stay. The (hot) outdoor shower was a highlight!

The place is relatively small, meaning a small group of guests, most of them were returning - which was was a good sign!

Nicole and the entire team of staff made us feel extremely welcome from start to finish. Breakfast, lunches and dinners were amazing.

The two game drives per day were always packed full of sightings. Mike and Brendan (who took us out on the drives) are very good at what they do. They work very well as a partnership to track the incredible animals on the reserve. They’ll make your trip very insightful whilst having a bit of fun on the way.

Between the two drives it was great to chill out by the pool in the hot African Sun.

Overall, a relaxing trip but with tons of action!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank SteveUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We recently had 2 nights at Toro Yaka and couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.
From the friendly welcome it just kept getting better.
Nicole and the staff are first rate , everyone including the lodge staff knew our names and gave 5 star service.
The lodge facilities were great especially the pool. The meals were fantastic starting with the lunch when we arrived and the two dinners were truly wonderful.
The game drives were so enjoyable and interesting especially made so by Mike's unending knowledge and enthusiasm for what he was doing. He got us sooo close to the animals and gave us a truly memorable experience with the elephants and lions. This was topped off by great coffee from Brendan!
Three of the extra touches that made our stay just that little bit more enjoyable were Nicole or a staff member and the dogs being there every time we went on a drive and again on our return , the evening turndown chocolate and ' story scroll ' on our bedside table and the morning tea and sunset drinks on our morning and evening drives.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and I highly recommend Toro Yaka to anyone contemplating a visit to a game reserve.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mikeyb_and_michelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

My husband and I stayed here for four nights as part of our honeymoon. We adored every minute of our stay and really couldn't fault the place. The food is healthy and absolutely delicious- the breakfasts fresh and slightly different treats were baked every day to accompany whatever hot food you requested. The dinners were always a high point; it was so special to be in front of the open fire in a group and equally in front of the pool with the view of the watering hole and the various creatures that pass it in the evening. The bedroom was always beautifully tidy and we loved the little touch with the chocolate and bedtime story... Of course the game drives themselves every morning and evening were just fantastic too- Brendan and Mike were very knowledgable and made the drives so much fun. We really trusted them and they did a fantastic job. We are already planning when we can go back- I cannot imagine a better safari experience.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mol89lol89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews