We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
304
149
32
14
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
149
32
14
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviva safarisday safarisunset drivebush walkkruger parkbush braaithe breakfast areaguest houserehabilitation centremorning walklong drive from johannesburgstewj burgboma dinnerbalule reservespent one nightprivate reserve
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2015

This lodge is a perfect combination of comfort and a taste of the wild.
The garden is well maintained and all sorts of birds and animals run around in the bush. My room was nice and clean and the staff there are very helpful.
The only shortfall is that it's a little far from the park. -- Well it's right by the park but the closest entrance is about 40,50 minutes drive away. So we ended up spending a lot of time driving to and from the park. Other than that, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AnnalovesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Feb 2015. Party of 4 (two mature couples). Frequent visitors to South Africa, first time to Kruger. Took the 4 day safari. Because there were two couples, we booked the Guest House, which was icing on the cake. Selected this lodge because it is away from a lot of the managed game farms in the south of kruger.
Long transfer from J/burg, but well handled with lunches pre-ordered at a very nice midway stop. Stopped overnight in J/burg at MoAfrica on advice from Viva. MoAfrica has a poor approach, but a lovely homely overnight stop at a very reasonable price. Viva collected us at 9.30 the following day.
I could write a book about this visit, but suffice to say, the host Kim was brilliant, the lodge is just perfect, clean and food good. Lovely rooms, all the guides were excellent and very knowledgeable. Cannot complement them enough, especially Luke who was our guide through Orpen Gate into the park.
To Summerise. Everything we expected and more. Good value, keep it that way, it is bound to attract more business. We all felt that it was well worth the extra travel to get to the natural Bush lands.
We have taken safari's in Kenya and Tanzania, and this was just as good.

Room Tip: No Wifi in room, but free in the bar area.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank neverhome63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Hi there

It is so, so very pleasing to know that you rate your safari with VIVA SAFARIS " just as good " as safaris you have undertaken in Kenya and Tanzania !!

Adjectives you use such as " brilliant", " perfect" , " lovely " and "excellent" are absolutely wonderfully pleasing to receive.

We are really grateful that you believe that you received " everything it promised" and we assure you that we certainly will keep it that way - we pride ourselves in offering the very best value for money safaris to Kruger Park.

Kind regards

Piero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

I had a wonderful 4 day/3night safari at Tremisana Game Lodge. The staff could not have been more helpful, and the guides were exceptional. In total, I did five expeditions out from the Lodge during my stay and they were all great experiences, allowing me to see and photograph almost all of the Big 5 and many other animals as well. The pick-up from and delivery back to Johannesburg Airport was smooth and trouble-free.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Hi Rita

Thanks for a GREAT SAFARI REVIEW !!

We are especially pleased that you found the staff " could not have been more helpful " and that our guides were "exceptional ".

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the safari and that the transfers were "trouble-free".

Kind regards

Piero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

I have meant to review Tremisana and Mark's Treehouse Lodge since my experience there in September of 2013. The lodging staff, owner, manager (Bongani), safari drivers and trackers did a great job. I was greeted by Bongani and given a private ride to Balule reserve when I transferred from my other Safari experience based out of Skukuza Rest Camp. Bongani went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure I had everything I needed to enjoy my stay and checked with me periodically to check on my experience at the lodges.

The accommodations were excellent for the price paid and meals were satisfying and well done. I was with Tremisana and Mark's Treehouse lodge for about 8 days. The owner contacted me personally numerous times over my stay to ensure that I was satisfied with the activities and lodging. I was given the flexibility to tailor my safari experience and participate in available activities that suited my wishes and schedule. This level of attention and flexibility should not be expected by all visitors as I understand I was staying with them for much longer than most people on Safari and they wanted to ensure that I could participate in my preferred activities. I even had enough time to spend a day by the pool at Tremisana. The safari schedule involves early pre- dawn starts and some night drives so setting aside a day to chill by the pool was appreciated. Rye managed the lodge and made sure that special meals were available when I was the only person who stayed at the lodge for the day.

At Mark's Treehouse Lodge, the tall treehouse that I stayed in had a great bathroom down at ground level that provides a great open- air star gazing experience for night showers! The outdoor shower certainly added to the ambience and experience. Both properties are as expected for the price, with Tremisana being more comfortable and with great character while Mark's Treehouse Lodge has spectacular rustic character that is most likely comfortable enough for most fussy travelers (at least those with a penchant for luxury camping type accommodations).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pvaldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Hi there

Thanks for a wonderfully detailed and superb review !! Wow !!

We are thrilled to know that you hold all our staff from lodge staff, owner, managers, guides, trackers in high esteem.
Bongani will be so pleased to know how much you appreciated his efforts.

We are pleased that our flexibility was well received. We are glad that you were afforded the opportunities to participate in your preferred activities.

I am particularly pleased that, even on the day you choose to relax at our pool all alone, you were professionally handled and that Rai was attentive to your needs.

We are pleased also to read that you enjoyed the rustic atmosphere at Marc's Treehouse Lodge - we agree that even the fussiest traveller will be blown away by the "spectacular rustic character " of this unique camp.

Thanks for a comprehensive review.

Piero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

I have been there with 12 friends of mine in April 2014. They only accepted cash or a bank transfer through a South African bank and asked to pay half the amount for reservation. So we had to ask a friend of a friend of our friend to deliver our money. Luckily, after that was done, the whole experience had been great. The rooms were neat and small with a cosy small bathroom. The staff were extremely friendly and we exchanged life stories. The dinner was good (mostly grill) but had very few options for vegetarian friends among us. The breakfast was bread, sausages, eggs and beans. There is wifi in the bar area. Would recommend this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rishabhgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Hi Rishabh

Thanks for your efforts in writing a down to earth review.

We are nonplussed with regard to your remark about being unable to pay except by cash or bank transfer. The vast majority of our guests have paid and continue to pay by credit card. we have a user-friendly and totally secure facility on the Home Page of our website that facilitates quick and easy payment.

We are very pleased that your group of friends ( 14 is a large number ) enjoyed the safari. The title of your review " Awesome Safari" says it all - we are happy to know that your party enjoyed the safaris, the meals and the "warm" staff.

Thank you for an '' awesome '' review.

Kind regards

Piero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews