We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
415
174
37
17
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
415
174
37
17
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews viva safaris day safari sunset drive bush walk orpen gate the breakfast area guest house animal rehabilitation center hakuna matata kruger national park balule reserve mosquito net blyde river canyon the kitchen staff tree house wonderful experience african bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2015

I have been there with 12 friends of mine in April 2014. They only accepted cash or a bank transfer through a South African bank and asked to pay half the amount for reservation. So we had to ask a friend of a friend of our friend to deliver our money. Luckily, after that was done, the whole experience had been great. The rooms were neat and small with a cosy small bathroom. The staff were extremely friendly and we exchanged life stories. The dinner was good (mostly grill) but had very few options for vegetarian friends among us. The breakfast was bread, sausages, eggs and beans. There is wifi in the bar area. Would recommend this.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rishabhgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Hi Rishabh

Thanks for your efforts in writing a down to earth review.

We are nonplussed with regard to your remark about being unable to pay except by cash or bank transfer. The vast majority of our guests have paid and continue to pay by credit card. we have a user-friendly and totally secure facility on the Home Page of our website that facilitates quick and easy payment.

We are very pleased that your group of friends ( 14 is a large number ) enjoyed the safari. The title of your review " Awesome Safari" says it all - we are happy to know that your party enjoyed the safaris, the meals and the "warm" staff.

Thank you for an '' awesome '' review.

Kind regards

Piero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Perhaps I am jaded, but ... the staff was cold, the room were adequate, and the food oh well... that said our guide was superb and the safari was super memorable. Saw a Cheetah feeding on a kill and a buffalo give birth to a calf, in addition to "sundry" animals like elephants, giraffes, impalas, kudus, blue wilde beasts, zebras, spring boks etc... I would not go back to the lodge, but would do the safari anytime!

Room tip: No single or double rooms, so travel as a family/group and sleep in groups of 4 per room.,..
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SMB_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We stayed there for a couple of nights this summer. It is great for safari trips. Don`t expect luxury, it`s all you can expect from an accommodation in the bush. Rooms are small, but nice and very clean (they are cleaning every day). On our first night they organized an evening drive in the bush and then we had supper under a marulla tree in the wild. The food is good, at breakfast they usually serve English type food( sausages, eggs, ham, bean), for lunch we weren`t usually at the lodge, but when we were they made us some sandwiches. In the evening they serve soup, then two types of meat: chicken and another kind, it may even be game meat, vegetables and salad and dessert.
You can buy drinks from the bar.
They have wireless connection working good in the bar area and the surrounding rooms.
I could say the frogs singing in the evening were a bit disturbing.
They organize a day by day schedule for you, which is great. In the week we were there the person responsible with the schedules was in holiday so there were mix-ups, but we sorted it out. I highly recommend the bush walk. The guides taking you on safari are great, it`s a great opportunity to lean a lot of things about animals and their behavior.
All the guides are very good, but I must praise Bongani and Luke.
I highly recommend Tremisana.

Room tip: Rooms near the bar get wifi connection.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anita_BCluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2015

I had a great stay at the Tremisana Lodge in November 2014. The room was nice, very comfortable and loved the bed! - super comfy :)

The food was very delicious especially dinner (3 course) which was cooked by the African ladies every night. They even did home-made bread which was soooo good. The only bit annoying thing at breakfast was, that we had our scheduled departures for the safari, so we had to have breakfast on time. But they served eggs, bacon etc..always 20 mins after they served the toast, cereals,tea etc... so was always in a rush to eat.

They also provided you with an adapter in case you did not have the right one.

The lodge is set in a tropical surrounding with fountains, palm trees and some deckchairs. They also have monkeys on the property. When having breakfast, I could also watch the giraffe passing by :)

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
6  Thank ChristineP737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Hi Christine

Thank you for an equally GREAT review !

We are especially happy to know that you had a great sleep on our "super comfy beds".

Delina and the ladies will be thrilled to read about the comment on the delicious food and especially the home-made bread.

I am glad that you liked the tropical atmosphere of our gardens - the palms and water fountains certainly play their part.

Always great to read about the wildlife - super to have a giraffe around while you enjoy your breakfast !

Kind regards

Piero
General Manager, VIVA SAFARIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2014

I had an unbelievable experience at Tremisana and Marc's. Passionate guides, nice food and an impressive wooden accommodation! We had two bushwalks, an open game drive and one day at Kruger, where we saw elephants, rhinos, crocodiles, hippos and buffalos, with interesting explaining by the guides. Go there and you'll see for yourself!

Date of stay: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GrietjeS31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews