We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2021

I recently spent two nights at Pungwe and had a brilliant time, wished it could have been for longer. Tim was a brilliant host and made sure we had a great time. The guides, trackers and all the staff were also excellent. We had some great wildlife sightings and I really enjoyed the feel of the camp, being off grid and authentic. Its a magical place to stay and I will definitely return if I can.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EH327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell Owen, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful review! Thank you for sharing it with us, our staff will be thrilled to receive your feedback. It would be wonderful to host you gain in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020

Pungwe Safari Lodge is the place to go to get away from city life and to celebrate the end of 2020 annus horriblus! How blessed we were to be a group of 8 girl friends, invited to celebrate a special birthday at this wondrous location. We were welcomed with open arms by Tim and his amazing team with not even a hint of trepidation as to the whirlwind visit of ladies cooped up during lockdown and looking to let their hair down. Nothing was too much trouble for our visit. From the comfortable accommodation, food to die for with epic game drives and sightings, we gorged ourselves on our beautiful surroundings and humbling animal experiences. What an amazing experience! [Insert the adage - What happens at Pungwe STAYS at Pungwe!] Having the whole camp to ourselves, we enjoyed every single moment and relishing this soul reviving experience to its fullest. Blessed to have been able to experience this gem in the Manyeleti reserve, we left a few kilos heavier (thanks Robert) but rejuvenated and ready to tackle what lies ahead. We hope to be back in the not too distant future.

Room tip: All four rooms are similar and have a private verandah
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresagA705VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2020

Pungwe is an intimate camp with a true bush feel. Loved the fact that it is off the grid which adds to the true bush experience. With only 4 tents you are properly looked after. Fantastic drives with Never and Isaac and managed to see amazing sightings. Food is unbelievable and Robert makes sure you never go hungry. Particularly enjoyed the evening dinner next to the fire where the steaks and game wors were outstanding.
Morning coffee from an old style kettle on the fire is a great way to start the day.
Tim and the rest of the staff made us feel at home from the moment we arrived and made sure we enjoyed ourselves. Loved the unfenced nature of this camp with elephant and Hyena in the camp during our stay.
Will be back hopefully!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2020

We were 4 couples from Australia on a road trip around South Africa. Pungwe definitley one of if not the highlight for all of us. We had the pleasure of the entire camp to ourselves. Those who had previosuly not been in the African bush described the stay as an "experience of a lifetime". The camp and accommodation is great - a balance of rustic and adequate luxury. The only dissapointment the wood-fired showers that were far from hot.

Game drives truly memorable. In the two days we saw the big-5 with excellent sightings of the big cats - including the illusive leopard with a kill. Isaac our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and ready with the sundowners. The hyena visiting the camp early moment was a welcomem surprise.Hyena

Room tip: All four tents will be equally good.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1davidgiovannini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020 via mobile

What do you call a place where you feel time flies and stands still all at the same time... A place where you long for the comfy bed under the draped mosquito net only to hear the hyenas calling at night as they pad past your tent in the moonlight.... A place where you long for the cheery good morning wake up call because it means coffee around an ever present black tin pot around the smouldering embers of a leadwood fire, as the sun turns the sky a beautiful orange pink.. what do you call a place where the wind caresses your skin on game drive and your mind feels still and your heart Happy... where around every morning could be a elephant herd with a baby throwing it's little trunk around, or a pride of lazy lions or an incredible pack of 20 yapping painted dogs (wilddogs). This place where your heart feels at home, where the management and the staff and the whole team (Isaac, Michel, Wanda, Violet, Tim, and the amazing chefs) make you feel like friends... This place that makes you feel you've been here your whole life, and yet you'd still never want to leave. The quietness, the stillness, the wilderness, the authenticity of being around friendly people in the beautiful of nature... Where is this you might ask... This...is Pungwe.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sightsee57299543783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews