We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2020

We were 4 couples from Australia on a road trip around South Africa. Pungwe definitley one of if not the highlight for all of us. We had the pleasure of the entire camp to ourselves. Those who had previosuly not been in the African bush described the stay as an "experience of a lifetime". The camp and accommodation is great - a balance of rustic and adequate luxury. The only dissapointment the wood-fired showers that were far from hot.

Game drives truly memorable. In the two days we saw the big-5 with excellent sightings of the big cats - including the illusive leopard with a kill. Isaac our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and ready with the sundowners. The hyena visiting the camp early moment was a welcomem surprise.Hyena

Room tip: All four tents will be equally good.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1davidgiovannini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020 via mobile

What do you call a place where you feel time flies and stands still all at the same time... A place where you long for the comfy bed under the draped mosquito net only to hear the hyenas calling at night as they pad past your tent in the moonlight.... A place where you long for the cheery good morning wake up call because it means coffee around an ever present black tin pot around the smouldering embers of a leadwood fire, as the sun turns the sky a beautiful orange pink.. what do you call a place where the wind caresses your skin on game drive and your mind feels still and your heart Happy... where around every morning could be a elephant herd with a baby throwing it's little trunk around, or a pride of lazy lions or an incredible pack of 20 yapping painted dogs (wilddogs). This place where your heart feels at home, where the management and the staff and the whole team (Isaac, Michel, Wanda, Violet, Tim, and the amazing chefs) make you feel like friends... This place that makes you feel you've been here your whole life, and yet you'd still never want to leave. The quietness, the stillness, the wilderness, the authenticity of being around friendly people in the beautiful of nature... Where is this you might ask... This...is Pungwe.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sightsee57299543783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

It's a cosy intimate camp with only 4 "tents"
The staff & management were very nice & accommodating.
The food was very good, they even made a superb cake for my birthday, quite a feat with no electricity.
You're very close to nature in the camp, we saw a lion and hyena from the dining table!
But, of course, it's the game drives you came for & we had some brilliant ones. A thrilling standoff between a herd of buffalo & a large pride of lion. We placed ourselves on the halfway line and were entertained for about an hour.
It was so good we are going to make the trip from Australia again this year.

Room tip: no need they're all good, glam tents
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PauloZimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

We spent 5 fantastic days with the manager Michele and his wonderfull staff.
We enjoyed every minute at this tiny Safari Camp with max 8 guests, one night even only the 2 of us enjoying the game and later the evening diner under the stars. There is no electricity, no disturbing internet. The 'tents' are luxurious, spotless clean, huge beds with mosquito nets. The food is excuisite and all the staff smiling and helpfull and discrete. Michele ads his energy and enormous knowledge to this very personal and unforgettable experience. Allow yourself to stay 4-6 days to get into rythm and vibe of the bush. We will come back, next time bringing our adult children to this particular place ...

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Culture623772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2020

Thank you to everyone at Pungwe for a truly sublime experience. I was able to connect to the African bush more than anywhere else I've been so far. From the once in a lifetime game viewing to the attentive and beautiful people that make up the Pungwe family, it was a stay I won't ever forget.

The raw intimate nature of this little slice of Africa truly tunes you into what is important.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Service
Thank Flippidyflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews