We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
164
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2020

It's a cosy intimate camp with only 4 "tents"
The staff & management were very nice & accommodating.
The food was very good, they even made a superb cake for my birthday, quite a feat with no electricity.
You're very close to nature in the camp, we saw a lion and hyena from the dining table!
But, of course, it's the game drives you came for & we had some brilliant ones. A thrilling standoff between a herd of buffalo & a large pride of lion. We placed ourselves on the halfway line and were entertained for about an hour.
It was so good we are going to make the trip from Australia again this year.

Room tip: no need they're all good, glam tents
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauloZimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

We spent 5 fantastic days with the manager Michele and his wonderfull staff.
We enjoyed every minute at this tiny Safari Camp with max 8 guests, one night even only the 2 of us enjoying the game and later the evening diner under the stars. There is no electricity, no disturbing internet. The 'tents' are luxurious, spotless clean, huge beds with mosquito nets. The food is excuisite and all the staff smiling and helpfull and discrete. Michele ads his energy and enormous knowledge to this very personal and unforgettable experience. Allow yourself to stay 4-6 days to get into rythm and vibe of the bush. We will come back, next time bringing our adult children to this particular place ...

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Culture623772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2020

Thank you to everyone at Pungwe for a truly sublime experience. I was able to connect to the African bush more than anywhere else I've been so far. From the once in a lifetime game viewing to the attentive and beautiful people that make up the Pungwe family, it was a stay I won't ever forget.

The raw intimate nature of this little slice of Africa truly tunes you into what is important.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Service
Thank Flippidyflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2019

Once the realisation that there was no electricity had sunk in, thus became an enjoyable and rewarding experience. Marcel was a convivial host with the staff in general helpful and friendly. But the coup de grace were the game drives. I have been fortunate to have had many safari game drives in east and southern Africa, but these were the best given that we were able to get very close to the game. I would recommend a 5 day stay so the positives of Pungwe can be appreciated. A 2 day package is insufficient.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2019

The camp & staff
When we arrived we where very warm welcomed by Michel and his team, from the first moment he gives you the feeling to be welcome, like he was waiting for old friends to show up! Being in the manyeleti for 28 years, I don’t think there is somebody better suited to host you.
All the other staff just kept on going with the same amount of passion about their work and this reflects on the guest.
The tents are spacious and very clean, all with direct views into the bush and privacy.
Being an unfenced camp gives this place the wild feeling that most guest are looking for and that is very rare in South Africa.
Please keep it this way. The first night we heard leopard, lion & hyena in 1 hour time, and in the morning we could see the tracks walking past the tents, this place is wild.
Being so close to Hoedspruit and even Nelspruit it is so easy and affordable to make your way there!

Food
The food is amazing, their is no power so it really is a mystery to me how the chef can provide us with this quality!
From pre-drive coffee from the kettle over breakfast, lunch and amazing 3-course dinner, all was great!
Dinner was served under the stars around the campfire, the Hyena coming to visit during dinner was a highlight of our stay!
Breakfast/brunch was also a full stocked meal that provided power till high tea!

Wildlife
Being in between Kruger, Sabi Sands & Klaserie the amount of game is insured.
The 1 hour drive from the gate to the lodge gave us big herds of zebra, waterbuck, wildebeest, elephant & buffalo.
We had close encounters with all the big 5 during the game drives.
On the second drive we saw the big 5 + cheetah + wild dogs.
The guides really did all the effort without bothering the animals, all the guides work there for a long time and are born in this region so they know this place as the back of their hand.

We’ve been to the Krugerpark area, mainly the private reserves, for more then 10 times.
Price Quality Pungwe is just unbeatable, don”t doubt to go there is you want to experience the real Africa.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichielR93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews