We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2019

This is a must go! Staying here really gives you the bush experience as it should be. With only 4 tents, a maximum of 8 people can stay in the camp. No fences, no electricity and animals walking through the camp. The rangers are great during the gamedrives en walkes and have a lot of knowledge about the busy. It has been the best experience of our trip!

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nadiahfrijns2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it is always a pleasure to hear that people appreciate the authenticity of our safari camp. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2019

A true and authentic bush experience, wilderness at its best.
Dining under the stars, having lions chasing buffalloes 10 meters away from our table! Once in a lifetime!
Special thanks to the staff cooking wonders on the fire, and making everything so confortable.
Will be back, for sure!

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sfaill230953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

A belated thank you for you fantastic review, we cherish each and every one of these. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Pungwe for the first three days of our honeymoon. All I can say is wow! The staff were fabulous and that includes all the ladies who looked after the camp especially Violet and Lucky, the Chef Rob, and our tracker and guide Isaac and Wander. On our game drives the guys did their utmost to not only find all the animals we wanted to see but provide us with experiences, whether it was a lion mating or finding the right spot that a hippo would cross in front of us. Returning back to camp to a beautifully prepared tent complete with bath and exceptional food and service. Can’t recommend highly enough. No negatives except saying goodbye.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank PJMORGAN2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2019

Our stay at Pungwe was exceptional...would resommend it to almost everyone who's keen to experience a bit of Africa's Wild Life. John and his team are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed every minute. Thanx!

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ssalat819849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2019

We had the most amazing three nights at Pungwe! Actually indescribable! Isaac and Never were phenomenal guides! Rhino tracking and sighting on our morning walking safaris; cheetah, leopard and the entire big five! And coming home (because that’s exactly what it felt like) to Robbies sensational cooking and Michelle’s hospitality. It is true that three days in the Bush will feel like three weeks. We cannot wait to go back! The homely, authentic Bush experience was something I have never experienced! This is being in the Bush! This is experiencing Africa in all its elements!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JaxGarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews