We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
164
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2019 via mobile

Pungwe Safari camp was definitely the highlight of our stay in South Africa. This was everything we could dream of for a safari. A tent with the luxury of a hotel room, wild animals right outside the camp, great food and above all - fantastic hosts... We truly fell like staying with friends we had known for a long time. If you want to experience the bush without the (number) feeling of the Kruger park - Pungwe Safari Camp is the place to stay. Many thanks to Michel, Isaac, Rob, Wonderboy and all of the staff members who made this an unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jverschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2019

This was our first time to Pungwe and we knew it was going to be special. The communication with Alex from booking to arrival was excellent. She is an organised lady! We met her husband Rich on arrival and had a great chat. The Manager, Michel was awesome. He is so hospitable and accommodating. Nothing was too much. We even ended up catching up with him for coffee when we stayed in Hoedspruit for a few days. He already feels like an old friend.

We drove from Johannesburg airport to the gate in a rented Toyota Corolla without any issues. It took us about 6.5 hours with a petrol/lunch stop.

The accommodations are very comfortable. Yes, no electricity or wifi. We had hot water showers and a proper bathroom with flushing toilet, comfortable bed and a power point from solar to charge our gear. You can also charge your gear and use the power points in the lounge area. Rob was an excellent chef. His carrot cake was amazing. All our meals were wonderful. We loved the camp. There are no fences so it’s not unusual to see and hear hyenas in the camp at night or buffalo grazing when you get back from an afternoon drive. Very cool!

We had Isaac as our guide for our 3 nights and he was fantastic, along with Neville our tracker. We paid a little extra to do drives instead of walks in the morning due to us having heavy camera gear. We were spoiled for choice on the drives. We saw cheetah, leopard and lion all in 24 hours. We had some of the most up close and amazing elephants experiences we’ve ever had. On a few of our drives it was just us and Isaac and on one drive we took our high tea with us and sat by a waterhole and watched a herd of elephants come it to drink. Such an experience!

I can’t recommend this place highly enough. If you love being in nature and amongst the bush, you will feel a real connection here. We did. We have already booked again for next year. Rich and Alex kindly organised for us to visit their other lodge, Abelana, while we were staying in Hoedspruit. It was only a 35 minute drive and, while still in it’s infancy, the scenery is spectacular. The Managers John and Marj were so lovely. We’ll do a couple of nights there next year too.

Do yourself a favour and come and see this place, for the bush, the game and the staff.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

This was truly what I was looking for - an African adventure! Food was so delicious thanks to Chef Robert. Out tent was extremely comfortable and not having electricity or WiFi or cell service made the entire experience so much better. The staff took such good care of us. Our guide and tracker made sure we saw all the Big 5 animals up very close. It was perfect from start to finish.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

I did a photographic safari with Ernest from Eagle Eye Safaris and he booked us in to Pungwe for 3 nights. It was a charming tented camp, friendly staff, great food and a kettle always boiling on the campfire for hot drinks. Michel, the Manager, was very friendly and a good host, helping everyone to feel comfortable, regardless of their home language. The food was incredible, considering the small kitchen it was produced in. Hyaenas came walking through the camp, even nibbled on something outside my room one night. The game drives were also impressive. Got to see a wild dog family without lots of other vehicles. These are benefits of private nature reserves.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scarlettvixxen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019

We LOVED everything about Pungwe Amazing Host and Dedicated Staff
It was a truly remarkable back to Africa Experience
Thank You Alex for all your help and patience with our arrangements you were wonderful and everything was super accommodating and smooth as could be booking transfers, information
If you want to return to an era that has seemed to fade you need to visit Pungwe you will be thrilled with the return to Africa Safari as it should be. No electricity enhances the stars as they light up the evening sky and soft burning lanterns create a soft glow all around you. It is a natural not to be missed, meals were excellent thumbs up to Violet who truly knows and understands the art of cooking and determined game drivers went above and beyond !
First day in we experienced up close and personal a beautiful pride of lions with their cubs thank you Michele for that outstanding experience. Next morning we saw six lionesses on the prowl they are so amazing to behold as they passed right in front of the Safari Vehicle Then there were Zebra Giraffe Hyenas Kudu Antelope Rhino's ,Buffalo Elephants oh sooo many elephants and so much more.It felt as if the wild life invited us to join their tapestry and share their wonder We had an exciting twilight drive tracking an evasive Leopard who Isaac and Wonder Boy finally caught up with due to their artful tracking and driving skills And the Sunset nowhere in the world is the fiery orange ball of sun so commanding as it is in the African sky. The beauty is almost incomprehensible and clearly takes your breath away. God is clearly present in all that is Africa
Accommodations were safari authentic and filled all our needs and that is how you would want them to be to revel in what is natural to feel and see and touch and taste all that is AFRICA In my heart there is nothing more enthralling than waking up surrounded by the sounds and smells the euphoria that is Africa and Pungwe embodies that to perfection .Here's to Wonderful South African Wine,Deliciously Prepared Food, Amazing Dedicated Host and Staff Glorious Wild Life and Great Conversation ! Thank you for allowing us to share this time with all of you!!!! Johannah Anthony Danielle & Michael

Room tip: All Are The Same You cannot go wrong!!!
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oshea58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews