We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2019 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights at pungwe and enjoyed every second there. Very peaceful and luckily no electricity or cell phone signal so the sounds of the bush makes you imagine how things were before the days of needing social media and contact with the outside world. Enjoy this time as you will be yearning for it when you return to your everyday lives. Many thanks to all the staff. Pungwe isnt a luxury lodge so dont expect anything that a luxury lodge has to offer,meals are nice,rooms lovely and the game viewing is superb.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank capewena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2019

I spent 4 nights and 5 days. the experience was just incredible. if I could give it 6 stars, I would. the rangers are so knowledgeable and went above and beyond to let us see the big five and the big 7 which we did. the food would be superb if it was prepared in the middle of Manhattan but it was prepared in the middle of no where so it was even more amazing. the rooms/tents were so comfortable! taking a shower was sooooo cool as the water is heated by a wood fire right outside the room. and we had flush toilet!!!! the other big plus for me was that there was no fence so the animals could come close by and they did! we heard lions, hyenas, and elephants were regular visitors.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and loved the experience.
Tents with inbuilt toilets on a raised platform, no electricity, solar power during the day in the lounge area for charging batteries, oil lamps and hurricane lamps at night, no fencing of boundary, donkey boiler with firewood burning for hot water in shower, this is nishite.
The hyenas scratching the tent at night, the impala and francolins resting in the shade of the tent, the bull elephant munching on branches by the side of the tent, this is wild Africa at its best.
The staff were very efficient, the cook Robert could prepare 3 course menus with his limited resources, the game drives were excellent.
Our guide Issac and tracker Noelle were an excellent team and could give us unforgettable wildlife experiences as off roading was allowed.
Rare experience was seeing a Cheetah calling to his mate who was some distance away, and seeing 2 leopards , one male and one female, with their kill, hauling it up the tree, and that too on the same day. A very lucky day indeed.
The only downside was a problem in getting hot water in the bathroom due to some fault in the donkey boiler which could not be rectified even after the best efforts of the staff. But it is , after all, all part of life in the bush, and we loved it.
Would love to go back again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KajariM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you so much for your review, it's really rewarding for us when our guests appreciate the authentic african bush experience tinged with the necessary luxuries that we offer. The recalcitrant donkey boiler has subsequently been repaired, thank you for your understanding with regard to issues that can afflict a remote safari camp from time to time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2019

We have had an unforgettable stay in Pungwe Bush camp. The staff has taken real good care of us and we were too lucky to see the big 5 in under 24 hours. It’s a very special camp where you stay really close to all animals. Amazing trip. Would recommended it to everyone.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnnebelleGoossens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation, it is really satisfying to receive compliments of this nature. It is becoming more and more difficult to find true bush experiences within the greater Kruger area, we are so glad that you enjoyed yours with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Was an absolute experience. Thank you. Shower water was just cold for some or other reason. But we survived as the rest of the experience was fabulous. Alex can you please send me Clair’s cell number. They were there with us and I would like to contact her to get together perhaps in October or next March as we got on so well.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews