We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and loved the experience.
Tents with inbuilt toilets on a raised platform, no electricity, solar power during the day in the lounge area for charging batteries, oil lamps and hurricane lamps at night, no fencing of boundary, donkey boiler with firewood burning for hot water in shower, this is nishite.
The hyenas scratching the tent at night, the impala and francolins resting in the shade of the tent, the bull elephant munching on branches by the side of the tent, this is wild Africa at its best.
The staff were very efficient, the cook Robert could prepare 3 course menus with his limited resources, the game drives were excellent.
Our guide Issac and tracker Noelle were an excellent team and could give us unforgettable wildlife experiences as off roading was allowed.
Rare experience was seeing a Cheetah calling to his mate who was some distance away, and seeing 2 leopards , one male and one female, with their kill, hauling it up the tree, and that too on the same day. A very lucky day indeed.
The only downside was a problem in getting hot water in the bathroom due to some fault in the donkey boiler which could not be rectified even after the best efforts of the staff. But it is , after all, all part of life in the bush, and we loved it.
Would love to go back again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KajariM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you so much for your review, it's really rewarding for us when our guests appreciate the authentic african bush experience tinged with the necessary luxuries that we offer. The recalcitrant donkey boiler has subsequently been repaired, thank you for your understanding with regard to issues that can afflict a remote safari camp from time to time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2019

We have had an unforgettable stay in Pungwe Bush camp. The staff has taken real good care of us and we were too lucky to see the big 5 in under 24 hours. It’s a very special camp where you stay really close to all animals. Amazing trip. Would recommended it to everyone.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnnebelleGoossens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation, it is really satisfying to receive compliments of this nature. It is becoming more and more difficult to find true bush experiences within the greater Kruger area, we are so glad that you enjoyed yours with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Was an absolute experience. Thank you. Shower water was just cold for some or other reason. But we survived as the rest of the experience was fabulous. Alex can you please send me Clair’s cell number. They were there with us and I would like to contact her to get together perhaps in October or next March as we got on so well.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019 via mobile

Where to begin?!
What an amazing place. The experience was incredible; from making tea on the fire, to hearing lions and hyeans in the camp site, the peace from wifi and electricity to the phenomenal game drives.
The camp itself is great and the safari tents are excellent. The tents are spacious and well furnished.
The food is wonderful and the guides, staff and host contribute to an overall excellent experience.
It's the perfect place to unwind, relax and truly experience what the African Bush has to offer.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SamNicholson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you for your very kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your authentic bush stay with us, I will convey your thanks to our staff. Hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2019

A very different safari experience for us. The camp was recommended and met our expectations.

Only ever 8 guests so felt like we were the only guests at times

lovely thatched accomodation. The whole camp has no electricity so lovely at night with old parafin lamps. Donkey boiler gave hot water and we were never cold showered

food was excellent so thanks Rob and Violet and ladies

Safari and game viewing was excellent we even saw serval and african wildcat!

Please before you go make sure you read what the camp offers.. Its a walk in the morning and game drive in the afternoon! this does cause confusion. As its a shared truck be aware of other peoples likes and dislikes so you need to be happy with guest dynamics.

One tip please leave enough time to arrive as it is about an hour from the gate to the camp

Room tip: Take a powerbank for camera batteries
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saxon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review and your advice to fellow travellers, we really appreciate it. I will convey your tanks to Robert, Violet and the rest of the staff. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews