We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
164
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Was an absolute experience. Thank you. Shower water was just cold for some or other reason. But we survived as the rest of the experience was fabulous. Alex can you please send me Clair’s cell number. They were there with us and I would like to contact her to get together perhaps in October or next March as we got on so well.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2019 via mobile

Where to begin?!
What an amazing place. The experience was incredible; from making tea on the fire, to hearing lions and hyeans in the camp site, the peace from wifi and electricity to the phenomenal game drives.
The camp itself is great and the safari tents are excellent. The tents are spacious and well furnished.
The food is wonderful and the guides, staff and host contribute to an overall excellent experience.
It's the perfect place to unwind, relax and truly experience what the African Bush has to offer.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SamNicholson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you for your very kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your authentic bush stay with us, I will convey your thanks to our staff. Hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2019

A very different safari experience for us. The camp was recommended and met our expectations.

Only ever 8 guests so felt like we were the only guests at times

lovely thatched accomodation. The whole camp has no electricity so lovely at night with old parafin lamps. Donkey boiler gave hot water and we were never cold showered

food was excellent so thanks Rob and Violet and ladies

Safari and game viewing was excellent we even saw serval and african wildcat!

Please before you go make sure you read what the camp offers.. Its a walk in the morning and game drive in the afternoon! this does cause confusion. As its a shared truck be aware of other peoples likes and dislikes so you need to be happy with guest dynamics.

One tip please leave enough time to arrive as it is about an hour from the gate to the camp

Room tip: Take a powerbank for camera batteries
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saxon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review and your advice to fellow travellers, we really appreciate it. I will convey your tanks to Robert, Violet and the rest of the staff. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2019 via mobile

Authentic Pungwe. From the day we arrived till the day we left we were made to feel like family. The tents were spacious & kept very clean. Staff very helpful & pleasant. Walks & Drives were amazing seeing the super 7. Mich also arranged visits to the community & a Crèche Pungwe help . We had such an awesome time I’m already looking to book for next year big thanks to Mich & all the staff

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KevKenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2019

An unforgettable experience among the wild animals of Africa. We stayed for 2 nights at Pungwe Safari Camp. The rooms/tents were really large, clean and the beds were comfortable. Thanks to the absence of fences, we experienced several animals sniffing and walking around the tests during the night, which gave our stay an extra dimension. The absence of electricity or telephone service was relaxing as nobody was on their phones. We were really lucky as we saw the big five and much more during the four game drives. The Rangers knew a lot about Manyaleti park and all the animals which made our encounters more informative. The 3 to 4 meals during the day were also really good. We would highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 336erikn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews