We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2019

The camp was great, basic but just as expected. Michel was a great host, the food was excellent and the guides (Isaac in particular) always managed to find the animals we were looking for - all of the big five, plus wild dogs!

We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

We had the most amazing experience with our 4 day stay at Pungwe it was so peaceful and relaxing. the staff were so lovely and looked after us very well from camp to safari drives. The camp and tents are very comfortable just felt 5 star and luxurious, excellent game viewing with good trackers !! we was so lucky to have regular visits from the elephants who are free to wander through the camp. we would defiantly stay again.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 407hannahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Stayed 3 days in this little lovely camp, food was great and the staff was very friendly and professional.
The tents where we slept were very clean and comfortable.
Even if we were in a bush camp with our guide, Julian, we always felt safe.
If you want to live a real safari experience Pungwe is your place.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Edoardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

The Pungwe Safari Camp is truly exceptional. The camp is small, 4 tents only, it is unfenced and has no electrcity, except for some limited solar power, It brings the visitor into a real bush environment. Animals walk freely into the camp, so, at night, one has to be a bit vigilant.We encountered elephants and Hyena's. There were probably a few more which we didn't see or hear... The tented rooms are perfect, clean, well maintained with hot and cold water and very comfortable beds. The guides are exceptional - thanks Wonderboy - and the cooking of Chef Robert is fantastic....If you love Africa, the bush and animals, and you want to totally disconnect, this is the place to go!!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank koen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

We had a great stay in Pungwe, were we spent new year's eve. Very well organised structure, with great tents and amazing staff. The chef is amazing, preparing simple dishes and full of flavor! We had amazing sightings with Elephants, Lions and Hyenas around and in the camp. The best place to stay to be in close contact with nature!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LarissaS3081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews