We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2018

We stayed here at the start of our honeymoon in November 2018. We didn't really know what to expect but this place exceeded all our expectations. The game drives and walks were fantastic and Isaac was fab. We were so lucky to see so much wildlife and Isaac went out of his way to help us see rhinos on our 3rd day. It is a far better experience than Kruger from what we heard because the jeeps can go off road and you also don't end up with so many jeeps trying to watch one animal or animals as it is limited to 3 jeeps. The food was fantastic and the tents were immaculate with hot water from the shower. An unforgettable experience hearing buffalo, elephants and lions outside your tent at night and walking back to your tent and seeing a hyena 10 metres away. We would definitely recommend it for a great safari experience.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2018 via mobile

My family and I spent 5 days at Pungwe and it was an unforgettable experience. We were very lucky and with Isaac’s brilliant tracking skills, we saw the big 5 as well as so many other wonderful animals.

The game camp was exactly what we hoped for; relaxing and immersive and no electricity in the camp, the week was a true holiday from normal, busy life.

Robbie’s cooking was delicious and a definite highlight. We couldn’t recommend Pungwe enough and look forward to making a return trip in the future!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jod265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018

Small unfenced camp in the Greater Kruger Park. Absolutely stunning! One of the best places I ever went in 30 years of Kruger. Excellent service, food, tents, .... If you're looking for a real bush exerience, this is the place to be.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Coastal26567607821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

As a seasoned local traveler to many private game lodges, Pungwe definitely offer value for money, low key and affordable, 'green camp' and rustic but very comfortable, staff were very friendly and helpful, and guide was very knowledgeable, game vehicles were safe and comfortable, and would recommend not less than 3 days minimum to get the full experience of the South African bush, and the amazing game and bird viewing it offers!.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We spent two fabulous nights at Pungwe and couldn’t recommend it enough. The team looked after us so well and Violets cooking was second to none! We chose Pungwe after having the guides recommended and Issac and Wonderboy did not disappoint. Their knowledge of the park was exceptional!
We also chose the camp because it was small, intimate with no electricity and had no perimeter fence - being that close to the wildlife and sounds of the animals and birds was extraordinary. If you’re after a genuine safari experience then Pungwe is for you. Thank you!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ksm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews