We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2018 via mobile

My family and I spent 5 days at Pungwe and it was an unforgettable experience. We were very lucky and with Isaac’s brilliant tracking skills, we saw the big 5 as well as so many other wonderful animals.

The game camp was exactly what we hoped for; relaxing and immersive and no electricity in the camp, the week was a true holiday from normal, busy life.

Robbie’s cooking was delicious and a definite highlight. We couldn’t recommend Pungwe enough and look forward to making a return trip in the future!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jod265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018

Small unfenced camp in the Greater Kruger Park. Absolutely stunning! One of the best places I ever went in 30 years of Kruger. Excellent service, food, tents, .... If you're looking for a real bush exerience, this is the place to be.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Coastal26567607821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

As a seasoned local traveler to many private game lodges, Pungwe definitely offer value for money, low key and affordable, 'green camp' and rustic but very comfortable, staff were very friendly and helpful, and guide was very knowledgeable, game vehicles were safe and comfortable, and would recommend not less than 3 days minimum to get the full experience of the South African bush, and the amazing game and bird viewing it offers!.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We spent two fabulous nights at Pungwe and couldn’t recommend it enough. The team looked after us so well and Violets cooking was second to none! We chose Pungwe after having the guides recommended and Issac and Wonderboy did not disappoint. Their knowledge of the park was exceptional!
We also chose the camp because it was small, intimate with no electricity and had no perimeter fence - being that close to the wildlife and sounds of the animals and birds was extraordinary. If you’re after a genuine safari experience then Pungwe is for you. Thank you!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ksm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

This is a safari bush camp which provides a traditional experience of life and game viewing close to the bush. There are no fences and animals can move through the camp - mainly at night but sometimes during the day. The new tents are housed beneath a thick and protective thatched roof. There is a smooth tiled floor, bathroom with hot and cold water and a flush WC and a very comfortable large bed with mosquito net. There is no electricity or WiFi and lighting is by oil lamp and candle at night, so soft and gentle. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Our ranger was superb and we had amazing game sightings. We stayed for 5 days and saw lion and/or leopard every day as well as multiple sightings of rhino, elephant and buffalo. It was magical to lie in our safe comfortable tents at night, hearing lions roar close by. The stars are extraordinary. If you want a complete digital detox and a return to slow and leisurely life, this is the place to come!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank janedemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hi Jane

Thank you for your most complimentary review, we love it when our guests share our enthusiasm for a complete digital detox and a reconnection with themselves and the bush.

We hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

The Pungwe Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews